We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
301
216
40
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
216
40
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the rivergrocery store across the streetin townrocking chairswalking distancemorning coffeewould stay here againcorner roomfirst floorrestaurants and shopsroom was largefour postergas fireplacenew englandconvenient locationbeds were comfortableking bed
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Great view of the river from the rooms in the River House. They also come with a small deck for sipping a glass of wine and watching the river run by. The price of the rooms was a great value and the location can't be beaten. No need to have to drive in Woodstock, you can park and enjoy the weekend. The bed was also very comfortable. Some of the furnishings are a bit old and tired but it adds to the charm, a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bostonsoprano22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara S, Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Hi bostonsoprano22,

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at the The Shire Woodstock. We are thrilled that you found everything from our value to our location to be very good. We love knowing you enjoyed sipping wine on the veranda-you just can't beat that view!
We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

We stayed in a suite with a fireplace and jacuzzi. The combination was just fantastic, especially because it was our wedding anniversary and also we just moved to Vermont. So we wanted to experience Vermont in the winter, enjoying the holiday scene, etc. and the Shire and Woodstock were perfect. In addition, the reception was fantastic. I forgot to ask his name, but the person working at the front desk was one of the nicest and most professional people I've met in a long time. Also, the distance to town is a short walk. All in all, we highly recommend. My wife and I are already planning when to come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asg19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

I would absolutely rate our stay at The Shire a ten and highly recommend it to anyone. My daughters and I were only there for one night, but wish it was more... Our room was beautifully appointed, very tastefully decorated, very clean and the view of the river and fresh fallen snow was priceless. We chose a room with a fireplace and it did not disappoint! In the morning we met the woman who was cleaning the rooms and had a delightful conversation with her... she was very friendly and nice :)

Room Tip: Pick a room with a fireplace, it's worth it!!!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

The Shire was the perfect place to stay during our anniversary weekend getaway. It was clean and quaint. Our room had a beautiful view of the river and everyone was very helpful! It is a quick walk to town and was a very convenient location. Highly recommend!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara S, Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Hi Kelsey,

We are so happy to hear that you decided to stay with us for your anniversary weekend.
The view of the river and quaint town of Woodstock make for the perfect romantic getaway!
We hope you’ll come to visit us again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

This is a basic hotel about 1/3 mile from the center of Woodstock, which is why we picked it. It is reasonably priced and everything is walkable. There was some confusion with our reservation when we made it and we were given a suite, in a separate building next door, as a result. The grounds are very nice and the room was nice and large, with lovely furniture and a comfortable bed. However, we had some issues. (1) The carpet was stained all over and needs to be replaced. At the entrance to the bathroom, there was a large brown stain that I think is being caused by some sort of leak, as it grew while we were there. (2) There was no coffee at the coffee station at the bottom of the stairs in our building, though we were told there would be. It was specifically mentioned when I checked in, so I was surprised to find that it was not replenished at all while we were there. Granted, we only stayed one night, but there was none when we arrived and still none when we left in the morning. (3) There was a spider in one of the corners at the ceiling, which totally freaked me out. Yes, it's in a good location and the price was right, but this place needs an overhaul and management needs to make sure basic amenities are provided. Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthro92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara S, Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Hi Anthro92,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our grounds and overall look of your Suite.
Upon checkout you did mention the carpet, which we have taken care of since then (it was a coffee stain).
We hope that you will give us another try if you happen to visit the beautiful town of Woodstock in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews