We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,830)
Filter reviews
1,830 results
Traveller rating
385
645
504
185
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
645
504
185
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool comfort room the bus air con building work plenty of choice cafe bar bars and restaurants half board hotel is in a great location bed and breakfast walk in shower breakfast and dinner large balcony buffet style cold meats choice of food
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 1,830 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

What a bad start! We arrived at noon to be told to come back at 2. OK that's normal and lunch in a nearby and unlovely part of Bugibba. On return rather diffident young ladies announced no room available yet and no idea of when . Scuse me, been on the road 12 hours now and getting somewhat narky. Manager called and customer relations arrived. No we did not ask for high floor just not ground floor. Now customer relations got into gear and although we were still in high dugeon and refused the sound of concrete mixer and cranes, we ended up with a perfectly acceptable side view room. Lovely patient lady she was. But please Santana consider your policy of allowing late check outs even if it means losing those few euros. Check those flight times and balance the needs of both arrivals and departures. Now to the good : Clean comfortable room. I have rarely slept so well in a strange bed. Entertainment inside and outside the hotel never disturbed us. Housekeeping was good with towels replaced. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer storage. No silly minimalist here. Flat screen TV fridge and kettle and cups provided. We a extremist B&B and breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The porridge excellent and coffee machines surprisingly good. The Zazen garden is very pleasant and when neighbouring building is done will be a real asset. The foyer,bars and pools are all smart and well kept. All the staff we met after the poor start were charming helpful and hard working. From a start that left us wanting to go home we ended the week, thinking we just might want to come back to Bugibba and the Santana ....if they'd have us!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lizakee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Lizakee,

Thank you for sharing your experiences about our hotel on TripAdvisor.

First and foremost I would like to apologise again that we only could give out your room a bit later up on your arrival. I am really glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were satisfied with your room, with our restaurant and with the hotel’s facilities. We are also thankful for your kind words regarding our staff.

I hope that you will think of Hotel Santana when you will plan your next visit on the Island of Malta and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Vera Zelles
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Staff were lovely but that’s about as far as it went
The rooms even though refurbished paintwork round doors not good beds hard and sheets and pillows had seen better days old
Pillows not a good look almost thin sheets two single beds pushed together
Bathroom ok but room was serviced every day but even though our towels were wet and left on floor for new ones to be issued as they should have been every day they were folded up and left one day even had no bath mat left
Had some sandwiches in the bar and was given a side salad that was brown and one piece had a bug in it very off putting sandwich was ok though
Staff in bar were amazing though
Breakfast was good plenty of variety and the porridge was amazing but some of bacon was not all ways cooked well
And the toaster well time to get a new one guys !!!
Certainly not four star

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Sue G,

Thank your for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We regret to note that did not meet your expectations during your stay. I can assure your that your comments will be investigated and discussed further with our management team in the view of improving our services.

Besides we appreciate your kind comments about the members of our staff.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again at Hotel Santana in the near future.

Kind regards,
Vera Zelles
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

We have stayed at the Santana many times, and we thought we knew what to expect.

The hotel's location is excellent, the staff friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfasts and dinners are good ( any hotel that you can have seven course dinners ( soup, salad, pasta, fish, main, dessert and cheese and biscuits ) has to be a plus

We stayed in a room with a walk in shower , but one that hadn't been upgraded yet - good but not yet excellent.

Our stay was slightly spoiled by other guests, notably the international table tennis players from all over the world. Some were well behaved, but others were rowdy and up all hours. The main problem was the young people and their leaders, but it does show that the hotel is not geared up for parties, or less charitably, cannot cope with parties.

Despite that we had a great stay - the hotel continues to develop and improve. I'm not sure that the "All inclusive" option is a good idea - guests expecting to be served first at the bar etc, but that's again down to them. Perhaps additional staff could help ?

I'm sure that we will be back !

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AlisdairGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear AlisdairGB,

We would like to thank you for your kind review about our hotel on TripAdvisor.

It is glad to note that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, our buffet menu and also your room. Your feedback means a lot to us, as we are working continuously to please our guests and to provide them the best possible service and hospitality.

We apologise for any inconvenience you encountered regarding other guests at the hotel. It is highly recommended to contact us immediately when any disturbance is noticed so that our Duty Manager can take immediate actions.

Whilst we thank you again for your review we also hope to have the pleasure to welcome you at Hotel Santana in the near future.

Kind regards,
Vera Zelles
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

The hotel was nice, friendly staff, clean room. We came earlier and received the room at 12 pm.
Food was ok, personally I was lacking the variety of fresh vegetables. There were only salad leaves and tomatoes.
The impression of the whole stay was spoiled at the end of our stay.
We ordered airport transfers. Upon arrival the driver was late for 10 minutes.
The departure was a true disaster. The day before our departure I asked at the reception to order the transfer for certain time, she told me to call to the reception half an hour in advance in the morning in order to confirm the transfer. That's what I did, but the guy at the reception didn't know anything neither about the transfer no the company responsible for that. He told me to come down to the reception with the confirmation letter from the hotel. I was about to leave the room when he called and informed us that the driver was there waiting for us. I told him that we'll be down in 10 minutes, however the driver couldn't wait for us since he had other passangers in the van. It turned out that the transfer was ordered for us in advance at certain hour, however we received completely different information from the reception representative the day before.
Finally the other van came to pick us up 20 minutes later than we've planned and asked for.
The morning was very stressful and the issue has spoiled a bit the whole trip experience.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Yelena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Yelena F,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor.

First and foremost we would like to apologise for any misunderstanding happened with our front desk staff. Your comments will be passed onto the Front Desk Manager who will investigate them in the view of improving our services.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you at Hotel Santana in the near future.

Kind regards,
Vera Zelles
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

A well run, helpful friendly staff. Especially impressed with our sculptured towels made by our cleaner Rahmonna and excellent food served by efficient waiters like Lucca. The chefs produce exquisite food and should be proud of their contribution. So worth going all inclusive. Prepare to put on weight!!!!!!
The pools and Jacuzzi were well cared for and the massage was truly invigorating.
So happy with ALL aspects of this hotel.
Although this hotel is not right on the sea front, it is close to the bus terminus which gives you freedom to take a bus to practically anywhere on the island. Worth getting an unlimited weeks ticket. Thank you for a wonderful stay Santana, WE HOPE TO RETURN.........

Room Tip: Roomy self catering studio type appartments
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Dear Trudi T,

We are grateful for your wonderful review and maximum rate your gave us on TripAdvisor.

Comment like yours always encourage us to keep giving the best possible service and hospitality to our guests.

Please accept our thanks for your great comments about our staff, especially Luca and Rahmonna. We will surely pass your comments to them.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel Santana again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Vera Zelles
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews