We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location close to Mount Rainier, cosy and...”
other travellers have booked this property
cabin interior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
cabin interior
queen bed cabin from forest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
cabin interior
queen bed
cabin from forest
Hershey Creek
cozy cast iron propane fireplace
front porch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ashford, Washington

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Irene D
Beemster
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect location close to Mount Rainier, cosy and quiet cabin”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very clean. Perfect for travelers who like a quiet stay. Friendly host. Just a few miles from the entrance of Mount Rainier National Park, so a perfect location. Enough restaurants in the surroundings. The cabin is so cute and cosy, we loved it!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Thank-you Irene! We enjoyed having you as guests, and appreciate how nice you left the cabin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickandLi...
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay...Cozy Cabin...”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

As a couple---we found this to be a cozy cabin--near the entrance of Mt. Rainer. Our host Beth was accomodating and helpful...

If you are going to Mt. Rainer and you want the perfect getaway----this is the place for you!

We recoomend the cabin highly!

Rick & Lisa

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
Rick and Lisa were a pleasure to have as guests! We would invite them back anytime the cabin is available, and wish them well on their vacation adventures!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan F
1 review
“Really enjoyed our visit. Thanks Beth.”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cabin was exactly as described. Very nice and relaxing. Worked great for us. We would visit again next time we are in the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iglooeyes
whidbey island
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is the most awesome little cabin near Mt. Rainier National Park”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a sweet little cabin just outside the park (about 4 miles),so it takes just minutes to get in the park. It has a well supplied kitchen, a nice bed and a futon. A cozy propane stove takes any chill out of the room. It is on the same property as the owners house, but the family was very quiet.

It is just off the highway, but we could not hear any road noise. There is a little creek running out back (well it would have been running if it weren't summer) My daughter and I explored the creek for a bit and declared it -fun, fun-

Pros- no cell/internet access so you can BE with your family. (If you really need o be 'plugged-In - there are restaurants in Ashford just down the road.

Cons ........... can't think of any!

We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, cozy
Liked least: The showers was a touch cooler than I am used to, but certainly NOT cold
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kate t
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what we expected.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

When I was booking a cabin for our first "wilderness" vacation with young children, I was looking for comfort, safety, and ways to entertain our kids.

I asked the owner very specific questions about the layout of the cabin and the grounds, and what she told me was not what we got. She said that the grounds were safe for small children to run around, that the cabin was remote and quiet, and that there was a stream in the back yard that the kids could wade in (though we knew it would be glacial water, we were looking forward to letting the kids frolic).

What we found, was a tiny cabin that was-- literally-- in the backyard of the owner's house. I would estimate that there is about 8 feet separating the two dwellings. The owners' cars were parked so close to the cabin that we could easily track their comings and goings. The surrounding area was safe enough, though there was a giant fire pit. To avoid the fire pit, we'd planned on using the bbq that was advertised (with briquettes provided) in the listing, but when we got there, the owner said that she'd forgotten to get us briquettes, and we'd have to go get them ourselves. No big deal, but again, we have small kids, we arrived close to dinner time, and the closest town is a 20 minute round trip. Finally, the stream that was promised to excite and entertain our kids in the "wilderness" was actually a steep, steep creek that offered not one spot for wading. The owner knew very well that we had an early walker and told me over and over again how much both kids would enjoy the stream, but ultimately, the older kid spent about five minutes there, realized how slick and steep it was, and never went back.

Finally, the beds. The futon was comfy enough for one child to sleep on, though when it is folded out, there is no space to walk around the cabin. The double bed, however, is one of the worst beds I've ever slept on. Once we were in bed, laying down, we couldn't move for two reasons: one, the mattress sunk so deep it took an almost herculean effort to get ourselves out of the giant hole we'd created in the middle, and two, ever little twitch made so much noise! It is a miraculous combination of discomfort and noise I've ever experienced.

Finally, the owner guaranteed wi-fi (I know, I know, we are in the mountains)-- GUARANTEED. It was a spotty connection at best, not at all reliable. Again, not a big deal, but she did guarantee it.

Also, bring every single thing you need to cook as the kitchen is not well-appointed.

Here's the thing. If you're going to hike the mountain and all you need is a place to sleep, cook, and read a book, it's fine. If you love camping in a stranger's back yard, it's fine. If you don't like to sleep, it's fine. Otherwise, I'd stay away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
At Wilderness Edge Cabin we strive to provide an atmosphere of peace and respite for our guests. It is unfortunate that these guests did not have the experience they were looking for. I believe there was some miscommunication that led to dissatisfaction with their stay.

One of the miscommunications was about the WIFI. I tell our guests that the WIFI usually works, but that it is a poor signal, and not guaranteed. As for the bed, I personally think the queen bed in the cabin is very comfortable. Also, I mentioned to the parents about the stream for the kids to wade in, and that they should accompany them always to keep them safe.

This is wild country and Wilderness Edge lives up to its name. Deer, elk, bobcat, bear, and cougar live among us. Although our home is on the same land as the cabin, ours is one of the most private of lodging options available at Mount Rainier.

We gladly welcome constructive criticism to help improve the business!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing