We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Every Airport Should Have "One Flew South"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of One Flew South

One Flew South
Ranked #7 of 3,907 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, American, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wow! Every Airport Should Have "One Flew South"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

One Flew South is an airport gem at Atlanta International. Utilizing local, organic ingredients which are prepared by their resident chef, this restaurant will make you forget you're at an airport.

Good golly Miss Molly, it will be nearly impossible for me to downgrade to other airport eateries now. Some entree menu options: Thyme roasted pork belly, salmon hot pot, lamb ragout with garganelli pasta, and pan seared striped bass.

For lunch I had the cauliflower & parsnip soup and the applewood smoked turkey sandwich with black truffle mayonnaise, cranberry jam, and an arugula salad. Excellent!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenLee02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    202
    25
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gravenhurst, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exquisite airport food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Truly an excellent dining experience! Best airport dining in the world - E concourse. Jay at the bar made the experience. Go see him and prepare for some awesome food and awesOne atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kingswhotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect meal at busy airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had a connecting flight in Atlanta and stopped for dinner at the restaurant at the airport. The restaurant menu was extremely good with a variety of choices. The had an estensive wine list and we selected by the glass. The pricing was moderate when compared to the quality of food and speed of service. Note that they automatically add 18% tip to the bill, a good idea at a busy airport.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alberto54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wow--airport food isn't supposed to be this good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

So, as you are entering Terminal E, you see this interesting marble entrance to "One Flew South" on your left. Out of curiosity, you sort of wander over there and take a look at their menu. You notice that for the same price as the fast food place next door, you can have duck or butternut squash pasta or sushi...so you take a seat and order. Good choice.

We had done a little research beforehand, so we knew it wasn't your average airport fare...however, I wasn't expecting such reasonable prices for food that you would expect to find at an upscale farm-to-table establishment.

The food was excellent--I ordered duck and my wife had the butternut squash pasta. We split a salad that was very fresh. Although they were out of the dessert that appealed most to me, I got a banana pudding in a jar that made me forget about that other one (see, I can't even remember what it was now).

Anyways, if you have a layover in Atlanta and need to eat, you aren't going to find any better than this place. Not only that, but it won't cost you any more than you would spend at Paschal's or Houlihan's, so bypass those and enjoy some stellar airport food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“CAn't believe yu can eat like this in an airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

For only a little more than that bland burger served in a plastic basket with plastic silverware and a warm watery beer from every other restaurant in ATL, you can have a meal you'll be talking about for months. This place would be stand out in any location, but the fact that it is so excellent and in an airport is mind boggling. I used to cut my airport arrival time close because I didn't want to have to kill time. Now I leave for the airport early to get to those pork belly buns to sustain me through a long flight. The wine list, and cocktail selection, is high end, modern and thoughtful.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed One Flew South also viewed

 

Been to One Flew South? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing