We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mill Valley Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 167
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamalpais Motel(Mill Valley)
US$ 133
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 198
US$ 186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marin Suites Hotel(Corte Madera)
US$ 175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 223
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panama Hotel(San Rafael)
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
234
88
17
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
88
17
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsredwood treeswine and cheeseloxsmoked salmonmuir woodsmain buildingmiddle of towncontinental breakfastquichemake your own wafflesbalcony overlookingmusic hallfrench doorsfacing the streetsmall creekwithin walking distancetop floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Glad we found this place! We stayed in downtown San Francisco last time, but since we needed to attend an event in Marin County, we decided on the Mill Valley Inn for this trip. Every staff member we encountered was pleasant and genuine. We aren't big breakfast eaters, but the spread they put out each morning was impressive. The wine and cheese in the evenings was a nice touch, too. The location can't be beat, as we got into SF easily when we wanted and we were able to get around Marin and Sonoma counties in a flash. The parking was a great convenience, too. Mill Valley is a cool town and we walked to a bunch of nice restaurants, 142 Throckmorton Theatre (right across the street) and the new (and legendary) Sweetwater music venue.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Mill Valley Inn has a quaint boutique feeling that was a welcome surprise! Service was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed breakfast on the deck surrounded by redwoods and the hotel was within walking distance of a movie theater, excellent dining, and shopping. Parking was tight but convenient

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

For the fifth or sixth time my wife and I stayed at the Mill Valley Inn. We have had a hard time getting enough of the atmosphere there. The redwoods, the creek running through the property, the sounds and aromas are just perfect for making a relaxing getaway. In addition you can hike from the hotel to Muir Woods, Mount Tamilpias, or the Pacific Ocean. And the city is just across the bridge.
On this trip a couple that was to join us had a very unfortunate health issue that required them to cancel the night before arrival was planned. The hotel was full but the management refunded their deposit anyway and absorbed the loss of the room revenue for that night. To me this shows the exceptional care that is so lacking in most venues. Whenever we are found in the Bay Area we will be found at the Mill Valley Inn.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Redwoods and the creek
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We just returned from spending two nights in Mill Valley Inn- what a nice escape! The hotel is located in the center of the village and was recommended by a friend, I guess otherwise we wouldn't even have discovered the area, which is absolutely lovely! The village in itself is a gem(restaurants, coffee shops, nice stores), close to everything of interest (Sausolito, Tiburon, Belvedere, 25 min drive to San Francisco, Muir Woods) and so quiet...miles away from the city bust. We had a large room with a fireplace (which worked!), simply decorated, a bit dated, but warm (for us the hotel was great for the location, but definitely not upscale). The breakfast was great, the staff friendly,we would definitely return, this is an excellent place for exploration!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachloverPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Someone who reviewed this hotel said it well: whether you like this hotel depends on what you expect. This is not a four star Bay Area B and B. My room, a queen with sofa, was dated, a bit beat up, with a dated bathroom, very small shower, all showing age. There may be better rooms in the separate buildings behind the main one but the standard rooms are nothing special. Odd heat and AC too, loud and less effective than ideal. As others note, rooms surround a parking area which takes way from ambiance considerably. It's not a motel feel, that's not a fair critique. But I paid $209 and that didn't seem like a good value.

Location in downtown Mill Valley was however great as was a superb breakfast included in the rom rate. One of the better Continental breakfasts I've had, including made to order cappuccino and lattes.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LikeNiceHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews