We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the mountains outside Granada - perfect to see the town or visit the ski resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Almunia del Valle
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the mountains outside Granada - perfect to see the town or visit the ski resort”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

La Almunia del Valle is a great place to stay. The hotel is very scenic, on the mountainside with great views of the valley. It's 15 minutes from Granada and 30 minutes from the Sierra Nevada ski resort, so the location is perfect. The rooms are great and the owners are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and dinners in the restaurant are very good. Also other great restaurants nearby - we ate at Casa Fernando (get the Ajo Blanco Soup). In Granada, Puerta del Carmen has great food and is a very trendy place to hang out. I highly recommend it and we went back more than once. D'Oliva is also a lot of fun - Francisco serves great wine and cooks an amazing meal on his camp stove using simple ingredients, while explaining the story of each item. Definitely a place to go for food lovers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_J_from_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    47
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
270
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at La Almunia del Valle on a trip to Spain in November 2011. This hotel is nothing short of great. Our hostess was superb, and gave us a wonderful recommendation for dinner in town.

We ate 2 breakfasts (both of which they made earlier for us due to itinerary issues) and one dinner. The food was excellent and the service was exceptional. We do not speak Spanish and the chef/server at dinner did not speak English but she was exceptional! She made us an amazing dinner and we enjoyed every bite!

Our accommodations were really special as well. The room was huge compared to any other rooms we have had in Europe. And the amenities were top notch.

The location is beautiful. My only caution is that you use the directions provided with your reservation confirmation. if we hadn't we never would have found it!

In short, if you are going to Granada, stay here. The distance to La Alhambra and the city is not far and it is worth the easy drive!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raeleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed for two nights in this fantastic hotel. The rooms are beautiful and breakfast on the roof terrace was amazing. Patricia and Manuel (the owners) are extremely helpful.

There are some really nice walks from here along the river, and it's also really quick to drive into central Granada.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The most stunning view in all of Andalusia. Patricia and Manuel are perfect hosts. The hotel is decorated with much taste and charm.

Room Tip: Any room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Stayed here end of October. Had read reviews prior to stay and agree with all the praise. We loved the quiet setting, our room was beautiful everything had been thought of. Private patio with comfortable chairs overlooking the valley with the sound of sheep bells around. Meals on botrh evenings were superb, Patricia and Carmen produced delicious food. All the staff were charming and helpful. Really hope to come back here and will recommend it to anyone going anywhere along S.coast of Spain, Granada or Sierra Nevada National Park.

Room Tip: All rooms good ones with small private patio areas best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retireeN.Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monachil
Hotel Granada Palace
#2 of 9 in Monachil
620 reviews
El Lodge
#2 of 27 in Sierra Nevada National Park
148 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,192 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
958 reviews
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Almunia del Valle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Almunia del Valle

Property: La Almunia del Valle
Address: Camino de la Umbria s/n, 18193 Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Monachil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,505 - ₹ 11,172
Hotel Class:3 star — La Almunia del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Almunia del Valle is a boutique charm hotel situated in one of the most beautiful spots in the Sierra Nevada Natural Park located in the municipality of Monachil, Granada, Andalucía. At just 8 kilometers form downtown Granada, the hotel gives the visitor the luxury to be able to enjoy a natural setting of the valley, surrounded by the high picks, and crossed by the river that gives its name to the village Monachil where light and silence claim our senses. The owners Jose Manuel Plana & Patricia Merino supervise daily and personally every detail, the high level of attention given to our guest by the hotel staff makes the stay in La Almunia an unforgettable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your La Almunia del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Almunia Del Valle Hotel Monachil
La Almunia Del Valle Monachil
La Almunia Del Valle Province Of Granada/Monachil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing