We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less Impressed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Atlanta - Buckhead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
W Atlanta - Buckhead
Ranked #62 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
New England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Less Impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

I stayed here two years ago and was blown away by the condition and service, so I was looking forward to my next stay. I was a bit let down.

It all started off on the wrong foot when there was trouble with my credit card at check-in. It took me 30 minutes to check in because the staff had to go through the stolen credit card protocal. I understood that it was just what they had to do, but when I was finally able to check in, I called my credit card company and they said there were no issues with my card, so the problem must have been on the hotel's end. Again, they were just following procedure, but looking back, it was pretty annoying that I had to wait all that time because of a glitch in the hotel's system.

Anyway, the hotel's condition was fine, but I agree with another reviewer that the hotel seems to be trying too hard. For example, when you get in the elevator...excuse me, lift...there's a "Top 10 things we love" list on the doors. Number 1 is "You." I rolled my eyes...it was like a 12 year old girl wrote the list.

I actually like the room layout and bathroom setup, but I realize it's not for everyone. I ordered room service, and it was tasty and came on time. The bed was comfortable and I was able to get work done. There was, however, an old bon-bon on a shelf below one of the tables. Not attractive.

In all, it's still a nice property, but I didn't have the best visit this time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meprice82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WBuckheadManager, General Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
meprice82 - Thank you for your review and returning to W Atlanta - Buckhead. I'm sorry to learn this most recent visit was not as stellar as the first. I'm glad however, to hear you enjoyed several aspects of the property including room layout and in room dining, but I will share your comments (as we do with every review) to ensure that every inspection is a thorough one and service remains a top priority. I hope we'll see you again for a third visit (and more) so that we can deliver more experiences that liken your first with us.

Thank you again.

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    281
    186
    118
    81
See reviews for
119
294
100
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Common areas are great. Rooms are lousy. Lots of chipped paint, dirty carpet and water damage wallpaper. The rooms are also extremely small.

I love W hotels and stay in them all the time. This one is just beat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonAtlanta_GA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WBuckheadManager, General Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
JasonAtlanta_GA_ - Thanks so much for your review and loyalty to W Hotels Worldwide. I'm glad you enjoyed our public areas (and hopefully service throughout your stay as well). We take feedback very seriously and have developed many internal committees based on it, one of which is dedicated to room (and hallway) condition, in addition to the constant vigilance of our engineering team. Please know that we're "on the case" and hope to have you visit again with us soon. Thanks again.

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

It was "retro-chic" and seemed like it was trying too hard. The rooms were decorated in what was supposed to be the '60's, but really seemed somewhat cheap in furnishings quality. The bathroom was one of the worst - the first room had the sink in the bedroom and a glass door to the toilet / shower, and the second room we were placed in had the sink in the bathroom but a glass window to the room & a glass door.

There is a popular bar on the top of the hotel so we were awakened 3 times during the night (latest was 5:30 a.m.) to revelers making their way back to their room. Parking is valet (a must) at $32.00 a night (is this Beverly Hills?). I stayed at more comfortable Hilton Garden Inns - if small is chic, then the rooms in this place are extremely fashionable.

We had been at the Westin next door earlier in the week and found the rooms & bathrooms MUCH larger, self-park an option, and overall, a much better experience.

Room Tip: I was told that the higher floors are set aside for the "party" and late-night crowd. Be...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkClark97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WBuckheadManager, General Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
MarkClark97 - Thank you for your review. We take all reviews and feedback very seriously and I sincerely appreciate your candor. I will share your comments with the team for review and ensure we are not only fully disclosing our parking options upon arrival and constantly patrolling our public spaces but also discussing room types and preferences upon check in to meet and exceed guest expectations.

Thank you again for your time and we hope you'll revisit us again in the future.

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We had a great experience. They definitely took care of us. I would recommend it to anyone who any who wants to have a good time. Our hostess (Nicole) was amazing and the waitress (Monique) was even better. We celebrated my friend's birthday and had no regrets the entire night. The atmosphere is great for mingling as well as having fun. If you are going to Whiskey Blue any time soon, make sure you are prepared to have a great time!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WBuckheadManager, General Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Campbell W - Thank you so much for your review of our rooftop destination bar, Whiskey Blue!! I'm thrilled to hear that your birthday celebration went without a hitch and you have Nicole and Monique to thank for it! I look forward to sharing this with them and the entire WB team. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hotel was very interesting. It almost had a "Mad Men" feel to it. Very retro '60s decor. The staff was very friendly and the bed was very comfortable. The only thing that I was not impressed with was the fact that the bar had a very limited selection of beers, and the bathroom in our room was TINY with only a sliding door to separate you from the rest of the room (including your travel companions). Overall, this was nice, but I will try the Westin next door to see how I like it next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tgarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WBuckheadManager, General Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Tgarick - Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback and any Don Draper references, so thanks again! I'm thrilled you enjoyed the decor, W signature beds and service. I do hope that you'll give us another try for your next Atlanta visit though, as we do offer other bathroom layouts and our Whatever/Whenever staff is at the ready for any brew-centered requests!

See you soon!

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Buckhead
Westin Buckhead Atlanta
Westin Buckhead Atlanta
#31 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Buckhead
JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
W Atlanta Midtown
#102 of 172 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
W Atlanta Downtown
#55 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta - Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta - Buckhead

Property: W Atlanta - Buckhead
Address: 3377 Peachtree Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30326-1009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#37 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,005 - ₹ 24,171
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta - Buckhead 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Atlanta's entertainment and fashion capital is W Atlanta - Buckhead, where southern hospitality rules 24/7. W Atlanta - Buckhead combines modern luxury and Southern charm into its chic design and welcoming atmosphere, in a neighborhood that puts you in the center of all Atlanta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your W Atlanta - Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta - Buckhead Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing