We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 24/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 164
US$ 157
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 120
US$ 116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$ 443
US$ 240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 352/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 21/07
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
US$ 121
US$ 98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 192
US$ 182
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 103
US$ 97
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 234
US$ 201
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,976)
Filter reviews
1,976 results
Traveller rating
208
482
485
373
428
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
482
485
373
428
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus stationsoupsbudget hotelbad reviewstowels changed dailyfresh towelsplenty of choicesea front
Filter
Updating list...
1,283 - 1,288 of 1,976 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We booked this time for 9 nights i wish it had of been for longer but i would have put on more weight as the food is realy good and plenty to choose from. The staff are realy freindly and some of them were there when we went 4 years ago.Tony the barman is realy good especially karioke night when he does nearly 30 minutes singing.We cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wenjayWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth L, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Canifor Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We hope that the accommodations and service provided were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at The Canifor Hotel.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best in all your endeavours.
Thanks & Regards
Kenneth Laferla
Operations Manager
Canifor Hotel
Triq in-Nakkri
Qawra
Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The "canifor" hotel is in despereate need of modernisation.It's "Entertaiment" is great ? if you like organ music!! which is great for most residents (eighty and ninety year olds of which there are many)
The dining room is far to small for the hotel,but the food is passable.
The pool area is small and confined to about two hours of sun a day.
The roof terrace is small and if you require a drink/snack then its all the way to the basement bar!!.
This is not a four star hotel!!

Room Tip: unfortunately at the canifor its a lucky-dip !! the air-con in our room was noisy and other residents complained of other things
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth L, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

We are very sorry to read that the guest was not satisfied with the service and accommodation provided. We very much regret of any inconvenience however caused to our esteemed Guest.

In this case the guest is incorrect to say that the sun reaches the Pool area for only 2hours a day. The Pool is in the centre of the Hotel and the sun reaches all the area between 08:00am and 14:00pm after this time slowly but surely the sun goes behind the hotel and the pool area will slowly become shaded but only until 18:00 will the whole area be in the shade.
Again we are somehow surprised to read such a bad report coming from a person who goes on a budget holiday and on the other hand expecting services of greater value.
It seems that the expectations of guest were much more than the Canifor Hotel has to offer. The hotel offers very good value for the money paid for the whole package holiday and this compares very well with the amenities provided. All the facilities in the hotel are well maintained in good working order.

Thanks & Regards
Kenneth Laferla
Operations Manager
Canifor Hotel
Triq in-Nakkri
Qawra
Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Their are 4 of us staying at the Carnifor for Xmas and new year, 1 of the party has been diagnosed with Celiacs decease(gluten free but not dairy products.) Could anyone give any information on this at the hotel, and around Qwara resort?

Stayed: December 2011
2  Thank BigjimWallasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

To be honest, when we booked this holiday we were looking for a budget break. This hotel was exactly that. Well situated between Qawra and Bugibba you can get all around the island very easily. The main bus terminal is only a short 5 minute stroll away and the buses are extremely reliable- we could have been in London! The room was basic but did the job. And working in a hotel myself, I was very impressed with the housekeeping standards.
The food was quite repetitive but enjoyable. The restaurant was always clean and well staffed. The staff are extremely friendly, but do seem to receive some rude behaviour. I would definitely recommend the entertainment- Danny J De Vito was hilarious. And watching the dancing kept me entertained for hours.
The local bar owners are also all extremely welcoming and the prices are very good.
The outside pool area was quite small but never full so it works quite well. The indoor pool and jacuzzi are lovely- especially when they've warmed up!
I would definitely recommend an afternoon on the sun terrace- such a sun trap.

Finally I would recommend the Luzzu restaurant in Qawra, situated on the waterfront. My partner and I ate there twice during our trip and if we had not paid for all inclusive we would have been there even more. The food was lovely for an extremely reasonable price and their outside balcony area has a stunning view! I definitely recommend the pizza!
If you go to Malta, make sure you explore. Go on a local bus or a boat trip. It is a truly beautiful island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smith9492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

money was tight this year & we wanted to stay at malta to meet friends. they always stay at the canifor hotel & we stay at the qawra palace we got a price with chevron for just over £700 for 10 days half board at the canifor & booked up,i later read the reviews & it was saying the staff was misrible & the food horid ugh i thought what have we done well on ariveal the staff seemed very freindly & we got our room 301 it was very nice we had a iron iron board hairdryer kettel cups & every day we got milk tea & coffees well what do people want (now for the food) again we found the staff to be lovely the food was great salad bar lovely.what i could not beleave was how ignorent some engish people are it was embarasing the way they spoke to the staff when we left the waiter seaid how pleasent it was to serve us i could of cried . overall e were in a good location the hoter had a outside pool & beds a roof terace beds & jucussie inside pool with a jucussie reading room gym the qawra palace might look nice but when you get in from the front its not that good & nearly a grand more if we did return to malta we would stay at this hotel its great value for money the only downfall is the surrounding area dirty loads of pot holes but the weather isgreat NEVER go in july or august.

Room Tip: rooms at the frount of the hotel get all the sun & night life
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jill910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth L, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Canifor Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at The Canifor Hotel.
We look forward to your next visit and wish you all the best in all your endeavours.
Thanks & Regards
Kenneth Laferla
Operations Manager
Canifor Hotel
Triq in-Nakkri
Qawra
Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews