We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,060)
Filter reviews
2,060 results
Traveller rating
215
498
497
390
460
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
498
497
390
460
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus station soups budget hotel bad reviews plenty of choice sea front promenade
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 2,060 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This is definitely not the place to stay. Hotel is dirty, poorly maintained, and the extreme lack of service-mindedness made this a stay that will be remembered for the wrong reasons. Although the breakfast was included we did not eat at the hotel due to the hostility of the personnel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank steel209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We arrived on 3rd October only to be told they was overbooked and we could not have the apartment was overbooked but they put us up in a lovely room and upgraded us to half board. The food was dreadful at first we was in a small dining room then it was moved to a larger dining room, but for the amount of people the hotel hold this was not big enough the table and chairs were way to close together you couldnt move and the food itself was not nice at all, ok if you liked salad though. We spoke to people that had booked here but had been shipped of to other hotels due to overbooking and this hotel claims to be 4 stars which i can assure you it is not the food only gets 1 star at best although the room we had number 30 was nice and the maids came in daily

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank silverlady36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canifor H, FRONT OFFICE at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017


Thank you for your review of your stay at our hotel. We are grateful to have such important information which help us upgrade our services.

We are very sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We are sure we would have been able to deal with some of the problems immediately during your stay.

We always try to find the best solution so that our guest would leave our hotel with positives memories only.

Regards,
Janelle Tonna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We had few expectations, and were only planning to use the hotel room as a base for an active week of diving and sightseeing in Malta/Gozo. So in other words; very very little would have to be done to keep us merely satisfied. But after having been scolded and kicked out for entering the breakfast lounge five minutes after announced opening time, finding the food (breakfast) of exceptionally poor quality (I feel sorry for the all-inclusive guests), and nearly missing our early-morning flight back, due to a shuttle bus that turned up way too late, despite being booked and confirmed by the hotel the night before, the same hotel that had no intention of helping us or give us any contact details when 15 passengers were in risk of missing their flight the same morning, I regret to say that we are quite disappointed. Dear Hotel Canifor; you need to raise your game if you want to be taken seriously as a classed 4-star hotel by any standards. Considerably. On the positive side; rooms OK, moderately clean. Location? Mostly quiet. WiFi? Costly!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kjersti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canifor H, FRONT OFFICE at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017


Thank you for your review of your stay at our hotel. We are grateful to have such important information which help us upgrade our services.

We are very sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We are sure we would have been able to deal with some of the problems immediately during your stay.

We always try to find the best solution so that our guest would leave our hotel with positives memories only.

Regards,
Janelle Tonna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

After reading several negative reviews, we arrived with trepidation on 0ct 2nd. We left on Oct 9th having spent a most enjoyable week. Our room was clean and roomy enough, Sheets were changed regularly, towels daily, and room cleaned daily.
Food was good, a variety for both breakfast and dinner. Staff very polite and helpful.
Entertainment also good.. We would definitely not hesitate to return. Thankyou
The Lindsay's

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank micaptlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canifor H, front office at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear micaptlin,

We were really pleased with your positive words full of compliments. These are such a great motivation for us to keep and even upgrade our services.

We will be happy to welcome you again at our hotel for your future trips to Malta.

Regards,
Janelle Tonna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Although I agree with some of the comments made about this Hotel I don't understand people rating it Terrible or Poor. We stayed Half Board in the hotel and I can only assume that people complaining about rooms are holidaying in the Self Catering apartment block that from the outside does look like it needs a bit of T.L.C.
The Hotel it's self i would rate as a 3 star that has obviously been re decorated quite recently.
We arrived at the Hotel and made our way to the reception desk where we filed out a form with our passport details before handing over 7eu tourist tax (per couple). We were given our key card to a room on the fifth floor. On entering room we were pleasantly surprised to find hat the room exceeded our expectations (having read reviews) as not only been re decorated but all the furniture looked new. The room was positioned pool side where all Balconies are very small, just being enough room for the two chairs and the small table provided. Rooms on front of hotel do have larger balconies but may be a little more noisy due to the near by bars.
Don't bother with small screen T.V, only Sky News and CNN in English and no music channels. If you do decide you want T.V the you can hire a remote from reception for a returnable deposit of 5eu. We had twin beds and found that as mentioned in other reviews the sheets were to small so would not stay tucked in bed. Sheets changed once in week and towels every day if required. Rooms cleaned daily, shower gel provided in container, but you need to take your own shampoo. We take our own travel kettle but you can hire a kettle for 3eu a day.
On the 6th floor you will find the roof top sun terrace. You do get the occasional slight smell of sewage, bin is not emptied daily and showers could do with a good clean. The hotels main pool area is in the shade after 1pm so the roof terrace is a much better choice for those who like to spend afternoon in the sun.
The dinning room gets quite busy at times and there is not a lot of room between tables, drink machines or food serving area. On a Saturday the dinning room closes early for evening meals to allow locals to dine. Not the greatest variety of food but adequate. Cooked breakfast comprising of the normal fried eggs, tasteless bacon baked beans, no cooked tomatoes or mushrooms. Only sliced bread available, no cobs or rolls and no croissants or fruit.
Enjoyed our evening meal although not a very big choice of main course we found something different and to our taste for every night during our stay. Main courses are served by chef and not self service. Food always fresh and hot. Evening meal let down by choice of sweet, mainly Gateux or jelly. If apple crumble or pie is on check with waitress to see if custard is available as it will not be found in same place as other sweets. Ice cream is available but you will have to ask for it. Once again there is no fruit available with evening meal.
The lounge bar is quite a reasonable sized room. Entertainment is mainly organists/singer. Saturday poor as there is lack of seating due to locals taking them. Entertainment on Saturday was elderly lady playing organ and locals ballroom dancing. Will add at this stage that this hotel more suited to the 50+ age bracket or someone just looking for a good base. Would not recommend for families with young children or young couples. Bar prices are very reasonable.
Good thing is positioning of this hotel. Turn right out of hotel and you will find two bars that have regular entertainment. Turn Right again at end of street and a short walking distance to a further to bars with live music. Recommend you try Elvis Tribute Bar. Also just a short walk away, less than five minutes and you will find the bus terminal.
There are plenty of tour agents selling various excursions, I do recommend the 12eu tour of Gozo (additional 5eu return for ferry).
As I said earlier we holidayed on a Half Board basis but could have upgraded to all inclusive for 14eu p.p per night. Just to add we always found the majority of the staff very pleasant and helpful. Note that there is building work going on around hotel but did not find it noisy during our stay.
To sum up there is a small room for improvement in this hotel in regard to restaurant seating, variety of food and entertainment. However for what we paid I feel we have had a good holiday and good value for money. Would not hesitate in booking in again at Canifor or recommending it to a friend.

Room Tip: Pool View 5th floor
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canifor H, front office at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Tom C,

We were really pleased with your positive words full of compliments. These are such a great motivation for us to keep and even upgrade our services.

We will be happy to welcome you again at our hotel for your future trips to Malta.

Regards,
Janelle Tonna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews