We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of Hawthorne Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Concord
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawthorne Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Concord B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Syosset, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I am a regular business traveller to the area I have spent over 50 nights at the Hawthorne Inn. I keep coming back because it is consistently quiet, clean, pleasant, and welcoming. Greg and Marilyn have made me feel like it is my home away from home. The Inn is full of antiques, collectables and books that add to its charm. The surrounding area is wonderful with trails and history right outside the door.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walthamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    26
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
135
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have now stayed at the Hawthorne Inn three times while visiting family and still rave about how wonderful and comfortable it is! Marilyn and Gregory make you feel right at home when you arrive and make themselves readily available to make sure that you have everything that you need. It was wonderful during our Fall visit to come downstairs in the morning to coffee and a warm fire in the parlor followed by the most wonderful pastries, homemade jams, and quiches. Coming home after a day out is just as enjoyable with the most comfortable beds and quiet rooms. Marylin and Gregory have become true friends who we keep in touch with, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else when in Concord!

Room Tip: We have now tried 3 different rooms and they all have been comfortable and interesting with great an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falmouthnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Our experience was wonderful, our travel habits put us 20% of the time in B&B's and 80% of the time in 4+ star hotels. What we love about good B&B's is the warm and welcoming feeling that good inn keepers lavish on their guests. It is that personal quality that we seek when deciding to stay in a B&B. The Hawthorn Inn is charming with rural sophistication, it offers a welcoming oasis to sooth a travelers needs. The rooms throughout the house, both common rooms and guest rooms are decorated in soothing themes that blend wonderful finds from the continents around the world, always something interesting in your line of sight. The location of the inn for sightseeing is perfect for local interests, both Lexington and Concord offer days worth of history to explore, and 20 miles away is Boston, an easy drive from the inn. We used the inn as our home base for exploring both areas and found it to be a place we looked forward to returning to each night. The breakfasts were delicious and the hosts graciously serve you with the clear love of what they do. We always felt welcome and the morning times spent with the hosts and other guests of the inn during breakfasts filled us both in body and soul. The breakfast was always a wonderful start to our day, homemade granola with your choice of yogurts, followed by baked fruit and cream, followed by a wonderful homemade quiche...and so on, juices, dark brewed coffee and a selection of teas.
We highly recommend this Inn!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidsntowOnthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

When my wife and I arrived we were greeted with very cordial hosts, but the cordialness lasted until they swiped my credit card. I was a bit confused on the decor of the Inn. Cracker Barrel would be a better name for the inn, rather than The Hawthorne Inn. We stayed in the Emerson room, which was adorned with Chinese and Japanese paintings. In the dining room trinkets from Africa and South America were everywhere. As we settled in we walked into the dining room and other guests had arrived. It seemed as if between Greg and Marilyn that a room mistake had been made. Marilyn had promised our room to this local couple and said, "if you two want Emerson, I will move them right now." My wife and I were flabbergasted. The other couple said no, but Marilyn insisted that she would move us. Luckily for us, the couple had the decency to take another room. Within the next 10 minutes Greg brought us some the worst coffee I have ever drank, and reccomended a local restaurant called Serafino's, and that he would make us reservations, as it would be packed that night. Well, Greg's cousin must own this restaurant, because it was empty, except for us, and the other house guests. Breakfast was a bland, sub par, quiche which tasted as if it had been frozen for weeks. The boasted about their money and their children passing up Harvard for other schools. I believe the Hawthorne Inn should only be on the Select Registry to advise weary travelers to "Select" another Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markbooth12387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundeedog, Owner at Hawthorne Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
We are truly saddened that any of our Guests left the Inn without taking along fond memories of their time in Concord. It is our mission to make all feel welcome and honored. As a part of our personal service we offer recommendations to a variety of appropriate restaurants and book reservations as a courtesy to our clientele. Our Guests enjoy a selection of Fair-trade, fresh roasted coffee. Our current offerings are Ethiopian Amaro, Colombian, Rhawandan and beans from Bali. It is true that the Inn is filled with original artworks, ancient artifacts and a collection of 19th century Japanese Ukiyo-e block-prints. We also have on display a few items gifted to us from Guests hailing from Bhuton, Japan and India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
248 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

During the recent Oct snowstorm that knocked power out for many MA residents, we were anxious to find a warm place to stay for at least the night. Every place we called was full and by chance called the Hawthorne Inn. We were grateful when told they had room available due to a storm cancelation. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and offered a choice of rooms. We chose the second floor Musketaquid room, which was quaint with treasures and antiques. The Patriots (football team) were playing in a few minutes so we were directed to a local Sportsbar (one of the few that had power) where we could catch the game. We returned during halftime expecting to finish watching the game in our room - however, we had not realized our room did not have a TV. The hosts were very accommodating and set up a small TV in an alcove room so we could finish watching the game. Even though we both had to work the next day, we took the time to stay for breakfast. Glad we did, food was excellent, conversations lively, and the china and settings grand. Their friendly dogs and cats made it feel even homier. Luv’d the collection of salt/pepper shakers as well as many other unique artifacts. We only stayed the one night but felt welcomed and would have liked to stay longer under better circumstances.. The owners have done a superb job of making this B&B ‘above and beyond’. We have never stayed at a B&B before and would highly recommend staying at one to anyone – esp the Hawthorne Inn. (We do like our TV tho even if just for the AM/PM news and weather)

Room Tip: Rooms close to the street could be a bit noisy if not early risers or light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coco1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concord
1.4 km away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#2 of 3 in Concord
509 reviews
4.6 km away
Best Western at Historic Concord
4.7 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Concord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
148 reviews
6.1 km away
Aloft Lexington
Aloft Lexington
#3 of 4 in Lexington
478 reviews
6.2 km away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn

Property: Hawthorne Inn
Address: 462 Lexington Rd, Concord, MA 01742-3729
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Concord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Concord
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,136 - ₹ 15,825
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hawthorne Inn. We are a boutique bed & breakfast situated on Concord’s historic mile, just steps away from the heart of American Literary and Revolutionary history; on land once owned by Ralph Waldo Emerson, Bronson Alcott and Nathaniel Hawthorne. The property was built in the 1860’s and has been functioning as a bed and breakfast for more than 40 years. Inspired by design and elegance, the Inn has recently been fully renovated to incorporate 7 luxury guest rooms and ample shared public spaces to create a truly unique experience for our guests. We offer the perfect balance of elegance, charm and privacy whilst still being within walking distance of Concord’s Historic Center, the Old North Bridge, the homes of Concord’s most famous writers and the Minuteman National Park. We aim to offer a luxury and unique all season experience to our guests whether they are tourists visiting for the spring/summer/fall season or business guests visiting many of the multi-national corporations located in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Concord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing