We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to stay at the Powder House Lodge if you're going to see Mt Rushmore”
Review of Powder House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Powder House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2017

There are a lot of sights in the Rapid City area; Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, caverns, Sturgis, etc. I highly recommend staying at the Powder House Lodge when you go. It's close to all of these sights and has a great restaurant, a friendly staff, and reasonably priced rooms. The Lodge is quite old but has been kept in immaculate shape. It's nestled into the mountains with beautiful surroundings. Deer graze around the property. I had the best fish dinner of my life: rainbow trout wrapped in bacon. I'd go again in a heartbeat. It's quite popular, so book as soon as you know you're going.

Room Tip: They have motel style rooms and cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

My husband and I traveled to the Black Hills area for our wedding anniversary. We have stayed at the Powder house in the past and wanted to return for a night. We stayed a night and moved on the next day, but found that we wanted to return for another night before heading home. So...we stayed 2 nights. We had a place in a 6 plex the first night with 2 queen beds and a sofa sleeper and the next stay we were in a stand alone cabin up the hill. I think it was #53. It had a queen bed in the bedroom and 2 twins in the loft. Both units had a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Rooms are very clean and well supplied. The units all have chairs and tables outside. Grills are available if requested. Staff is very welcoming! They have had very dry weather for a few years, so no open fires are allowed (no charcoal grills or campfires). They are making improvements to the property. I would recommend them to anyone that is going that way. Their location is great to take day trips and return back to each evening. They have a restaurant on site.

Room Tip: Love the stand alone cabins up the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TamaraJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at Powder House in a Family Getaway Cabin. Had 4 adults and it was perfect. Lots of room. Two separate bedrooms with separate bathrooms. Large kitchen and eating area with mutiple couches that open up into beds. Tecnically sleeps 10 but for us it was ideal. What one would spend a night right next to Mt. Rushmore this was very cost effective, even for only 2 couples. Very clean. Right across street from restaurant in a lovely wooded setting.
Highly recommed instead of a hotel room in Keystone area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank bmusial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

the cabins are great and the beds are very comfy, I slept better in them than my own bed Dorla was always so pleasant and helpful, she went out of her way to make sure we had a great stay. We ate at the restaurant several times for breakfast and dinner and every time the food was delicious. They are in a great location close to many attractions in the area. Best place ever. We will definitely be back Thanks so much

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleHurtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Great food, good choices of fresh ingredients. Try the Brussel sprouts-Yum! Has a covered outdoor patio w/fire pit. Nice. Liked it so much we had dinner there 2 nights. Filet was perfectly cooked as requested-med/rare.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank JMBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
2.5 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
2.6 km away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
10.7 km away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
2 km away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powder House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder House Lodge

Address: 24125 Highway 16a, PO Box 714, Keystone, SD 57751-6641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Keystone
Price Range: ₹ 6,921 - ₹ 10,382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Powder House Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Powder House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powder House Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing