We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great masion with a great tour guide” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melrose

Melrose
Ranked #8 of 48 things to do in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of Natchez National Historical Park, Melrose is an antebellum plantation that features a slavery exhibit.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great masion with a great tour guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We loved our visit to Melrose. The tour is free, the furniture is very nice, and the tour great was really enthusiastic and fun. High marks for Barney the tour guide.!!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank northstar2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    81
    17
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, MS
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“VERY WELL DONE TOUR BY THE NTL PARK SVC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Title says it all. The guide had a LOT of back story info and made the tour enjoyable (even for us guys taking their wives to antebellum homes).

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jonnylbluejeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Most "in tact" mansion in Natchez”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Melrose is incredible. My favorite part is how original everything is, even down to the silk drapes still hanging from the windows. Melrose is owned by the US parks dept. and is great. I always try to take another tour of Melrose when I'm in Natchez. It's one of the best.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank TexasTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Melrose is a beautiful estate and an interesting tour, run by the U.S. Park Service. Be aware, though, that they are in the process of restoring the exterior of the home to its original appearance...so it had kind of an "unfinished" look at the time of our visit (Dec. 2011). I'm sure it will look fabulous when they're finished with it...and hope to go back one day to check it out! It's still a beautiful home, though, and definitely worth a visit when you're in Natchez.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank MimifromBama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOYNTON BEACH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Impressive overall setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Didn't have time for a tour, walked aroung the grounds...beautiful!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Coach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melrose also viewed

 

Been to Melrose? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing