We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Battle Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Battle Creek Lodge
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls,Sd
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“charming little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights last week (the middle of sept). While yes its obviously not the Ritz, its a cute and cozy place to stay. The owners are extremely friendly and gracious. They went out of their way to make us feel very welcome and make sure we were having a good time (not to mention they have a cute little yorkie). The walls are a little on the thin side, but not bad. The bed was very comrfortable (we had a king), and the surrounding area seems to be very quiet and relaxing. The fire pit is a great touch and great for conversing with other guests. If we go back to Keystone we would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    41
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
89
101
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

When we checked in, Tammy gave us excellent dinner recommendations and information about Mount Rushmore's evening lighting ceremony. When we mentioned we would probably need to depart before breakfast is available at 7:30am, we were graciously told to stop by earlier. Upon checking out at 6:30am, we were given PopTarts, granola bars, grapes, mini-muffins, etc. for the road! How nice is that?!?

The rooms were clean, quiet, and larger than expected.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExploringBuckeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
291 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 night in early Sept. We were going to stay in Rapid City but changed to Keystone because it was closer to the 3 main attractions we wanted to see and I liked the reviews I saw on trip advisor. I have no complaints. The beds were the closest in firmness to ours at home and with 4 pillows a bed, I slept the best I had my entire vacation. The breakfast saved us from going out each morning and they mixed it up every day. Biscuits and gravy, bacon, hb eggs, french toast, cereals, bagels. The bathrooms are large and the a/c worked fine. You can sit outside your room or out on their deck area by a gas firepit upstairs that was very relaxing. It's not that busy a street but there are a couple of restaurants nearby that provided good food/service and the "main street" is only a couple blocks away. I think Mt Rushmore was a few miles away. The people running the place were very personable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadtripperAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

My husband and I arrived at the holiday inn across the street around 2am. The room we already paid for was overbooked so they told us we had to stay at Battle Creek. We weren't excited about the sudden switch if plans after a long day of driving but we had no choice. The owners of Battle Creek left the key for our room with a nice note. The room was nice but was on the ground floor and we found a dozen spiders. I am not a fan of them so it kept me up thinking about them crawling on me. The shower had 3 long hairs in it before I got in. Overall, I'm thankful they took us in. I probably wouldn't stay there again though.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilk1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy G, Manager at Battle Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
We are sorry that your travel plans did not turn out the way you had expected. We understand how frustrating it can be when you expect one thing and get another. When the Holiday Inn originally discovered they were over-booked and contacted us to see if we had any rooms left, we were full. As luck would have it, we did have a cancellation later in the evening- so we held the room for you. We did not want you to arrive in Keystone in the middle of the night and not have ANY accomadations.

I also have a SERIOUS issue with spiders! (well, okay -- I hate almost ALL bugs.)We have been pretty lucky and not had any "bug" or "spider" problems. Living in the Black Hills, we certainly can't keep ALL of the spiders, but we give it our best try. We spray on a regular basis and have a professional that comes in several times each season. After seeing your post, we did go into ALL of our rooms and spray again -- better safe than sorry.

As far as the hair in the shower. What can I say to that? There is NO excuse. That is NOT acceptable by our standards. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with a CLEAN, friendly, affordable, lodge. We do EVERYTHING we can to make sure that our rooms not only meet - but exceed the standards that our guests have for us. I am VERY sorry that we did not meet those standards. Please know that we have taken your review and used the information in it as a re-training tool. Rest assured, had these things been brought to our attention while you were here, they would have been addressed right away.

Again, we are sorry we were not what you were expecting. We were sincere in trying to do what we thought we would want if we were in the same situation. We hope if you ever pass this way again you will give us a chance to make it right.

Safe Travels!
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We had a great stay at the Battle Creek Lodge. We arrived after their office closed, so they left a key with a nice note for us. The daily breakfasts were an excellent way to start the day. Not only did we get a variety of foods, we also were able to get some travel/attraction advice from the hotel owners. We enjoyed the seating areas and the 'fire.' Overall, tt was a very affordable way to see a beautiful part of the country! We hope to return!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
0.8 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.8 km away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
0.3 km away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
12.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battle Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battle Creek Lodge

Property: Battle Creek Lodge
Address: 404 Reed Street, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,769 - ₹ 8,363
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battle Creek Lodge is a quaint Lodge located just minutes away from Mt Rushmore, in the beautiful and Historic Keystone South Dakota. Just blocks away from the Keystone "strip"' Battle Creek provides you the benefit of being within walking distance to all of the local attractions, restaurants, and bars- without the noise and chaos to keep you awake at night. A gas fire pit to enjoy on the cool evenings and a Breakfast that will jump start your vacation though the hills are just a few of the things Battle Creek has to offer. Owned and operated by locals, you are sure to get an insiders guide on what to see and do during your stay, by people who REALLY care about your vacation and are committed to making your time in the Black Hills enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Battle Creek Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing