We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful retreat in Concord” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorne Inn - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Concord
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawthorne Inn - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #2 of 3 Concord B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat in Concord”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hawthorne Inn in Concord this past weekend -- we found it charming, and welcoming. Greg and Marilyn know how to make guest feel welcome. Concord was charming, and full of history. I loved all of their artwork very eclectic and interesting. Breakfast was very good, the welcoming tea was nice but I was expecting something other than store bought cookies!

Room Tip: I don't think they have a bad one... from what we saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlantatvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    26
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
135
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

This inn is definitely a five star plus B & B.........I had the pleasure of staying at the inn twice.....both experiences were abolutely the greatest.....the rooms are beautiful. Just loved the company of the owners at breakfast, and what a breakfast! If you're in this area, you have to stay here!!! Five Star Plus!!!!

Room Tip: Any room you choose is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

I am a regular business traveller to the area I have spent over 50 nights at the Hawthorne Inn. I keep coming back because it is consistently quiet, clean, pleasant, and welcoming. Greg and Marilyn have made me feel like it is my home away from home. The Inn is full of antiques, collectables and books that add to its charm. The surrounding area is wonderful with trails and history right outside the door.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walthamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have now stayed at the Hawthorne Inn three times while visiting family and still rave about how wonderful and comfortable it is! Marilyn and Gregory make you feel right at home when you arrive and make themselves readily available to make sure that you have everything that you need. It was wonderful during our Fall visit to come downstairs in the morning to coffee and a warm fire in the parlor followed by the most wonderful pastries, homemade jams, and quiches. Coming home after a day out is just as enjoyable with the most comfortable beds and quiet rooms. Marylin and Gregory have become true friends who we keep in touch with, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else when in Concord!

Room Tip: We have now tried 3 different rooms and they all have been comfortable and interesting with great an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falmouthnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Our experience was wonderful, our travel habits put us 20% of the time in B&B's and 80% of the time in 4+ star hotels. What we love about good B&B's is the warm and welcoming feeling that good inn keepers lavish on their guests. It is that personal quality that we seek when deciding to stay in a B&B. The Hawthorn Inn is charming with rural sophistication, it offers a welcoming oasis to sooth a travelers needs. The rooms throughout the house, both common rooms and guest rooms are decorated in soothing themes that blend wonderful finds from the continents around the world, always something interesting in your line of sight. The location of the inn for sightseeing is perfect for local interests, both Lexington and Concord offer days worth of history to explore, and 20 miles away is Boston, an easy drive from the inn. We used the inn as our home base for exploring both areas and found it to be a place we looked forward to returning to each night. The breakfasts were delicious and the hosts graciously serve you with the clear love of what they do. We always felt welcome and the morning times spent with the hosts and other guests of the inn during breakfasts filled us both in body and soul. The breakfast was always a wonderful start to our day, homemade granola with your choice of yogurts, followed by baked fruit and cream, followed by a wonderful homemade quiche...and so on, juices, dark brewed coffee and a selection of teas.
We highly recommend this Inn!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidsntowOnthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concord
1.4 km away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#2 of 3 in Concord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
4.5 km away
BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord
4.5 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Concord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
6.1 km away
Aloft Lexington
Aloft Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
6.2 km away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#3 of 4 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: Hawthorne Inn - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: 462 Lexington Road, Concord, MA 01742
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Concord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Concord
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,385 - ₹ 16,466
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATIONS. WE ARE TAKING RESERVATIONS FOR SPRING/SUMMER 2017. VISIT OUR WEBSITE FOR MORE DETAILS Relaxed Elegance. An Intimate Bed and Breakfast Refuge where History, Literature and Nature gracefully entwine. Seven vibrant guestrooms, pairing modern amenities & time-burnished antiques, contemporary artwork & ancient artifacts, create a balanced harmony. Guests enjoy a popular multi-course continental breakfast around a convivial common table. Close to the village shops & restaurants, museums, Walden Pond, Minute-Man National Park and homes of the Authors: Hawthorne, Emerson, Alcott. Just 19 miles to Boston and an easy day-trip to scenic coastal villages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Concord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing