We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant for Eating”

The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 101 Restaurants in Qawra
Price range: US$ 18 - US$ 59
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Must say this is one of the best and friendliness places to eat in Qawra.
The owners John & Joan are very helpful and welcoming nice atmosphere is great, always our first port of call when arriving in Malta.


Richard & Gill Love

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 554 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

A friend and I went to Malta at the beginning of May and found this gem of a restaurant halfway through our holiday and loved it so much we went back again!

The hospitatlity was fantastic, the staff are friendly and helpful and the couple who own it are passionate about food and service and happy to offer recommendations. They also came to chat to us after our meal which was lovely, and remembered us when we returned.

The food is a-m-a-z-i-n-g and very reasonably priced, we went to another restaurant in Buggiba which was alot more expensive and the food was not as good and the service was awful. I would highly recommend the octopus stew and the Bragioli (so delicious I got the recipe from Chef)

You MUST go to this restaurant, we will definately be going back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a few words re: your visit to the Plum Tree.
It was a pleasure meeting you both. We are glad you were satisfied with our hospitality, service & food.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards

John & Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I am currently staying in Qawra with my brother on holiday and we were walking past the Plumtree and noticed their "Set Menu" priced at under 10 Euros .. We decided to give it a try and were both very pleased with the quality of Food and the generous portions given .. The meals that we both had really were excellent value for money .. We are certainly going to be visiting the Plumtree a few more times before our holiday ends .. The "Bragoli" {Local Maltese Dish} sounds very tempting !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for your review of The Plum Tree. It is our pleasure to host you & your loved ones on your visits. We look forward to seeing you all again later on in the season.

Regards


John & Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We went here on as friends said it was fab!

3 of us arrived quite early for a meal out in Malta, around 6pm. Nice welcome and reasonable table. I ordered spag bol, with others selecting the 'specials'.

Chicken in a spicy crumb wasn't nice very bland - seemed to have some curry powder mixed with the crumb, beef stroganoff was nice, spag bol wasn't that great very little meat -plenty of spaghetti though! We ordered garlic bread which came as a garlic roll and nearly blow our head off.

All in all and alright meal and alright price but not the best meal at that price I've eaten and nothing like everyone raves about. Perhaps our choices were not the best from the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear katrb,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Plum Tree. We do value our clients feedback and take their suggestions on board whenever possible.
With regards to your visit, your daughter chose to have the 9.50 euro Set Menu and opted not to have a starter, the Spicy Chicken seasoning has cumin in it. Which is a common ingredient in Curry powder. Your Husband had the Stroganoff off the main menu as was your Spaghetti Bolognese.

We have taken steps to reduce the amount of cumin in the Chicken seasoning and to make sure that the meat to sauce ratio in the Spaghetti is more balanced.

Thank you once again

Regards

John & Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Very busy... quick service... good choices on set menu for Euro10.50...really tasty food Staff were attentive, presentation was good, clean and airy. Eat in or out Book if you want to or call in... I would recommend booking as it gets really busy Well recommended

1  Thank NewcastleMazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you, for taking the time to write a few words re: your visit to The Plum Tree.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Qawra, Malta.

Regards

John & Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing