We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cromer Parish Church (St Peter and St Paul)
Save
Review Highlights
Impressively in beauty and stature

Gorgeous large church at the seaside in a delightful garden setting. Massive tower open to climb up... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
C783356
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
Large and interesting church

The church dominates the townscape and is much larger than expected for a town this size. There... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
LesleyandClive
,
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Read all 172 reviews
  
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
110
51
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
51
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stained glass windows great views from the tower worth the climb organ recital west window small fee sunday service small community interesting architecture highest tower second world war steep steps bell tower well worth a visit on hand to answer any questions helpful volunteers for sale
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Gorgeous large church at the seaside in a delightful garden setting. Massive tower open to climb up during the summer season from May.

Thank C783356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The church dominates the townscape and is much larger than expected for a town this size. There are large windows down both sides, although not all contain stained glass those that do are really impressive, including a newly installed one.

Thank LesleyandClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

North Norfolk is full of fascinating little churches, dotted around. We wandered into this one to have a look around and see what history the church has. An imposing exterior for what was a building constructed in what was one quite a small community. The interior is well worth a look around, for all the usual reasons, but was enhanced by the warm welcome we received from one of the guides who was there and spoke with us. The building has quite a few interesting historical connections and the stained glass windows were as interesting as expected. The most recent is the West Window, which is a marvelous depiction (not saying what of, you need to visit!) combining traditional depiction with more modern techniques. Our infirmities precluded the staircase to the top of the tower, but other postings and comments from people we met assure us it is an effort worth the making. From posters around the church and discussion with the guide, this is clearly an inviting and engaged congregation strongly involved in the community. We intend to go to one of the services the next time we visit Cromer and discover for ourselves.

Thank OldDeuteronomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Paid a small fee to walk up the tower (88 stone steps) using the spiral stair case. It was very windy but managed to get great views across Cromer and beyond on a clear day. The guides were very helpful and friendly pointing out interesting facts and handing us a booklet so we could walk around at leisure.

Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We wandered into the church for a look around and were great by a lovely lady who told us more about the church, the local area and the tower. We paid £2 each to walk up the tower (lots of steep steps!) but it was well worth it! The view was incredible

Thank N3732HQvictoriac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

We always look for a local church when away on holiday...historical rather than religious.
This church is both inviting for all visitors.. We were made to feel most welcome as visitors as well as welcoming the local community on a daily basis.. Well worth a visit and also boasts the highest tower of all churches in Norfolk.

Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

A short stop in Cromer on a day out, and not a lot of time to spare, we called into the Church.
I've been to Cromer many times, and never before have I visited the church. I really should have. I've always known that from the outside it's quite a magnificent and statuesque building, and the old windows are wonderful, but having now been inside I can recommend it as a worthwhile visit.
Interesting stained glass windows, some by Beurne Jones, and an inspiring space.
Some folks may baulk at the inclusion of a coffee house within the main body of the church, but if it takes that to help maintain the building, so be it, and anyway, if it brings people into the church, then that's got to be a worthy thing to do.
I really enjoyed looking around, and despite the activity, it was still easy to sit and find a quiet moment within the main body of the church
A delightful and inspiring building.

Thank frankart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

You can climb up to the tower roof and get the best view in Norfolk. Happened to b ethereal for the organ recital rehearsal and enjoyed the experience. Other churches could learn for this, with cafe and gift shop.

Thank Mrfooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Greeted by volunteers with leaflets to guide you around. Lovely stain glass windows and for a cost of £2 you can climb the tower. Also has a cafe with homemade cakes and scones.

Thank wrightclan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We visited this church with my daughter and son-in-law recently and decided to climb the tower (the tallest in Norfolk). The fact in brackets should have alerted us to the fact that there are a lot of steps and it's quite a cardio workout but it's worth it when you get to the top for the views over the town and surrounding countryside. It was a lovely clear day, not too hot, and we could see for a long way in all directions. It's quite safe as there is a high parapet all round with a walkway over the middle so that those of limited stature can also see well. There is a charge for the tower visit but it's worth paying a little extra for the experience.

We were also welcomed very warmly by the people in the church and given information leaflets. There are toilets if you need them and a small souvenir shop.

All in all, a very interesting visit. I would like to go back to spend longer looking around the body of the church as we didn't have much time. Recommended.

Thank thomapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews