We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ice cream”
Review of The Bluebird Cafe

The Bluebird Cafe
Ranked #12 of 20 Restaurants in Gourock
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

the best ice cream in town is here. if you are going to gourock this is a must see/do. the ice cream is delicious

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank reviewgirl439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

This is a well established ice cream parlour -their ice cream is delicious . In recent years the cafe has been refurbished under the new ownership and has a small sit in area serving breakfast /lunch and snacks as well as well as take away food and their wonderful ice cream .When weather permits there is an outdoor seating area . Always a couple of home made soups on offer as well as baked potatoes ,sandwiches .pasta dishes etc freshly made to order . They also have a nice selection of sweets from the old fashioned sweetie jars -takes me back to my childhood ! A wee gem of a place with lovely friendly staff .

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Sitting outdoors at the Bluebird Café eating nice ice cream, in the sun, in September, in Gourock - a rare treat indeed!!!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnnymac2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

My family and I had breakfast here and we all thoroughly enjoyed it! Great food happy service and cute spot!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank mandeekiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

I decided I wanted ice-cream late on a Saturday afternoon so gave them a quick phone call to see if they were still open. They were. We had 15 minutes to get there!

Luckily it was only an 8 minute drive from where we were staying so we had plenty of time!

As you'd expect the chairs were stacked and they were closing. But the nice couple here were definitely still serving! Phew.

Ice cream is pretty decent - but when you've had ice-cream in Rome and Gelato in Milan it's never gonna quite stack up.

I asked for some sweets from behind the counter but was told that they're not very nice and were not for sale. Bit weird.

I have to be honest but I do think there's better ice cream to be had locally but the Bluebird was nearby, they were friendly and it was open. Left happy!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ParadiseRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bluebird Cafe also viewed

Gourock, Inverclyde
Gourock, Inverclyde
 
Gourock, Inverclyde
Gourock, Inverclyde
 
Gourock, Inverclyde
Gourock, Inverclyde
 

Been to The Bluebird Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing