We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a room away from the lifts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 25 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 517 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at the Gillieru for 9 nights in early April. As a frequent visitor to Malta over many years, I am aware of the differences in their interpretation of a 4 star hotel, so there were no real surprises with this hotel. In a nutshell, it is an excellent hotel. The reception staff are fantastic, particularly the female member of the team, who was welcoming, helpful and was always smiling. The breakfast staff were all excellent and very attentive. The public areas are a little dated but comfortable and not at all tatty, with free WiFi.

My room was very nice. I was travelling alone this time and had a lovely seaview room with a balcony – it was well worth a nominal upgrade fee. I had the sun on the balcony from 230pm and could watch the sun go down. The sound of the water lapping at the harbour wall outside was wonderful to fall asleep and wake up to. The bed was comfy and the bathroom adequate – clean and with toiletries provided. Shower was powerful although I did have to squat to get my head under. The television had a few channels including SkyNews and a great Arabic movie channel in English so there was always something to watch in the evenings. The fridge was a great bonus and I stocked it up with water/fizzys so I was always able to have a cold drink. Yes, I missed having tea making facilities, but it was warm so it wasn't a huge problem. You could always take a travel kettle if travelling in winter. The aircon/heating was operational, although I slept with the balcony door open as there was a lovely sea breeze.

Breakfast was good. There were always 2 hot food options, including eggs, each day. Lots of yummy Maltese Hobz (bread), rolls, cheeses, ham, cereal, juices, fresh fruit and toast/jams. Tea and coffee was topped up as long as you wanted it. I did not go half board but I did eat in the attached Gilleru fish restaurant one evening and it was good, but not great. I think it is probably better in a higher season. Good local restaurants were Da Rosi, and Damiano's, both very close by.

The hotel is in a lovely quiet harbour locale, but with a short 10 minute walk into the bustling town of Bugibba with its restaurants and shops. The view of the islands in St Paul’s Bay is really breathtaking. This view is also a feature when sat in the breakfast room and the lovely pool deck area. In my view it is in an ideal place.

The only thing that slightly tainted my experience of this hotel was the housekeeping. It was inconsistent. Some days my towels were replaced, some days they weren’t. My bedding was not always made (just the cover slung over), and the sheets and pillowcases were not changed in 9 nights – something I really felt was unacceptable for any hotel, let alone a 4 star. I would not have minded so much but after using aftersun they do get a little messy – and it was so obvious! I tried leaving a tip but no better. On the 7th night I moved into the other bed (it was a twin room) and took the spare clean pillowcases from the wardrobe. Other guests did not have the same issue so I think it must be the luck of the draw with the maid. This is the main reason for the 4 rather than 5 rating.

All in all, I would definitely go back to this hotel – it really was extremely friendly and very comfortable. I travelled with Chevron and would recommend their outstanding service.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Debs_A_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The last time I reviewed this hotel was in 2007. The I rated it an excellent base from which to explore Malta. Since then my ideas have not changed at all. The accommodation is certainly of a very high standard (not international 4 star, but what do you really expect?) - very clean and comfortable. Excellent food (paying the extra for half board is worthwhile, as evening meals are excellent and it saves the walk each day to find a different place to eat), and the staff are really wonderful - nothing is too much trouble for them. I can only reiterate that the big plus for us is the position of the hotel. It allows easy access to the rest of the island, by either bus or car, but is so placed that it is away from the noise and bustle of many of the more "popular" areas. With plenty of street parking, and easy access to the shops etc in St Paul's and Bugibba you should really want for nothing. In recent years the addition of free wifi in the reception area is a great boon if you need to keep on top of things at home.

Suffice it to say when we have been there the majority of guests, like us, have been there before - the fact that the majority are so happy to regularly return is surely the best recommendation any hotel can have.

Room Tip: Its worth paying the extra for a sea view room, the views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

As a regular traveller to Malta, I always think that the stars allocated to Malta hotels are often in reality not worthy (by at least one star) of their allocation, but in this case, it is about right.

We have stayed at the Fortina, Pergola, Seabank, Luna and in Villa's and by far is this the friendlist most accomodating hotel we've stayed at in Malta. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff - we needed to move the beds around upon arrival - this was sorted out in minutes ... you could not ask for more.

We stayed for a week in April over Easter on a half board basis. The room was a little tired, however, it had great views and was pleny big enough my husband, me and our 3 year old. The room was clean, sheets and towels were changed daily. The shower in the bathroom was over the bath, however, you couldnt wash your hair in it, without kneeling down - as it is quite low down on the wall ... but to be honest, it was not a problem.

A lot has been made of the breakfast on Trip Advisor. There was plenty of food availble for breakfast ... at least two hot items daily (bacon & eggs, Sausge & Hash Browns etc ... ), toast, cereals, fruit, cold meats, cheeses, ranges of different rolls and breads. Three different juices and tea and coffee a plenty - what is there not to like?

In terms of the evening meal, there was always a choice of 3 starters (pasta, soup and salads), a choice of 3 main courses (norally 2 meats and a fish), vegtables and potatoes. The chocie of desserts was also lovely. There was one night where our three year old wanted an omlette and without any problem - a cheese omlette was made - and it was beautiful - nothing was ever too much trouble.

Trying to get a three year old to sit for an hour at dinner can be tricky, however, even in his most restless moments, the staff were more than accomodating and helpful. Our little boy was made to feel very special by the staff and the guests.

Mary Rose (reception), Raymond and Charlie (dining room) were all stand out staff, that would encourage me to return to this hotel again when we return to Malta next year!

Room Tip: We had a sea view at the end of a corridor which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Breezy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were there the first week of April 2012. The hotel was comfortable but a bit tired looking in some areas. The service was first class, all the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food in the restaurant was excellent with plenty of variety. When booking it is well worth paying the little extra for a room with a sea view as there is a lovely view over the harbour.

There are not a lot of bars and restaurants around the hotel but it is only a ten minute leisurely stroll along the sea front for lots of places to eat, drink and shop. You can book round the Island tours from reception and the tour bus picks up and drops you off at the front door of the hotel.

A lot of the guests were returning visitors which says a lot about this hotel. I can understand why as it is good value for money if you want a quiet relaxing break.

Room Tip: Request a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HobbitLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Paul's Bay hotels
0.6 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,690 reviews
1.2 km away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,984 reviews
1.9 km away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,591 reviews
1.7 km away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,874 reviews
2.2 km away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillieru Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Address: Church Square, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3256, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: ₹ 2,675 - ₹ 8,599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gillieru Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The local traditional characteristics reflected in the design of this small, but prestigious hotel, located at the waters edge overlooking the old fishing harbour and flanked to one side by an ancient chapel, only complement this quaint and idyllic setting. Yet just a minute walk away are a number of shops, restaurants, bars and other tourist activities all along the promenade. ​ An early riser can watch the colourful fishing boats unload their catch from the comfort of one’s room. The hotel has breathtaking views of St. Paul’s Islands where St. Paul was shipwrecked. All rooms have a bathroom en suite, balcony, air-conditioning, direct dialing facilities, satellite Television, mini bar, hair dryer and room safety deposits. ​ The Gillieru Harbour Hotel has ample public areas to guarantee the excellent and personalized service synonymous with the Cremona family which has run it’s catering services for over four generations. Early booking is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Gillieru Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gillieru Harbour
Gillieru Harbour St Pauls Bay
Gillieru Harbour Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing