We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - newly opened and needs to work out some kinks”

Big Thunder Gold Mine Eatery
Ranked #22 of 62 Restaurants in Keystone
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 July 2018

The food was okay - my mashed potatoes were really cold in the middle and after taking a bite of cold mashed potatoes, I didn't really want them so I didn't even send them back. They were out of several dishes that we ordered, so we ended up not getting our first choices. Our waitress and the other servers were great - smiling, friendly, tried really hard to make sure everything was the way we wanted. It seemed a bit disorganized and the manager seemed to be not really engaged. Hopefully it was just an off night and things get worked out. The location is great, the patio is wonderful with plenty of shade (and umbrellas since we were there in a rain/hail storm), and has the potential to be really great. Parking was a bit confusing and we ended up parking back at the mine tour location and just walking to the restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank celestesauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on our way out of town. The visit start off well with quick seating and friendly service. However after we ordered it took almost an hour to get our food, and when it finally did come it was not all at once. We didn’t order anything complicated cheese fries and chicken fingers. The food was Ok but not great. After we got our food the service was no existent. We had to go over to the bar to get a bill and pay. It has potential but for now I would not rush back.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank lesley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

I’m giving one star for the shade, the weather and the surrounding views off the deck area. Deducting one for the barking dog next to the restaurant (yes, really), one for our food coming out slowly, one dish at a time over 5 minutes. One for the buffalo burger being burnt beyond recognition. And finally one star for not even having a bill total for us when we were asked for payment. I generally don’t take the time to leave negative reviews but this place is awful.

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

They opened recently. A cool looking restaurant. Get off the beaten path in Keystone and give them a try. Our food was good, server friendly, and service good.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Barb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Our food took 1hr 30min and then was brought out 30 min apart from each other. They were out of fries. The Indian taco was a large piece of fried bread with very little meat stacked on top. Would never come back or recommend this place to stop.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank jlreha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Thunder Gold Mine Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Big Thunder Gold Mine Eatery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing