We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Clermont Bluffs Bed and Breakfast(Natchez)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 81
US$ 79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vue(Natchez)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 98
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$ 151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burn(Natchez)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$ 162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 159
US$ 149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Concord Quarters(Natchez)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 121
Booking.com
View Deal
Choctaw Hall(Natchez)
US$ 155
US$ 146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clifton House(Natchez)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
119
43
8
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
43
8
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastsouthern breakfastair conditioner unitbiscuitsthe formal dining roomold housefrieshistoric placemodern hotelfirst morninga hootstepping back in timesouthern bellespring pilgrimagehome tourantebellum mansionsouthern hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here, Miss Jeanette, the owner was witty, charming and full of life, after a delicious home cooked southern breakfast we were given a tour of the plantation house. The rooms were beautiful with period furnishings and a bathroom in our room. The grounds around the house are meticulously kept, highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy S, Guest Relations Manager at Linden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Jackie T,
Thank you for choosing Linden for your visit to Natchez. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, along with Jeanette's charm.
We hope you will visit us again soon.
Best Regards,
Dorothy Scobey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We stayed here on our way through Mississippi. The owner showed us our room but she is elderly and can't hear well. The lamps weren't working and I had to crawl under an end table to plug the cord in because she clearly couldn't. The home looks much better in the pictures on the website-it needs a lot of work. We were told breakfast is at 8:30. We arrived in the dining at 8:33 and the food was already on the plate- it was not hot and very disappointing. Lean portions and no choice. The "southern" breakfast was scrambled eggs, two thin slices of bacon, some grits and biscuits the size of golfballs (nothing special but the owner evidently thinks they are all the rage. My husband drinks decaf coffee- the choice was regular coffee or tea bags. Almost every B&B gives you a choice. We had to return in the afternoon to pick up a pair of running shoes we left behind. When we left, the owner quoted her saying several times "you come as guests but leave as family." When we returned after staying with only two other couples, she didn't remember us from a couple hours earlier. But the place did have a real plantation fell. When there were no guests there, she was yelling at three black guys doing yard work for her. It made me uncomfortable but at least they got a break while she retrieved our shoes.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clevelandreviewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorthory S, Guest Relations Manager at Linden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you so much for choosing Linden Bed and Breakfast. We are truly sorry that your stay wasn’t up to our standards, and appreciate your feedback to help us continually improve our guests’ experience. We always strive to make our guests stay at Linden exceptional, and we will continue with this effort.

Dorothy Scobey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Linden, located at 1 Connor Circle, off Melrose Avenue, near the Natchez Trace Parkway, is surrounded by some of the most celebrated antebellum mansions in Natchez, including Melrose, Monmouth and D'Everaux. Consequently, for unexplained reasons, it doesn't receive much notoriety. But it should. For one thing, it is one of the oldest houses in Natchez. For another, it is one of the leading bed-and-breakfast establishments in town. The Conner/Feltus family has owned Linden for six generations. The main house was built in 1785, then rebuilt in 1815, with the east wing added in 1818 and the west wing in 1849. The design of the front door is said to have been the inspiration for the front of Tara in Gone With The Wind. The mansion was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1978. It has two stories with an apartment on each wing. The front porch has a wide gallery with white columns, The interior, which features many period furnishings, also includes a painting by naturalist John James Audubon and a portrait of Swedish opera singer Jenny Lind. Situated off Melrose Avenue, the tranquility of the seven-acre park-like setting is captivating. In 1849, the Conner family planted seven Cedars of Lebanon in the front of Linden. The trees still stand today.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorthory S, Guest Relations Manager at Linden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Taylor B,
Thank you for your eloquent description of Linden, and for letting others know about our
jewel. We appreciate your detailed depiction of our rich history, and welcome you to return again soon.
Best Regards,
Dorothy Scobey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

We enjoyed our stay in Linden, it was interesting to not only visit an old antebellum home but also spend the night there.

We came from New Orleans and arrived on time for the check in on 1pm. As we didn't want to leave all our luggage in the car it was slightly disappointing to see that nobody was there for check in. We took a walk through the neighborhood and on our return we could check in.
Jeanette, the host, was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and also offered to make the reservations for us. Since the weather looked like rain she even asked us if she should buy us some umbrellas as she was going to the supermarket later.

We had Celice's room which was spacious and clean, apart of some stains on top of the four-poster bed where I have no idea how this could have happened. The decor and furnishing was what I expected, elegant and stylish. As soon as you enter the building, climbing the stairs to Celice room and passing the old grandfather clock you can feel the age and history of the place.

I was very very disappointed that I wasn't allowed to enjoy the beauty of the interior on my own but had to wait for the tour the next morning. I'd loved to watch the paintings and furniture on my own and in detail. Instead I had to take the tour and you can't enjoy the whole beauty when somebody (or a whole group) is waiting for you. I also can't understand why there are large cardboard cutouts all over the rooms as this destroys the elegant atmosphere of building. I think they are from Gone with the wind and should demonstrate how people dressed when the building was new, but as a enthusiast of historic places I think it's ruining a lot.

The patio and garden area is very nice and we enjoyed the atmosphere by sitting on the rocking chairs with a glass of wine. Unfortunately the garden lights where off and I didn't know where to switch them on and there was nobody around to ask.

The breakfast was good but not exceptional. Cheese grits, sausage, scrambled eggs and yogurt. The dining room, however, is exceptional and the staff was very friendly. The tour began right after the breakfast and was interesting and instructive, as mentioned earlier I wished I could have had more time on my own. Since English is not our mother tongue I also enjoyed the lovely and strong southern dialect of Jeanette, although my wife was kind of overwhelmed and I had to translate every now and then :)

I think this is a good place to stay in Natchez, as long as you don't expect the luxury this place seems to have on a first glance.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorthory S, Guest Relations Manager at Linden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Steven P,
Thank you so much for choosing Linden Bed and Breakfast, and for giving us your feedback to help us continually improve our guests' experience. We are delighted that
you enjoyed the decor, furnishings and staff.
The cardboard cutouts you mentioned, are in fact of Rhett Butler and Scarlett O'Hara from the movie "Gone With The Wind", as we pride ourselves in the fact that the front door of Linden was said to be replicated in the front door of Tara.
Best Regards,
Dorothy Scobey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

Janette is an absolute treasure , she's full of spirit and welcomes you to her home , it's worth staying there just to meet her .
Breakfast served by friendly staff in the impressive dinning room . Linden is a great place to stay to soak up the atmosphere of Mississippi as it would have been in times gone by you really feel like you are stepping back in time and are greeted with wonderful hospitality .

Room Tip: We had three rooms all very comfortable , the bathrooms are getting old but are clean and had good showers .
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sharronjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorthory S, Guest Relations Manager at Linden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Sharron,
Thank you for your lovely review!!! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and were
entertained by Jeanette and the staff. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Best Regards,
Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews