We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
185
108
28
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
108
28
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porch swing prime rib deluxe family honeymoon cabin nice cabin black hills front porch restaurant attached heated pool off the highway mt rushmore coffee maker downtown keystone bed was very comfortable crazy horse sit outside stayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018

We got in late and the night shift young lady wasn't every friendly. Seem preoccupied and not very welcoming. Other than that our stay was nice. we slept well and the room was nice and clean. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank meg1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

One night stay to see Mt Rushmore and Custer State Park. Room was clean and somewhat dated. Nevertheless a perfect location for visiting Rushmore and Custer State Park. Check in was slow as we had to go to restaurant to get someone to help. Did not stay in cabin but room up the hill.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

There are a lot of sights in the Rapid City area; Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, caverns, Sturgis, etc. I highly recommend staying at the Powder House Lodge when you go. It's close to all of these sights and has a great restaurant, a friendly staff, and reasonably priced rooms. The Lodge is quite old but has been kept in immaculate shape. It's nestled into the mountains with beautiful surroundings. Deer graze around the property. I had the best fish dinner of my life: rainbow trout wrapped in bacon. I'd go again in a heartbeat. It's quite popular, so book as soon as you know you're going.

Room Tip: They have motel style rooms and cabins.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

My husband and I traveled to the Black Hills area for our wedding anniversary. We have stayed at the Powder house in the past and wanted to return for a night. We stayed a night and moved on the next day, but found that we wanted to return for another night before heading home. So...we stayed 2 nights. We had a place in a 6 plex the first night with 2 queen beds and a sofa sleeper and the next stay we were in a stand alone cabin up the hill. I think it was #53. It had a queen bed in the bedroom and 2 twins in the loft. Both units had a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Rooms are very clean and well supplied. The units all have chairs and tables outside. Grills are available if requested. Staff is very welcoming! They have had very dry weather for a few years, so no open fires are allowed (no charcoal grills or campfires). They are making improvements to the property. I would recommend them to anyone that is going that way. Their location is great to take day trips and return back to each evening. They have a restaurant on site.

Room Tip: Love the stand alone cabins up the hill
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TamaraJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at Powder House in a Family Getaway Cabin. Had 4 adults and it was perfect. Lots of room. Two separate bedrooms with separate bathrooms. Large kitchen and eating area with mutiple couches that open up into beds. Tecnically sleeps 10 but for us it was ideal. What one would spend a night right next to Mt. Rushmore this was very cost effective, even for only 2 couples. Very clean. Right across street from restaurant in a lovely wooded setting.
Highly recommed instead of a hotel room in Keystone area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank bmusial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews