We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bliss in a Piece of Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jackson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jackson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bliss in a Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

A gift to ourselves this Christmas was an extended stay at the Jackson House Inn over the New Year's weekend. Having stayed there in 2004 and deeming it the perfection by which we have judged all other inns and bed & breakfasts since, we were eager to return for some rest, relaxation, and to re-live our prior experience while sharing it with another couple of our closest friends. Little did we know how our expectations would be so shattered, in an unbelievable way. The inn has undergone an amazing transformation that doesn't strip it of any character or charm, but adds great warmth and welcomeness that make what was before, now incredible. Each evening ends in plush bedroom suites, cozy bathrobobes, warm fires, and comfortable beds with the highest quality bed linens. Each day starts in the dining room by the fireplace with post card views of the property and mountains. Kathy's warm smile, warm coffee, and fresh juice make you feel welcome and a treasured friend. Rick is the master of the kitchen and caring about his food. As a classically trained chef, I am admittedly picky with quality of food, but abhor pretension. Rick served up our two course breakfast each day with the freshest, quality, and tested ingredients all sourced locally. He has an obvious passion for great food and sharing it which lovingly shows in the creative recipes, all delicious, and deserving of awards. Kathy was impeccable in her suggestions and recommendations in the area. She was our unofficial tour guide and event planner in one; helping us plan our day and getting the most out of the quaint town of Woodstock and beautiful Vermont. They both love what they do and are truly gracious hosts. This inn is not just under new management but has been re-made into, for me, a piece of heaven, my bliss. I promise and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: I love the rooms with the fireplaces and window views to the stunning back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racketjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
302
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

My husband and I are from Boston, and we stayed at the Jackson House Inn for a weekend of rest and relaxation this past November. We adored it! The owners, Kathy and Rick, were so warm and friendly...they greeted us and showed us around the inn. They have put an amazing amount of work into the place, and it shows. The grounds and the rooms are beautiful. We loved our room - we had a fireplace and jacuzzi tub! The breakfasts were to die for. Rick is an amazing chef and uses fresh and local ingredients. I have been to over 20 B&B's, and this by far was the best breakfast! Kathy served us coffee and tea every morning. We also loved the fact that they both knew the area well, and gave us great recommendations for dinner, shopping and beautiful Sunday drives so we could see the farms and mountains!

This was my husbands first stay at a bed and breakfast, and he couldn't have been happier. And just to make our stay extra sweet, Rick and Kathy knew it was my birthday weekend, so they surprised us with wine and birthday cupcakes in our room! We enjoyed the wine out on the front porch. It was lovely.

We would recommend the Jackson House Inn to anyone! We'll surely be back!

Thanks Rick and Kathy!

Natalie & Shaun

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, VT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We returned to the Jackson House Inn for an overnight stay this past weekend, and our time there was just as delightful as it was during our first visit. Rick and Kathy were attentive and welcoming, and the room was supremely comfortable. The breakfast alone was worth the trip....Rick is a marvel in the kitchen. We'll find excuses to return to the Jackson House Inn again and again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBaldridge23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The Jackson House Inn is a beautiful B&B with amazing service and a quiet location. Even though it’s less than 5 minutes to downtown Woodstock, VT, the Inn is on a quiet street with a huge backyard that must be gorgeous in the spring and summer.

The owners, Rick and Kathy, went out of their way to take care of us and give us exceptional service. They are friendly, warm, and efficient.

One of the best parts of the Inn is privacy, since you can sit at your own table for breakfast, instead of the usual single table for all of the guests. I loved this feature, since it’s hard to have an intimate conversation with your spouse when you’re sitting with a group of strangers. On the other hand, if you want company, it’s easy to talk to other guests.

The Inn itself is cozy and gorgeous inside and out. I loved the beautiful decorations in our room, and the dining room is full of windows that all provide great views of the beautiful yard. We took a walk on the grounds, and found a creek, trees, and even a pond!

Rick cooks a delicious breakfast, and my favorite was the pancakes he made on our last day. The pancakes had a light and fluffy texture, and the syrup was wonderful too. The only problem was that I’m not used to eating so much, and it’s hard to stop eating Rick’s food!

I would recommend the Jackson House Inn to anyone traveling to Woodstock, VT, Quechee, VT, Hanover, NH, or nearby towns.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the Inn are quiet with a great view of the yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank springrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

First class in every way. Innkeepers Rick and Kathy were friendly and welcoming, the rooms and public spaces were warm, comfortable, inviting and perfectly kept, and the breakfasts were excellent. Maybe, if you're lucky, you'll have the Almond Pear Toast for breakfast - it was yummy !! We had a terrific time in Woodstock, Rick and Kathy gave us excellent guidance on things to do and see. This is one of my favorite B&B's from all my worldwide travel. I would highly recommend The Jackson House Inn.

Room Tip: The views to back of the property are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kld1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.3 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
5.3 km away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
4.1 km away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
3.5 km away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
2.1 km away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 15 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson House Inn

Property: Jackson House Inn
Address: 43 Senior Lane, Woodstock, VT 05091
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,051 - ₹ 19,371
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson House Inn offers refined relaxation surrounded by the beauty of Vermont. Just outside the village of Woodstock, our property is perfect for a private romantic getaway or a chance to reconnect with friends. 6 one-room suites with fireplaces and 5 classic bedrooms blend history with modern conveniences - all with an en-suite private bathroom with shower (some with massage tubs), WIFI, in-room controlled air conditioning/heating, most with HD television service. Locally-sourced, organic products are featured in a memorable multi-course full breakfast served at individual tables in our dining room, and non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available at all times. Wines, beers and spirits are available in the late afternoon/early evening. Stroll three acres of grounds including a freshwater pond and perennial gardens or gaze at the landscape from patios, balconies and chairs on the lawn. In colder months, a floor-to-ceiling woodburning fireplace burns during breakfast and the evening hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Jackson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson House Hotel Woodstock
Jackson House Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing