We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel, Overpriced Services, and no Wifi on Vendor Floor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
Ranked #30 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel, Overpriced Services, and no Wifi on Vendor Floor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I was speaking at a three day event. The two floors set up for a lot of vending and conferencing are the first floor which is "2" and "1" which is a walkout basement level.

Check In:

Nice and friendly staff. Room was ready even though I was early and i was thanked for being a Starwood member.

Room was clean, quiet and dark. Beds were great, bedding was clean and tidy. They have Tazo Tea with the coffee maker in the room which is a nice touch for tea drinkers.

The bed was comfortable, pillows were great and the robe was a nice touch.

Shower heads were awesome, water pressure great and the normal Sheraton amenities.

The staff was decent although a couple of conference issues popped up and I got the blank stares.

Conference Facilities:

Just okay. The rooms would heat up and it was cold out. This is crazy. The lighting is archaic and not good for seeing a projector screen even in a small room.

The divider walls were flimsy, not closed all the way and you were severely distracted by the breakout sessions in other rooms. The hotel wants 375 USD a day to use a projector in the room. This is ridiculous to me. Shame on them for gouging like this.

The biggest problem. They set vendors up on the bottom floor with NO WIFI even for purchase. That is simply not well thought out and an IT manager is lazy or stupid and needs firing for this decision.

Food and Drinks:

Decent overpriced hotel food.

I love the little dinner although the flooring and the every one walk through layout is not conducive to enjoying your food.

The smoking area is a nice touch. Enjoyed a good Scotch and cigar while I was there.

The bar is decent, love the layout with the private meeting cubby holes. I hated 30 dollars for a shallow pour of bourbon that would cost 20 USD a bottle. Scotch was as much as $30 for Oban 14. The bartender had skinny fingers to boot and I felt cheated.

You are very close to a TON of good restaurants and I would not eat at the hotel for any reason unless its raining and you have little choice which happened one night.

Max Lagger's was awesome. Great food, great beer and great service. I will write a review just for them. Morton's was crazy expensive mediocre and not worth your time.

Room Tip: Internet is 12 bucks a day in the room and none is available on the vendor floor. EAT OUT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ICHermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
We appreciate the nice review and the feedback as well. Glad you liked the room so much and it sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us. In terms of the audio visual and food/beverage prices, you'll find us to be very competitive with the marketplace. Also, the decision to have internet available in the conference rooms is up to your meeting planner, as we follow their specific instructions. Thanks again for the nice score and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,589
    878
    329
    109
    80
See reviews for
481
423
145
1,349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel has several great restaurants within walking distance. We were fortunate enough to have a corner room with great views!

I was attending a conference at Georgia Tech and took the MARTA to the hotel from the airport ($3.50). The next morning I took the MARTA a few stops and took the free trolley to the conference.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DrJCoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for the nice review. Glad you found us to be so convenient to MARTA and Ga Tech . Hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

From the moment we checked in til the second we left, the staff at the Sheraton went out of their way to make us feel welcomed, cared for, and less stressed. From the front desk to the bellman to the valet personnel to the deli and restaurant workers to housekeeping and anyone you would meet in the hallways, you were always greeted with a huge smile and "is there anything I can get for you?" So friendly so above board in everyway...I just cannot say enough about them. I travel alot and have never encountered this from every single person at a hotel! Impressive...thank you!!

Room Tip: Great location to the convention center...20 minute walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaH157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! The entire staff works very hard to take care of all our guests and it's great when they are recognized for their efforts. Thank you and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Love this place--wonderful space, excellent staff and amenities!

If you appreciate top-notch service coupled with a great value, and want to be close to where the downtown action is, you will be happy choosing the Sheraton Atlanta.

This being my first time in Atlanta, it began with a less than satisfactory experience at the W in Buckhead (do not go there it's extremely overrated and twice the price!).

I was lucky to find this treasure of a hotel. From the friendly and experienced staff, hotel ambassador extraordinaire Erica Thomas, and manager Marija Ramljak , who made me feel at home and special from minute one, the overall experience was two thumbs way up!

Excellent breakfast buffet, and they also have a lunch and dinner that I did not get to try. Food is great--the omelets by Chef Kelli are the best I have ever had at a hotel, period. Beds are heavenly, rooms are updated with 32" flat screens. My 12th floor room had a mini balcony and I could actually open a small door to get REAL air!

Interesting high-ceilinged atrium pool area, 24 hour gym has mostly cardio equipment. All staff are more than eager to help, which is an understatement. I am picky when it comes to environment, and while Sheraton Atlanta lacks the high towers of surrounding hotels, the WOW factor is in the total experience.

*Make sure you sign up online as a Starwood Preferred Guest before booking-go to Starwoodhotels.com. It's free and you get some perks such as the free breakfast buffet, and points that add up for more perks.

Note: ATL parking will cost you at most hotels. The parking here is currently $22 per day for self-parking. Only slightly less for partial day. The W was $32 per night valet only. If you want a short term, hourly parking go across the street to parking structure or nearby lots.

Have fun!
KNoelle from Los Angeles, CA

Room Tip: Tower 2, goes up to floor 12. Skyline view of some buildings. Try to ask for view of downtown skyscr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KalinaNoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
It sounds like you really enjoyed yourself and that's what we love to hear! We will let Erica, Marija and Kelli know that you mentioned them by name and thank them for taking care of you. We truly appreciate that you stayed with us and hope to see you in Atlanta again soon. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Service is good here and the property is decent. Rooms are small and a bit dated, but still SPG comfortable. Location is pretty ideal to downtown and also quick access to midtown without having to hit any traffic.

Service was fantastic, but other than that, the property is dated with minimal amenities. Got a great deal through Priceline's name your own price, so it was worth the stay, but I'd never pay more than $125 a night for this property (and that's a stretch).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveMangoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
It sounds like you had a nice stay with us and we appreciate that you thought the service was fantastic. It's unfortunate that you didn't like the $20 million renovation we completed just two years ago. Most of our guests really like the new guest rooms and all our amenities, such as the complimentary Sheraton Fitness Center powered by Core Performance as well as the heated pool and hot tub located in the 1/2 acre Garden Courtyard complete with a fully retractable roof. Our Social Level, located on the third floor, is always a hit. The Link provides complimentary internet access and computers as well as three restaurants to choose from. Those are some great amenities! Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#34 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,543 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#91 of 172 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,596 reviews
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#44 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ellis Hotel
#41 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Atlanta Hotel

Property: Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
Address: 165 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#13 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#15 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#15 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,298 - ₹ 18,929
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Atlanta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 763
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, located in the heart of Georgia's capital city, minutes from the Georgia World Congress Center, Georgia Aquarium, Philips Arena, Centennial Park and the Georgia Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Atlanta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Atlanta
Atlanta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing