We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A glorious find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Almunia del Valle
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Certificate of Excellence
Blindley Heath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A glorious find!”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We had a wonderful welcome from Manuel and Patricia. A charming couple with a relaxed yet highly professional approach to their guests. All staff were very well trained and friendly. The food was just wonderful and a highlight to our week's stay, as it was served on the terrace with the fabulous views. Nothing was too much trouble for Manuel and Patricia and they were so helpful with arranging flamenco shows and guiding us in our trips to the Sierra Nevada. The location was perfect for Granada. Just a few miles to drive and then back to the perfect temperature of the hills. Granada itself was a fantastic city with so much to see and enjoy. We will return.

Room Tip: We had one of the newer rooms (2 available). Very comfortable and equipped, with an excellent balony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardBlindleyHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    47
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
270
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

What an absolutely beautiful hotel! It was so peaceful, the view was absolutely outstanding and just fantastic service - so thoughtful with all the advice and we felt so welcome. Definitely have a night in with the dinner, we had massages as well which were fantastic. Lovely walk near by which we'd wish we'd had longer to do. Grenada only 16 euros away in a cab, so pleased we decided to stay out here rather than in the town - it was an extra treat to be in the mountains. We had room 12 which was gorgeous, the shower was as fab as it looks in the photos and the bed was so comfortable. We loved it here - can't wait to come back for longer next time!

Room Tip: Room 12 is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123sun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We booked into La Almunia based on a picture of the view and the good reviews on Tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed.

The welcome we received was genuinely very friendly from the owners and their staff. The food was good (we had one dinner in). The breakfast was also very good, especially on our second morning when the weather was nice enough to sit on the terrace looking at those lovely views. One of the things we liked is that the Hotel is relatively small and has a good lounge area for pre and post dinner drinks. This adds to the convivial atmosphere as the limited number of guests did chat to each other.

It's location is also very good for getting to the Alhambra (surely one of the wonders of the world). It's on the southern side of Granada like the Alhambra. You drive a few miles back towards Granada and then join the southern ring road and follow signs. This takes you straight to the Alhambra car park. We left our car there for about 12 hours at a cost of about 17 euros.

The road to the Hotel goes through a couple of large villages - you need to follow the Hotel's directions. After leaving the last one it becomes quite narrow and twisty, but it is tarmac all the way. It wasn't a problem.

We would recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rthomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Ontario.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This has to be the highlight of our tour of the great southern historic sites of Spain. Ideally situated for Grenada and the Alhambra, La Almunia offered a peaceful, sophisticated yet relaxed 'home' to return to after a day's sight-seeing. We had one of the terrace rooms, with fabulous views and privacy. The design and decor are outstanding, with a dramatic sunken mosaic shower, and crisp white bed linens accessorized with cerise pillows. Patricia and Manuel are caring and attentive hosts, meeting guests' varied needs with warmth and interest. Patricia's evening meals are an outstanding experience, beautifully served by Carmen, and prepared with love and attention to detail from locally sourced produce. Breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the mountains was varied and plentiful; a wonderful way to get energized for the day's activities. La Almunia seems to suit anyone from "boomer" travellers to hikers to families. It was the best place we stayed at on our trip - we loved it!

Room Tip: Our terrace room was just beautiful with superb views and a private outside sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terramarique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This was a gem. After a few days of hectic city sightseeing La Almunia was a relaxing retreat. Patricia and Manuel were wonderful hosts. The food was great and rooms comfortable. Many little details make you realize they have you in mind. The single lane road was not a problem and is a short distance. We took an evening hike for a sunset picnic amongst olive groves. It was wonderful and we would certainly due it again.

Room Tip: Upper floor seemed to have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank railnsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monachil
Hotel Granada Palace
#2 of 9 in Monachil
621 reviews
El Lodge
#2 of 27 in Sierra Nevada National Park
148 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,196 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
963 reviews
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Almunia del Valle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Almunia del Valle

Property: La Almunia del Valle
Address: Camino de la Umbria s/n, 18193 Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Monachil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,459 - ₹ 11,206
Hotel Class:3 star — La Almunia del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Almunia del Valle is a boutique charm hotel situated in one of the most beautiful spots in the Sierra Nevada Natural Park located in the municipality of Monachil, Granada, Andalucía. At just 8 kilometers form downtown Granada, the hotel gives the visitor the luxury to be able to enjoy a natural setting of the valley, surrounded by the high picks, and crossed by the river that gives its name to the village Monachil where light and silence claim our senses. The owners Jose Manuel Plana & Patricia Merino supervise daily and personally every detail, the high level of attention given to our guest by the hotel staff makes the stay in La Almunia an unforgettable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your La Almunia del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Almunia Del Valle Hotel Monachil
La Almunia Del Valle Monachil
La Almunia Del Valle Province Of Granada/Monachil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing