We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canifor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 228
US$ 208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 233
US$ 191
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 567
US$ 303
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 464
US$ 408
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 493/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dolmen Hotel Malta(St. Paul's Bay)
US$ 189
US$ 156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Santana(St. Paul's Bay)
US$ 158
US$ 72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,953)
Filter reviews
1,953 results
Traveller rating
207
481
476
368
421
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
481
476
368
421
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoupsbus stationbudget hotelbad reviewstowels changed dailyplenty of choicefresh towelssea front
Filter
Updating list...
1,321 - 1,326 of 1,953 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My wife and i have recently returned from a 2 week HB stay at the Canifor and thoroughly enjoyed it. We have stayed at the Canifor on numerous occassions in the past but this was our first visit for 4 years. Prior to flying out we contacted Mr Laferla to request certain rooms and he immediately replied that whilst he could not guarantee them he would do his best. Needless to say when we arrived we DID get exactly what we had asked for.
Having read numerous reviews and, not having been here for 4 years, we were a bit concerned as to what to now expect. On arrival we were dealt with swiftly and pleasantly by the reception staff. Our room was neat and tidy as per all our previous stays and the view across the island from the balcony in room 504 was superb. Our room was cleaned daily by a very pleasant maid. We had 2 minor problems in our room which we reported on our way down to breakfast and on both ocassions the fault had been remedied by the time we had returned to our room. The food is not Masterchef/ Michelin star standard but neither does it claim to be. There was something everynight that would suit the vast majority of people. My wife and i did not use the restaurant every night as we preferred to spend our holiday travelling the island and eating when we felt like and due to the incredible heat eating large meals was not something we did a lot whilst away preferring to snack when we felt like it. The problem i feel the Canifor has is that alot of the guests are on AI and don't leave the hotel facilities at all and tend to use the seating area at the front of the hotel. Here they mump and moan about everything till they turn a mole hill into a mountain.
I have read the moans about the Italian students and whilst i did encounter a small minority whose manners could have been better at no time did i find them to be disorderly or without adequate supervision. I work with young people in the 11-18 age bracket here in the UK and i can tell you if it was agroup of 30 plus kids from the UK that were there than it would be drunken, loutish behaviour that would be witnessed as opposed to kids not holding doors open or waiting there place in the queue for the lift.
The positioning of the hotel for all local amenities is superb and if you don't enjoy the entertainment in the hotel then pop round the corner to the Wood Hut bar and have a chat with Ray, the owner, who will entertain you all night.
To sum up we thoroughly enjoyed our return to Malta and the Canifor and whilst i have stayed in better, more modern hotels and resorts in the Canaries and Egypt recently it is the quaintness of Malta and the Canifor that draws us back like a magnet and we hope to be back in September

Room Tip: Go for rooms 501-509. They look into an empty space to the front of the hotel BUT give superb views across the island and also over to Gozo. Also you get the sun on the veranda almost all day
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Slugsbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Had 2 weeks half-board holiday at the Canifor Hotel. The reviews I made me a little worried, but I can say in all honesty, I have no idea what people were moaning about. The choice of food was amazing, the quality was good to excellent. The hotel is fairly old and a little tired, but very clean and welcoming. The staff were mostly very polite and helpful, the odd one or two were not so good but you get that anywhere.
I think there are a few people with Beer money and Champagne taste that have aired there views.

I would not hesitate to stay at the hotel again and Malta is a fantastic destination.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have just returned from having a 2 week holiday in the CANIFOR Hotel in Malta.having read most of the reviews, we were very hesitant in going to the hotel because of all the bad reviews, but as soon as we arrived in the hotel the reception staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Our room (418) was very clean, overlooking the pool. Bar staff were very cheerful, especially Tony, who was pleasant all of the time. Dining room was ok but in need of refurbishment. We have no complaints at all about the hotel or it's staff at all. If there was 1 thing that did put us off and that was the Italian students, rude,arrogant and NO respect for anyone. We are having NO hesitation in booking again for Xmas. I think some people want 5* hotels for 3* prices

Room Tip: rooms on the higher floors are better
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Canifor Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at The Canifor Hotel.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavours.
Thanks & Regards
Kenneth Laferla
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in several hotels from both luxury and basic standards, however as a four star hotel, this Accomodation is awful, it's extremely basic and dated with limited air con and facilities. Although you are provided with a fridge in your room, you must pay to use it, and as the temperature was in the 30s we required a fridge, however it did not work and would not even be classed as a cooler! We asked for a refund which we were told to wait till the next day for maintenance, two more days passed and then they told us they were getting the paperwork sent away on the fourth day we finally received our payment back and continued using the Luke warm fridge! Next is the food, do not expect gourmet meals! It's extremely basic with staff who are less then friendly! With a lack of potato and basic foods, there is a limited menu throughout and the restaurant is extremely cramped! Although we stayed half board we ate out several times. A further comment is of the general hotel facilities, for example the pool which is small but adequate, however on the second week of our stay it was swamped with a tour full of children aged 12-18 who were unbelievably rude and abnoxious despite complaints nothing was done and they would be loud and disruptive till the early hours of the morning! The only positive I would give this hotel is the location, due to the transport links! Other than that do no expect four star standard, close proximity to sandy beaches and nice food!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ktripx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

We are very sorry to read that the guest was not satisfied with the service and accommodation provided. We very much regret of any inconvenience however caused to our esteemed Guest.

All information about the hotel and its facilities are all listed and explained and any extra charges are mentioned. If one take a few minutes to go through the hotels web site, also upon check-in each guest is handed a sheet with all the hotels information.

All maintenance issues which are reported to the desk are seen to and fixed on the same day. The dinner menu consists of 14 Different Menus which rotate Daily so that to keep a varied selection for all the guests of the hotel plus there is also a selection of A La Carte Dishes that can be ordered at a small supplement and still be covered by the HB Package. All hotel guests are free to enjoy the hotel facilities equally.

One would not expect a group of young children to be as quite as a group of pensioners. Also all the Students that come to the hotel have strict curfews that they have to abide to since they still have language classes in the morning and staying in the hotel with the students there are also group leaders that monitor the students during the day and make sure that they are all in their rooms and behaving in time with the evening curfew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

As per John A. Italian EF Students spoilt our trip - runing & screaming through Hotel at all hours of the day & night despite numerous complaints to reception/management, they were dotted all round instead of grouped together so the 1 permanently based supervisor had no chance of controlling them. . Food was just about edible/variety was poor and frequently not home cooked and the meats on the salad bar were dried up versions of the previous days menu. Rooms were tired and tiles cracked in bedroom and bathroom- Tea & Coffee making facilities not available in our room! Maid service was good, bedding changed every couple of days and towels daily, although these were sometimes a bit dingy. Don't know how it could be classed as a 4 star- 1/2 star tops!

Room Tip: dont go there!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews