We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of Kedron Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kedron Valley Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My boyfriend and I came to stay at the Kedron Valley Inn for a mid-week romantic getaway. It was delightful. The building has tremendous charm, and the staff are very friendly and eager to help with suggestions for area activities. We were the only guests at the inn; none-the-less a full and delicious breakfast was served for us alone both mornings. The lovely terrace dining room was a treat in and of itself. Between that and the amazing whirlpool and fireplace in our room, we were totally spoiled. I heartily recommend this place to anyone looking for some peace and relaxation in a beautifully quaint New England town.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Splon60946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 256 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

Cosy Inn with nothing but a general store next door.

The dining room is cozy, but beware they dont tell you it only opens for 3 days of the week so you have to go elsewhere to eat. Also they literally kick you out the dining room at 9pm as the rooms above hear the noise through the old wooden floor beams. There is a big TV in the dining room showing sports. Food is great with a new 2012 menu, and not that pricey.

The chef for breakfast is a no-nonsense darling and a mine of local info, especially for skiing. Altho the breakfast selection is a bit bland and repetitive (fruit slices & bananas, berry yogurt, mini serial boxes every day, with some cake slices) she will try make you something you like if she has the ingredients and the front desk dont want to charge extra for "non-standard" ingredients (like lox). Her egg omlettes are great!

There is a Keurig manchine in the lobby for all-day coffee serving decaf, early grey and vermont blend coffe with cups for take-out.

Nearest town for dining is a 10min drive from South Woodstock to Woodstock. Watch the traffic signs as you go into Woodstock, as the local cop LOVES to catch unsuspecting tourists - lots of free $$$ for the town as the speed limit suddenly drops from 50 to 25mph as you near Woodstock with one small sign to say so. Not cool, Chief Of Woodstock, especially since there is very little snow around and eateries and facilities are empty and you need the business.

The rooms with fireplaces are large and detached from the main Inn and are newer, so if you dont want to walk in the cold for breakfast, rather stay in the main inn. You have to ask for the wood and fire-starter to be replenished. The room has a small TV with VT and Boston channels. Lighting is dim, altho there are two bedside lamps. The bathrooms have light heaters and a hairdryer. You can park outside your room, motel style.

The odd thing is that they dont automatically change the bedding even though the room is cleaned every day. They need to fix that! CHANGE THE BEDDING!

There are some helpful women at the front desk, who will print out travel directions for you. They dont know much about skiing though and whats best for daily skiing, so dont even bother asking.

Shop around for room pricing: the people checking out before us paid $90 more than us for the same room! Because they are in a non-snow slump, it looks like prices are all over the place and you can get great deals. DONT book directly with the Inn as their prices seem to be the highest than online booking sites.

Room Tip: If you want a fireplace, get the rooms in the parking area segment of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CoolDude2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyJax, General Manager at Kedron Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you for choosing the Kedron Valley Inn for your Vermont getaway. We're delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. During the winter, our dining room is open Thursday through Sunday nights for dinner; we also serve lunch on Saturday and Sunday. Like many "green" hotels, we do not change bed linens on a daily basis unless requested by the guest. In most cases, our best rates are found on our website or by calling the hotel directly. Occasionally, we do participate in last-minute "flash" sales on travel sites. Special packages are found on our website as well. We encourage guests to contact the hotel for personalized service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the inn mid-December and absolutely loved it. Luckily, it was a quiet weekend and we were one of only a few guests staying. The service was personal and we had a ball getting to know the staff. Donna makes an amazing breakfast - with fresh EVERYTHING. Furnished with warm colors and a fireplace in every room, we instantly felt relaxed and at home. There is no cell service - but it only added to the isolation we were hoping to escape to for the weekend. The inn is only about 10 minutes from the village of Woodstock - a beautiful town with local shops and people who are happy to see you. We dined at the inn's restaurant one of the nights and loved the food. Our room was exactly what we had hoped - jacuzzi, gas fireplace, four poster king bed, wooden floors and furniture, huge windows. We're hoping to come back some time in the Summer with our bathing suits to try out the pond!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 in the main house - it had a jacuzzi and gas fireplace and we didn't have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEtravel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Visited this fall and loved the KVI! Other reviews talk about how authentic and atmospheric it is--all true. Rooms are really nice and recently redone.
Very nice and we will return--looking forward to trying in the Summer!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Great location outside of Woodstock Center. Great food and atmosphere-locals stop by on snowmobiles for a early evening libation and appetizer and enjoy the warmth of the fireplace. Great sleighrides, and seen in the Christmas Budweiser commercial!

Room Tip: Check on line when making reservations- I like the main house myself-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
5.1 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
434 reviews
6.4 km away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
334 reviews
6.5 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
529 reviews
7.0 km away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
8.3 km away
Braeside Lodging
Braeside Lodging
#6 of 6 in Woodstock
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kedron Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kedron Valley Inn

Address: 4778 South Rd, South Woodstock, Woodstock, VT 05071-4701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: ₹ 11,093 - ₹ 20,435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kedron Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1822, the KVI has been completely renovated and restored. Offering rooms and suites, fine dining and an award winning wine program. All rooms include free breakfast, parking and wifi. Located just 4 miles south of Woodstock Village, adjacent to Green Mountain Horse Show grounds and near Killington, Okemo and Suicide Six Ski areas. Many seasonal activities nearby, swimming and skating on-site. Packages available. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kedron Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kedron Valley Hotel Woodstock
Kedron Valley Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing