We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant for Eating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant

The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 99 Restaurants in Qawra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 16 - US$ 54
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant for Eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Must say this is one of the best and friendliness places to eat in Qawra.
The owners John & Joan are very helpful and welcoming nice atmosphere is great, always our first port of call when arriving in Malta.


Richard & Gill Love

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    149
    34
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You must go here at least once!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

A friend and I went to Malta at the beginning of May and found this gem of a restaurant halfway through our holiday and loved it so much we went back again!

The hospitatlity was fantastic, the staff are friendly and helpful and the couple who own it are passionate about food and service and happy to offer recommendations. They also came to chat to us after our meal which was lovely, and remembered us when we returned.

The food is a-m-a-z-i-n-g and very reasonably priced, we went to another restaurant in Buggiba which was alot more expensive and the food was not as good and the service was awful. I would highly recommend the octopus stew and the Bragioli (so delicious I got the recipe from Chef)

You MUST go to this restaurant, we will definately be going back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a few words re: your visit to the Plum Tree.
It was a pleasure meeting you both. We are glad you were satisfied with our hospitality, service & food.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards

John & Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very nice friendly place .. Well worth a visit if your in Qawra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I am currently staying in Qawra with my brother on holiday and we were walking past the Plumtree and noticed their "Set Menu" priced at under 10 Euros .. We decided to give it a try and were both very pleased with the quality of Food and the generous portions given .. The meals that we both had really were excellent value for money .. We are certainly going to be visiting the Plumtree a few more times before our holiday ends .. The "Bragoli" {Local Maltese Dish} sounds very tempting !

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your review of The Plum Tree. It is our pleasure to host you & your loved ones on your visits. We look forward to seeing you all again later on in the season.

Regards


John & Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ok but not 5 star!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We went here on as friends said it was fab!

3 of us arrived quite early for a meal out in Malta, around 6pm. Nice welcome and reasonable table. I ordered spag bol, with others selecting the 'specials'.

Chicken in a spicy crumb wasn't nice very bland - seemed to have some curry powder mixed with the crumb, beef stroganoff was nice, spag bol wasn't that great very little meat -plenty of spaghetti though! We ordered garlic bread which came as a garlic roll and nearly blow our head off.

All in all and alright meal and alright price but not the best meal at that price I've eaten and nothing like everyone raves about. Perhaps our choices were not the best from the menu.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear katrb,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Plum Tree. We do value our clients feedback and take their suggestions on board whenever possible.
With regards to your visit, your daughter chose to have the 9.50 euro Set Menu and opted not to have a starter, the Spicy Chicken seasoning has cumin in it. Which is a common ingredient in Curry powder. Your Husband had the Stroganoff off the main menu as was your Spaghetti Bolognese.

We have taken steps to reduce the amount of cumin in the Chicken seasoning and to make sure that the meat to sauce ratio in the Spaghetti is more balanced.

Thank you once again

Regards

John & Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Busy but brilliant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Very busy... quick service... good choices on set menu for Euro10.50...really tasty food Staff were attentive, presentation was good, clean and airy. Eat in or out Book if you want to or call in... I would recommend booking as it gets really busy Well recommended

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleMazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you, for taking the time to write a few words re: your visit to The Plum Tree.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Qawra, Malta.

Regards

John & Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Plum Tree Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing