We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic find at the end of our road trip with excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mill Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Mill Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic find at the end of our road trip with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

At the end of a day trip through the beautiful Marin county and Oyster country, we walked in this Mill Valley B&B without any reservations and we were pleasantly surprised. The lady at the front desk (Yvonne) was very welcoming and helped us settle in and find some late night dinner options. We stayed at the far side of the creek house and really loved the private location and the views.

The buffet style breakfast was quite a treat in the morning with a nice selection of food and espresso drinks. Overall, an amazing stay and highly recommended for taking a break from the hotels and for a taste of hospitality from a mountain-side B&B.

Room Tip: Go with the Creekhouse! They are more private and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pouyan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    75
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
148
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Glad we found this place! We stayed in downtown San Francisco last time, but since we needed to attend an event in Marin County, we decided on the Mill Valley Inn for this trip. Every staff member we encountered was pleasant and genuine. We aren't big breakfast eaters, but the spread they put out each morning was impressive. The wine and cheese in the evenings was a nice touch, too. The location can't be beat, as we got into SF easily when we wanted and we were able to get around Marin and Sonoma counties in a flash. The parking was a great convenience, too. Mill Valley is a cool town and we walked to a bunch of nice restaurants, 142 Throckmorton Theatre (right across the street) and the new (and legendary) Sweetwater music venue.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Mill Valley Inn has a quaint boutique feeling that was a welcome surprise! Service was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed breakfast on the deck surrounded by redwoods and the hotel was within walking distance of a movie theater, excellent dining, and shopping. Parking was tight but convenient

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

For the fifth or sixth time my wife and I stayed at the Mill Valley Inn. We have had a hard time getting enough of the atmosphere there. The redwoods, the creek running through the property, the sounds and aromas are just perfect for making a relaxing getaway. In addition you can hike from the hotel to Muir Woods, Mount Tamilpias, or the Pacific Ocean. And the city is just across the bridge.
On this trip a couple that was to join us had a very unfortunate health issue that required them to cancel the night before arrival was planned. The hotel was full but the management refunded their deposit anyway and absorbed the loss of the room revenue for that night. To me this shows the exceptional care that is so lacking in most venues. Whenever we are found in the Bay Area we will be found at the Mill Valley Inn.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Redwoods and the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
133 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We just returned from spending two nights in Mill Valley Inn- what a nice escape! The hotel is located in the center of the village and was recommended by a friend, I guess otherwise we wouldn't even have discovered the area, which is absolutely lovely! The village in itself is a gem(restaurants, coffee shops, nice stores), close to everything of interest (Sausolito, Tiburon, Belvedere, 25 min drive to San Francisco, Muir Woods) and so quiet...miles away from the city bust. We had a large room with a fireplace (which worked!), simply decorated, a bit dated, but warm (for us the hotel was great for the location, but definitely not upscale). The breakfast was great, the staff friendly,we would definitely return, this is an excellent place for exploration!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloverPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
3.4 km away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
8.9 km away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
8.7 km away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
8.0 km away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
9.7 km away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Valley Inn

Property: Mill Valley Inn
Address: 165 Throckmorton Ave, Mill Valley, CA 94941-1909
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mill Valley
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,036 - ₹ 23,301
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill Valley Inn is the one and only hotel in downtown Mill Valley. This intimate property is tucked away in a redwood grove at the foot of majestic Mt. Tamalpais. Just steps away from the bustling town plaza, guests of Mill Valley Inn enjoy convenient access to galleries, fine restaurants, boutiques and theaters, as well as close proximity to the many hikes and scenic vistas that Mt. Tamalpias has to offer. Mill Valley Inn combines the sophistication of a small European hotel with the cozy charm of a historic California mill town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Mill Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Valley Hotel Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing