We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Noisy, Very Expensive”
Review of Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guest House
Ranked #13 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dirty, Noisy, Very Expensive”
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stayed for a weekend just to see Natchez. Perhaps we'd have been happier with the hotel if we had had a different room. The carpets were stained very noticeably, the drapes were stained and dusty, the heating register was rusty and moldy, and the bed's comforter was stained on the underside (yuck!).

Our biggest complaint, however, was that our room was directly next to the reception desk. We listened to the main desk phone ring all evening, guests talking to the clerk, and, late at night, people sitting on the couches having drinks (a bar is attached to the hotel, with the connection right next to our room's door). Our room also overlooked the courtyard of the same bar, which wasn't a problem in February, but would definitely be noisy in the warmer months. We felt lucky we visited in February.

For the kind of money we paid, we expected a clean room at least. Next time we'll just stay at the Hampton Inn; at least you expect stained carpets in the motel chains.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dragonfly1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    37
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
56
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We stayed at the Guest House for 4 nights for our vacation. They do not cook the breakfast on the property. They haul it down the street from their other property, which is a hotel. They warm it up in a microwave. There is a small bar onsite, but it was only open twice while we were there. If you want service, you have to call the hotel and they will send someone from down the street to help you. What a disappointment this was for our much needed vacation. The carpet was dirty, the plumbing fixtures were loose or tempermental, and no service whatsoever, except for the microwaved breakfast. For $165.00 a night, we were ripped off.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TNHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

When we got to town, we found our reservation at a smaller B&B was cancelled due to the owner having a medical emergency and we had nowhere to stay. My husband called around and finally found this Inn had a room available and the manager offered it to us at the same lower rate as the other B&B would have been. The room was great, right by the balcony. Breakfast was good and the kids loved the cake served in the afternoon. The porch, balcony, dining room and courtyard were all beautiful and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. The manager went out of her way to be friendly with my kids. We had a great stay and plan to return this summer.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OedipaMaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

This is a very pretty inn, and I think if our room had been in a different part of the building, it would've seemed quite nice. Unfortunately, our first-floor room (I think it was No. 157) had a single window that only looked out on a blank, two-story brick wall that was probably not more than 4 feet from the window. The result was a room that was so dark that it felt rather cave-like. Considering how expensive the accommodations are at this inn, the room was a disappointment.

If you're considering staying here, I'd probably suggest trying to get a 2nd-floor room and might also try asking in advance whether the room has any sort of a view.

On the upside, the breakfast was quite good, and the staff seemed nice enough.

  • Liked — The large, pretty verandas.
  • Disliked — Our room was like a dark cave.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2007

The Natchez Historic Inn is a lovely antebellum home in the historic section of Natchez just a few blocks off the river. The rooms were beautiful. The home is wonderfully decorated with antique furniture. It was nice just walking around the house and looking at the furniture pieces. The room includes a full breakfast in the morning and if you consider how much that would cost, this bed and breakfast really isn't much more than staying at a good motel. Be sure to bring some wine and have a drink on the veranda in the evening. That was the best part of our stay in Natchez. We are older so we don't go for the night life that is available in Natchez. But lounging on the veranda was a whole lot better than watching tv at a motel. We will stay at the historic Inn whenever we are in Natchez. I hope you do too.

  • Liked — the anique furniture
  • Disliked — They had extra thick pillow top mattresses but didn't use the extra deep fitted bottom sheets so they sometimes untucked.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tonka11_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.4 km away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
614 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 16 in Natchez
331 reviews
1.8 km away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
1.1 km away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
0.8 km away
Starling's
Starling's
#5 of 41 in Natchez
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House

Property: Guest House
Address: 201 N Pearl St, Natchez, MS 39120-3240 (Formerly Eola Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,136 - ₹ 8,978
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical boutique hotel with 16 unique rooms. Located in central downtown Natchez within walking distance of shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing