We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cozy retreat minutes from Woodstock” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Applebutter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Applebutter Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Woodstock B&B and Inns
NYC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cozy retreat minutes from Woodstock”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

My husband and I made a spontaneous decision to take a Vermont getaway for New Year's this year, and I'm so glad we did! Due to the unfortunate lack of snow, Barbara and Michael were able to fit us in at the last-minute, and while we were in the inn's smallest room (the only one available at that late date), we couldn't have been more comfortable.

The bed was incredibly cozy, with fine linens that really make a difference. From the fire in the public parlor's fireplace to the refrigerator provided for guests to the delicious home-baked treats left out for guests to the excellent breakfasts, the Applebutter Inn is a wonderfully welcoming place.

Its location on the aptly named Happy Valley Road is very convenient to both Woodstock and Queechee, and it truly feels like a country getaway. Be sure to visit the general store two houses down at the head of the road--wonderful Vermont cheddar cheese (of course), nice selection of gift items, and a sweet dog named Millie who will great you with much enthusiasm.

All in all, our stay at the Applebutter Inn couldn't have been nicer. And Michael and Barbara are great hosts--engaging and very well informed about the area, but not intrusive in any way.

Room Tip: All the rooms were spacious, nicely decorated with antique touches, and had fireplaces except our la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
133
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Spent our anniversary weekend at the Applebutter Inn and had a great stay. Barbara and Michael (innkeepers) were friendly and welcoming- they even surprised us with a bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived. We loved sitting by the fireplace at night and the three course breakfasts in the morning were very tasty to say the least. Barbara and Michael also helped recommend daily activities and restaurants in the area. Overall we had a great visit and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: King David was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed just one night on Friday, Nov. 4, 2011. We had never been to a B&B before, but our stay was excellent. We were greeted warmly by Michael who showed us the layout of the Inn. He also recommended some nice dinner places in and around Woodstock for us to enjoy a nice dinner. The breakfast the next morning was great. Way too much food, but all was very delicious. Upon departing, both Michael and Barbara recommended some ideas for activities in the area to complete our wonderful short vacation. We would definitely recommend the Applebutter Inn as a great romantic getaway just a short drive from downtown Woodstock. Thanks Michael and Barbara for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowa_Brett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed at the Applebutter Inn for 3 nights in mid October.On arriving at the Inn we were greeted by a Barber Shop Quartet. Perfect. Great start I love music.Our host Michael showed
us our roomand we were toldto treat the Inn as our home. Our bedroom was beautiful, fourposter bedgas log fireand spotless bathroom.The breakfasts were something else. Barbra and Michaelmade sure you never left the Inn hungry.The pancakeswith Vermont maple syrup were delicious as were the apple "starters"each morning.Tea and coffee was available each evening.Nice after a longday to sit by the fire with a cup of tea.
The area around the Applebutter Inn, Woodstock and Quechee made for some great sightseeing.Many thanks to Barbra and Michael for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domdavinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We visited the Applebutter in a few weeks ago and had a wonderful time. Delightful hosts and the (included) breakfast is out-of-this world. Location is also great, right outside of busy Woodstock.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drcrushser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
6.9 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
8.8 km away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3.4 km away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
3.6 km away
The Charleston House
The Charleston House
#6 of 15 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.7 km away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 15 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applebutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applebutter Inn

Property: Applebutter Inn
Address: 75 11 Happy Valley Road, PO Box 395, Woodstock, VT 05091
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,554 - ₹ 12,557
Hotel Class:3 star — Applebutter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Applebutter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applebutter Hotel Woodstock
Applebutter Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing