We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
36
29
9
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
29
9
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor historic building festival furniture square parking
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018

This hotel is situated right on the main square which is lovely and convenient, but parking for us was a problem - there was some festival going on so we had to park about 5 minutes away, which was OK, but we had a car full of stuff so weren't that happy leaving it on the street out of view. The owner was very helpful, although we did have to knock on the door to get in every time. He gave us a brief history lesson and had some strong views about Brexit! Our rooms were on the top floor with a lovely terrace with views over the square, however, it does get very noisy at night so if you had a room on a lower floor you may have been kept awake. There seemed to be a lot of lights which did not work in our room and bathroom, but they were both clean. We had a meal in the restaurant next door which was a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the top floor
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We made a stopover while driving from Spain to Portugal. Hotel Los Balcones de Zafra is located on the main square of the old town. It is a historic building. The innkeeper explains the details of guests with pride.
Unfortunately, the hotel did not come up to our expectations. The rooms on the second floor was equipped with creaky, hard 150 cms wide bed. It was also to small in length for a 6ft tall person. The furniture seems to be a collection from the flea market, has strong signs of use and definite not antiques of any value. The bathroom is completely obsolete and only superficially clean. But the worst was the dirty state of the bath tub which serves as well as shower. W_LAN was unreliable and slow.
On the square was noise from the bars until 03:00 AM and when the night owls finally left, the bars disposed the empty bottles in the glass containers.
The breakfast room is located in the basement; is small and dark. Breakfast consists of two pieces buns from the day before that are reheated, jam, butter and some servings of low quality liver sausage and cheese. A visit to the hotel's restaurant is not recommended. A better address is the restaurant opposite in the Hotel Plaza Grande.
Paid parking is available in front of the hotel. A prospected pleasant stay in a historic building turned out to be a flop. The ill-equipped rooms, the noise until the early morning hours, the dirty bathtub and the miserable breakfast are the reason not to recommend the place.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

This hotel is in the main square, so a great location. The owner is knowledgeable and friendly- he was eager to share the history of his gorgeous house (a 2000 year old Roman villa, beautifully restored), and was equally helpful suggesting places of interest in Zafra. We had a great room (205) overlooking the square, with a small balcony. It's a little faded, but it added to the general ambiance of the place- I loved it. Breakfast was table service, not your usual buffet style self self. A friendly and attentive waiter, fresh toast, fresh juice and coffee- really enjoyed this! However, do make sure that you heed the parking restrictions. You can unload outside the hotel, but you must park elsewhere. Again, the owner is very helpful about this, and none of the locations suggested are more than a few minutes walk away. There was also a private car park with driver service if required at 15 Euros (I think)- but we did not think that this was necessary for our one night stay. We will certainly be back to this hotel and would recommend it.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank jkc2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A quirky hotel right in the centre of the old town. The owner gave us a very interesting guided tour and a lot of good advice on places of interest and places to eat. Our room was comfortable, clean and with a good bathroom. We had access to the roof terrace overlooking Plaza Grande which was a real bonus. The breakfast was enjoyable and the food in the attached restaurant was simple but very tasty.
Parking in the square is possible at around 5 euros per day. Be careful as you can get a parking ticket as you are organising things in the hotel. The owner was very helpful when this happened to us

Room Tip: They all seem to be good but the ones with access to the roof terrace are worth while.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Fabulous location, fabulous building, friendly service. We had a lovely clean and well appointed room overlooking the square, which on a Saturday night meant very little sleep, but that's hardly the fault of the hotel.

Average breakfast, usual 'tostados' and not much else, but that's just the Spanish way. I would recommend this place, but maybe ask for a room at the back if you are there over the weekend and not up for 4am partying!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews