We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (994)
Filter reviews
994 results
Traveller rating
511
297
114
40
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
297
114
40
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board melia sol excellent quality q lounge decent hotel hugs and kisses surpassed expectations see you soon tapas spa area perfect location nice bar area nice room expected more mountain view ski storage games room
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 994 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2015

A typical overarated hotel - expensive and not good. Rooms are OK after the renovation they had some years ago. Location is so so - it is one of the first hotels of Sierra Nevada and the city center moved a little bit away. Breakfast is terribe - lots of things but nothing is remotely good. Staff is always running and busy. Not a good experience for that kind of money.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank 524jorgep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen P, GEX Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2015

Dear Mr. Jorge P,

Thank you for share your comments with the rest of guests in TripAdvisor, and for choosing us to enjoy your last stay in Sierra Nevada.

We apologize if you did not find what you expected during your stay in Melia Sol y Nieve.
We work day by day to improve our services, and we believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our guests that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

We look forward to receive you again, to give you our best service and recover your trust in our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any kind of assistance you may need.

Sincerely,

Carmen Parra - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

Have to say im extremely disappointed with this hotel. You don't mind paying for quality but this was anything but.Some staff were helpful but others were terrible. The spa staff would prefer if nobody visited as it feels you are an inconvenience to them.
It was our 1st time in sierra nevada so asked hotel staff for info on the area and they hadn't got a clue.
Beds are awful,its a little better than a hostel bed.decor is so old and tatty.live within 2 hours drive from here but will defo be telling friends to avoid this place.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Fitz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen P, GEX Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Dear Mr. Fitz Z,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing us to spend your first stay in Sierra Nevada, and for taking some of your valuable time to send us your comments.

We apologize if the general experience with us did not met your expectations, and if the rooms and staff were not as you expected. Our hotel and our team work day by day to improve the service provide, and we belive it is only through listening carefully the guests' comments and suggestions that we will be able to achieve the quality service and guest satisfaction that we strive for.

We would be glad to have the opportunity to receive you once again in Meliá Sol y Nieve, and change your last impression.
In that case, please do not hesitate to contact us in advance.

Best regards,

Carmen Parra – Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Hotel rooms and facilities excellent. Was in a premium room which was nice and all very modern and clean. Pool area was nice but didn't open till pm.
We were half board. Food quality was excellent at buffet But it felt rather like a cattle stampede and you could not sit and enjoy the food. Just too busy. Only real let down and no a la carte option.
Right in the centre of village 5 mins walk from ski lift

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JohnLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen P, GEX Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Dear Mr. JohnLeeds,

Thank you for sharing your comments and opinion with the rest of the guests in this community.

We are glad to know that you enjoy your stay in general: the rooms, facilities, Yhi Spa and location. We work day by day to improve our service and is a pleasure could read this type of comments.
Sorry if you did not like the buffet restaurant. Maybe you found a lot of people due to the high occupancy that we had last weeks. We apologize for any inconvenience it could cause.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel and be able to guarantee your complete satisfaction.
Waiting for that moment, receive best regards,

Carmen Parra - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

From what promised to be a great 4 night break our expectations rapidly plunged to an all time low. There were 2 good points: the staff were very good and the food was good quality ......but buffet style for both breakfast and dinner - not what we expected. The hotel was extremely busy with many large family groups and I suspect many rooms were overcrowded beyond reasonable occupancy. As the hotel doesn't have much soft furnishing the noise level was unbelievable and despite moving rooms the whole situation became intolerable forcing us to check out after just 2 nights. I leave it to your imagination as to how the buffet worked with so many excited children helping themselves!!
The hotel says it is a Spa - however there was no swim pool only a water circuit (which they charge residents 25 Euros to use for an hour or two). There were treatment rooms for massage etc which were quite good. Car parking was also expensive at 24 Euros a day.
The ski facilities of Sierra Nevada were great and it was a bitter disappointment that the hotel experience completely ruined the whole trip for us which meant I only got to use the slopes for one out of the three days I had planned for.
Of course we had paid for our room and half board up front (641.60 Euros for 4 nights) on a non refundable basis so the hotel would not give any refund - all in all a very sad experience.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen P, GEX Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Paul C,

First of all, we would like to express our appreciation for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Meliá Sol y Nieve.

We apologize for the inconvenience that you refer regarding the general hotel experience. Please note that our establishment is a familiar hotel, and in high occupancy period people circulation increased. On the other hand I would like to inform you that this year we have opened an exclusive new Adults Only The Level Lounge where maybe you will be comfortable for the next visit.

Relating to the Parking is an external service of the hotel, but do not hesitate that we will transmit them your comments. And about the Yhi Spa, this implies an extra charge but we usually do not have limited hours for the water circuit.

We are happy to know that you could enjoy about our staff service and the quality food.
As I expressed you personally, we hope to have a second opportunity to welcome you in our hotel and be able to guarantee your complete satisfaction. In this case, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Carmen Parra – Guest Experience Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Had some days in Sierra Nevada.
I had previously experience of Melia in Italy, and was happy with them.
So was Melia Sol y Nieve.
I had a nice room, warm, silent.
Breakfast is between the best I ever had: everything was there and the staff was kind from early morning to late night.
Clean room, helpful reception, nice & glam bar, but also some quiet place where we enjoyed some cognac with our friends.
Ski room was so good... at the underground floor (level of the public place), warm, with lockers. And 5m away from the lift bringing to you room.
Lifts are 200m away from the ski room. Just perfect.

If you plan some ski in Sierra Nevada, give a chance to Sol y Nieve.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Francesco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen P, GEX Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2015

Dear Francesco D,

On behalf the entire team, we would like to thank you for reporting your impressions and feelings regarding your last stay at Meliá Sol y Nieve.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with our rooms, our breakfast and our staff.
We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated.

We hope to see you soon again in Sierra Nevada to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Carmen Parra – Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews