We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
188
84
30
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
188
84
30
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdry ski slopefull englishlovely locationtucked awayoff the beaten trackevening mealcheddar gorgeshort breakmain buildinggood sizeweston super maremendip hillsfood was lovelybeansspent two nightssmoked haddock and poached eggwedding party
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

It's a very direct route to the airport ; appears around 7 miles to me. Petrol station nearby to fill up.
The staff are absolutely lovely ..mature lady on reception and blonde breakfast waitress could teach many how it should be done in top notch hotels charging four times what they do. ( We paid 58 for twin with breakfast)
Breakfast was lovely ; full English
Room very clean and comfortable bed.
Decore appears 80's to me ; if that bothers you then I'd suggest it's not the place for you .
We will definitely use again .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Blomk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped on the way to Cornwall with our dog We were put in one of the outside lodges these were very tired looking and the shower room was in a very poor state
Not sure that because you have a dog you are treated with the same attention as a guest without
On the positive side there are some lovely walks in the wood for the dog

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Merfyboy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Have been a visitor to the Lodge for several months. The service remains outstanding, with close proximity to Bristol Airport, rooms are considerably less than the airport plus great food. For the more energetic you can have a blast on the ski slope for as little as £10 all in on a Monday. Nick, Damian and Martin excell in customer service and nothing is too much trouble. Yes there are a few very minor things that need attention but nothing that outweighs the positives.
Pet friendly for your VIP's and best friend, oh and family friendly too. Good Menu good wine list outstanding fish and chips and Rum is an option. For the price a quality venue!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank phillradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We were given room 15 which is one of the outside lodges. It was small but had everything we needed including tea, coffee and a bottle of water. I had to ask reception for a hairdryer as there is sign on the wall asking you not to use the one attached (not sure why and why they don't just remove it).
We stayed 3 nights and during the course of our stay we noticed that the room felt very damp and smelt musty. Our clothes and the bedding felt damp and considering the weather was a sunny 20° during our stay, this wasn't good.
Also my partner wasn't happy that he had to hold the toilet seat up while peeing. Shower was warm and strong enough.
The walls are thin and you could hear your neighbours, especially when they showered.
Also it was advertised that there was internet throughout the hotel but this didn't stretch to the lodges which resulted in us both having to top up on our usual data allowance.
Breakfast was cooked to order and very nice, there was also a continental selection.
The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. Bar prices were reasonable and the food looked delicious but we didn't eat there.
The place just needs modernising and it would be a little gem in a lovely location.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights while attending old friends' 50th wedding anniversary celebrations nearby. Our room was quite small with an unexciting view over the access road and car park (on the same level which made leaving the curtains open difficult at times). But it was clean with tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits. We ate dinner one night. The menu was very limited for vegetarians and fish lovers but the quality was satisfactory. Breakfasts were cooked to order (really nice) although I was disappointed that the chef had removed the smoked haddock and poached egg from the menu.
The hotel itself is quite unusual, rather like a ski lodge (indeed there is a ski slope next door) and has its own charm. It is rather in need of some renovation. The staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful - what a difference that makes!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank figofigo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews