We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Mary Basilica

St. Mary Basilica
Ranked #5 of 48 things to do in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Recognized as an architectural masterpiece among Catholic churches in the south, it is the spiritual home of a vibrant St. Mary Catholic community today. The construction of this place of worship was begun in 1842 as the Cathedral of the newly established Diocese of Natchez. The St. Mary congregation takes pride in the basilica's colorful and prayerful setting, and welcomes visitors from near and distant places. The city of Natchez, on the Mississippi River and the birthplace of Mississippi, is a tourist destination because of its historic ante-bellum homes. St. Mary Basilica, also ante-bellum, is the city's central landmark.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

I am not Catholic,but I had to go inside.It is beautiful and peaceful.A must see!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank francine32568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    43
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful no matter your religion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

My husband and I are Southern Baptist but enjoyed viewing the beautiful St. Mary Basilica. It's full of lots of pretty stained glass windows depicting various scenes from the bible and large beautiful statues. It is typically opened during the day and you can just walk in for a self tour. It's a nice place to visit in Natchez that only takes 5-10 minutes if you're pressed for time and want to get out and see as much as you can.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Magnolia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It was closed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We arrived before closing time reflected at the front and found it closed and the door locked. We enjoyed the Episcopal Church! Lovely windows.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the South”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We arrived in Natchez while traveling from Texas to Alabama. We arrived too early and almost nothing was open. I saw a large church steeple in the distance and drove towards it. I found this church with is a Catholic Basilica. It was built as a cathedral in 1843. This place has been well kept and is absolutely beautiful. I admit I am a cathedral type guy and i am in awe when I walk in but even my friend who doesn't normally show excitement was thrilled to have seen this place. I took many pictures. Check out their website to get a glimpse.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank dkccmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Mary Basilica also viewed

 

Been to St. Mary Basilica? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing