We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
185
108
28
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
108
28
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porch swing prime rib deluxe family honeymoon cabin nice cabin black hills front porch stuffed quail walleye restaurant attached heated pool small playground wooded setting off the highway mt rushmore downtown keystone bed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

My husband and I traveled to the Black Hills area for our wedding anniversary. We have stayed at the Powder house in the past and wanted to return for a night. We stayed a night and moved on the next day, but found that we wanted to return for another night before heading home. So...we stayed 2 nights. We had a place in a 6 plex the first night with 2 queen beds and a sofa sleeper and the next stay we were in a stand alone cabin up the hill. I think it was #53. It had a queen bed in the bedroom and 2 twins in the loft. Both units had a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Rooms are very clean and well supplied. The units all have chairs and tables outside. Grills are available if requested. Staff is very welcoming! They have had very dry weather for a few years, so no open fires are allowed (no charcoal grills or campfires). They are making improvements to the property. I would recommend them to anyone that is going that way. Their location is great to take day trips and return back to each evening. They have a restaurant on site.

Room Tip: Love the stand alone cabins up the hill
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TamaraJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at Powder House in a Family Getaway Cabin. Had 4 adults and it was perfect. Lots of room. Two separate bedrooms with separate bathrooms. Large kitchen and eating area with mutiple couches that open up into beds. Tecnically sleeps 10 but for us it was ideal. What one would spend a night right next to Mt. Rushmore this was very cost effective, even for only 2 couples. Very clean. Right across street from restaurant in a lovely wooded setting.
Highly recommed instead of a hotel room in Keystone area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank bmusial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

the cabins are great and the beds are very comfy, I slept better in them than my own bed Dorla was always so pleasant and helpful, she went out of her way to make sure we had a great stay. We ate at the restaurant several times for breakfast and dinner and every time the food was delicious. They are in a great location close to many attractions in the area. Best place ever. We will definitely be back Thanks so much

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoleHurtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Great food, good choices of fresh ingredients. Try the Brussel sprouts-Yum! Has a covered outdoor patio w/fire pit. Nice. Liked it so much we had dinner there 2 nights. Filet was perfectly cooked as requested-med/rare.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank JMBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We rented a king bedroom in a duplex cabin. I've seen people complain of highway noise, but honestly if you run the air or heat, you can't hear a thing outside. The room is clean and cute. There is fridge and microwave, but no table and chairs (except outside on the balcony). The wifi is weak, but I appreciate them providing it free. The TV reception is not very good, but we are out in the wilderness here. The staff is amazingly friendly. The restaurant is wonderful, but always very busy, so I recommend you make reservations. All in all, it's a great place to stay! We're on our second night if a three night stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews