We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Percy's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Percy's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginstow
Certificate of Excellence
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Spent 1 night here to celebrate my husband's birthday.

Perfect from start to finish. We were warmly welcomed by Tony to our spacious room in a converted barn. Lovely to have a proper coffee maker and fresh milk in the fridge and the cake was yummy! The accommodation is not country house style, but extremely comfortable with good attention to detail (fluffy towels and bathrobes, etc and scrupulously clean)

Dinner was just fantastic. Tina's food is truly delicious from the warming spicy lentil soup amuse bouche, perfectly cooked scallops, wonderfully juicy pheasant and truly delicious chocolate truffle sponge! (I never eat puddings, but managed most of this one!).

The food & hospitality ethos of Tony and Tina may not be to everyone's taste (after looking at some of the previous comments) but I would highly recommend it! How wonderful to be served food that has been produced with love and care!

I hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Lavender was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruwysing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    9
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
17
110
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Centralia, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My husband and I spent the most wonderful three days at Percy's. The food was fabulous, very carefully prepared. We joined another couple for dinner at the suggestion of the host, and we had a great time. In the morning, we visited the hen house to choose our eggs; that was an experience! During the day, we took long walks and also toured the area. We loved our trip and look forward to returning before long.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXStellaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We liked the idea very much of a comfortable country hotel growing and preparing its own food, and indeed this is what they did. However, we never felt a particularly warm welcome, and teh rooms while perfectly functional did not feel particularly special. In addition the food while using excellent ingredients was in some cases bland and in others excessively flavoured with the herbs which happened to be in season. Nothing was seriously wrong but it didn't make us want to come again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrw2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Arrived at the hotel for a two night stay to find we were not expected, although we had pre booked.
We found we were the only guests staying at the hotel and were upgraded to a suite, which was nice. However the room was full of huge flies, some dead, lots still alive.
The complementary cake on arrival was non existant, and we were advised that dinner options would be limited!
Went to dinner and were informed of what we would eat, no choice at all. Long wait for food as the chef had gone to the vet. Food poorly presented, badly cooked and very dissapointing considering her reputation.
Breakfast was worse, little choice, cheap cereals, and the worst bacon ever received, mostly fat.
So poor decided to check out early. Shocking hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony_cook54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

My Husband and I booked this night away at last minute. Just an hours drive from us it was the perfect Country retreat. When we arrived, we dropped bags and straight away went off to explore the 130 acre estate, guided by Percy's very own sheepdog and tourguide 'Sophie' ! Being foodies and 25 years experience ourselves in the hospitality trade in Cornwall, we immediately recognised that Percy's is very special. We are used to dining at Rick Steins and Fifteen, but Percy's offer so much more. Attention to detail starts with producing its own produce onsite, most things being harvested only a couple hours before service, and Chef/Owner Tina cooks everything to order using her fantastic Swiss induction cooker. You don't get rushed to finish before a next sitting, the dining experience lasts all evening, and the food - we have have never tasted so much flavour. Percy's raises the bar for all other Restaurants ! It was really refreshing to meet two people (Tony and Tina) so passionate about their product, and they were the perfect hosts. We can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyCW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginstow
9.6 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
386 reviews
6.9 km away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
339 reviews
33.0 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
510 reviews
29.6 km away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,068 reviews
35.7 km away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Percy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Percy's Hotel

Property: Percy's Hotel
Address: Coombeshead Estate, Virginstow EX21 5EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Virginstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginstow
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,243 - ₹ 17,645
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 50-acres of stunning countryside, streams and woodland, the panoramic views extend over both Bodmin moor and Dartmoor. This luxury privately owned country hotel offers peace and tranquility in a relaxed and informal environment with extensive organic kitchen gardens and 50 acres of pasture & woodland. Unpretentious dining, free Wi-Fi and parking. Dogs welcome in some of the rooms.Hotel awards include South West Small Hotel of the Year for two years running and runner up for Small Hotel of the Year for Great Britain. Each of the 7 en-suite bedrooms has its own unique character. All of the rooms are spacious and are equipped with king size beds, Egyptian cotton linen and fluffy towels and robes as standard. What they do share however is a homely ambiance infused with luxurious touches and comforts. Every room includes complimentary Wi-Fi access, flat screen TV, DVD player, designer toiletries and much more besides. There is a range of room types available, from Standard, Superior and Deluxe options as well as one suite.Among the many restaurant awards, an article written by by Giles Coren gave Percy's 9/10. Diners are well looked after and are treated to a culinary experience to remember. Specializing in modern British cuisine, everything is cooked to order beautifully presented. Flavoursome rather than fussy, all dishes are made from the very finest locally sourced or homegrown organic ingredients. Lamb & pork are reared on the Estate and the kitchen garden provides vegetables, herbs, salad leaves. The two orchards provide apples which are juiced and offered to guests for breakfast.The peaceful surroundings and excellent grounds make Percy's an ideal venue for special celebrations and private hire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Percys Hotel Virginstow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing