We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
51
37
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
37
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terraceno bookingroom was largestreet parkingexcellent locationyogurtold townpablofestivaltaxieurosseacastle
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Mare Nostrum. This hotel was lovely we had a room with a spacious balcony with a view of the sea and the castle. Our room was large and spotlessly clean. It was in a great location adjacent to the old town. The staff at the hotel were really nice and so helpful. We had a problem getting a taxi from Peniscola to Benicarlo to catch a train. Pablo the Manager drove us to the station so we wouldn't miss it. We were really impressed with this personal touch and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DublinCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel has a superb location and we enjoyed our stay here in a very nice room with great views overlooking the old town and bay. The rooftop terrace/breakfast café here closed at end of September which was disappointing but there are various cafés nearby. This made it more of a 'serviced rooms' hotel although the young couple running it are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean, but fluffy, soft towels would've been nice as they were rather hard and rough. We did feel a week was a bit too long in Peñiscola as the parking situation is horrendous and rather annoying. It's quite pricey and it's complicated working out the hours that apply. The road parking is slightly cheaper if you can find a space. Bear in mind Monday is a 'no no' day in the main carpark as there's a market and you could be towed away! We did actually get a fine as one ticket time had elapsed which made us cross as we'd not understood their complicated system and had already spent quite alot on parking during the previous days. Unfortunately this would definitely put us off visiting again. Many resorts along the coast have free parking especially in October. We think if you're staying in hotels here without private parking and bringing revenue into the town, then the hoteliers should at least get some concession for their guests or do a weekly charge, rather than visitors continuously clock-watching and feeding meters - which was another problem - making sure we had enough euros in change.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CeebeeNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We've just come back from a great holiday in this hotel - it more than exceeded our expectations and we would definitely recommend it.
We picked up our hire car from Castellon airport and drove the hour to Peniscola. There is a big car park behind the hotel which was €9.75 all day, or on street parking which was slightly cheaper at €8.20. The lady at reception changed our €10 note and we were set for 24hrs. On check in i was offered a hair dryer and she went through our map telling us what was on that night, where the nice views were and where good restaurants were. Our room was ready (304) and even though it wasn't a 'sea view' it still had one as the hotel sits in the middle of a peninsula. Granted our view of the sea also included a car park but it also included the mountains - I thought it was lovely and was happy to sit out there in the evenings.
The room itself was big and clean, towels soft and in a good condition and the shower powerful with no shortage of hot water. The beds were firm - just how I like them. No duvets but I didn't expect them, there were extra blankets and pillows which was perfect. No complaints with the air con either. All in all, great room.
Breakfast was various bread that they toast for you, muffins, some fruit, cereal and yoghurt - nothing fancy but you really didn't need it with the view! This is the view you get with the 'sea view' rooms which is amazing and even though I enjoyed our view, this was better!! it's a shame they do not do more with the space (ie café/bar).
Location is just perfect - equidistant to both beaches - North beach is the blue flag one and is more popular (we tried both, sand, sea and sun were the same). The castle 5 minutes away, you can around the whole thing in about 20. The 'town' is about 2 streets away, full of restaurants and bars.
The castle is beautiful, from the outside and inside, restaurants there were more expensive but there are some on the edges that have the most amazing views.
We went for a drive to the national park - definitely recommend it, a bit of a bumpy road but beautiful views and secluded beaches.
This is a Spanish tourist destination and we only heard a handful of other English people - it was lovely and refreshing and the Spanish were very accommodating to our lack of language skills.
The ONLY complaint we have of this hotel was that we didn't get the best sleep due to a nightclub on the beach which played loud (and I mean loud) music between 11pm and about 6am. Even with the door closed and the aircon on it still kept us awake. It looked temporary so I hope was only there due a festival that was on at the time.
Would definitely stay at this resort again and would stay in this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: 'Sea View' rooms have a magnificent view, but the rooms at the back still have a pretty good view of the sea and mountains
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a very peaceful oasis in the very busy resort of Peniscola. as other reviewers have mentioned, don't be deterred by the one star rating: if you are looking for clean, simple and comfortable accommodation in a beautiful beach resort, you will be delighted with the Mare Nostrum. In spite of being on the seafront next to bars and restaurants, we have slept very comfortably in our air conditioned rooms. We booked in Feb this year for a four night stay at the end of our family summer holiday and the Mare Nostrum has exceeded our expectations.

Ruth welcomed us to the hotel with very friendly check-in, a map of Peniscola and advice on parking. We found a space in open air car park behind hotel, but this area is used for the Monday market and Ruth gave us clear instructions on when and where to move the car. There is cheaper (8 euros per day street parking or more expensive underground car park which offers discounts for longer term parking. We chose this option and have left car here for 3 days while exploring the resort.)

At the time of booking, only one room with sea view and balcony was available, but the twin room overlooking the front of hotel and South Beach is also bright and comfortable but without balcony. Our 3rd floor sea view room offers spectacular views over the castle and old town. Breakfast is served on 4th floor terrace with panoramic views of the sea and castle. Other reviewers have commented that choice of breakfast was limited but we found the daily offering of fresh melon with yoghurt/cereal/pastries/toast/croissant and very good coffee or tea was delicious.

Everything here is within walking distance so you don't need to use the car. There are lots of restaurants and bars - every meal we have eaten here has been delicious. Ruth suggested Xulos, La Pulperia and Caracol but we have also tried Espigo and La Laterna. The old town is beautiful and we have spent a lot of time ambling through the winding streets. during our stay, we attended an evening event as part of the Baroque Music Festival in the Castle, which was magical. All in all, a very lovely stay in Peniscola, thanks to the comfort and warm welcome of the Hotel Mare Nostrum

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

One typically rates a hotel on room quality, staff, and price. Mare Nostrum excels in each category. First the room, more than adequate in size, clean tile floors, balcony with extensive view of the castle and the entire length of the beach. The bathroom has tiled floor and walls with plenty of hot water and a large bathtub. There is a large closet with shelves and hanging space as well as a nice desk.

As to the staff; I can't say enough for the owners and cleaning staff. When we arrived I thought I had lost my passport. Pablo made calls to the US Consulate and provided me with transportation information back to Barcelona. Fortunately with the help of my wife we later found it among our effects. The owners are so sweet, friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff do a great job keeping the room spic and span and are friendly and helpful.

Finally the price is a bargain for what you get at Mare Nostrum. It is rated highly at Trip Advisor and that rating is well deserved. All in all you won't be disappointed at Mare Nostrum.

Room Tip: Room 208 has a balcony
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance881Phoenix_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews