We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best Season in 10 Years

The best season in 10 years, local guide said so. This was the best powder we have ever had. We... read more

Reviewed 12 June 2018
Culture214259
,
Los Angeles, California
via mobile
Every piste is a pleasure

Most slopes are long and varied. The only thing I'd improve is the forced walk in Staffal, but the... read more

Reviewed 14 April 2018
imdfl
,
Tel Aviv
Read all 452 reviews
  
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
238
141
47
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
141
47
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off piste aosta valley hidden gem fresh snow val d'aosta snow making great slopes friendly staff bus service other places private resort ski runs lift champoluc beginners monterosa
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018

This is a terrific ski area for good skiers/boarder and those looking for off piste without the hiking and skinning. Went Jan 2018 for a week, there had been loads of snow and the weather was sunny and fairly calm so we didn't get any lift closures whiich can be a problem here. Journey up from Turin airport is ok, ca 95-100 minutes, Aosta valley is much fiercer than I imagined amd imp[ressive looking travelling up.
Lift system is a bit dated, several old style double chairs that aren't detachable so slow, there is a bit of travelling to do to join the 3 valleys up but with skiing in between lifts. The linking of lifts to return to Champoluc is a little odd but you get the hang of it. Lots of long reds, a few blacks, little blues.
Off piste looked pretty limitless and not tracked out like somne more popular areas.
Bus service isn't great but does work round Champoluc. Apres ski is quiet but means pistes are also quiet, quietest pistes I've seen in 35+ years skiing.
Plenty piste skiing for a week, more if off piste is your thing. Prices for food and srinks on the mountain were good, pretty reasonable.
Would I return? - yes, absolutely.

1  Thank supermac2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

This area is much bigger than it appears on the piste map and it is fun to visit each of the valleys
A day at Pila included in the lift pass definitely recommended

Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

This may not be one of the big names in ski venues but it offers a wide selection of long runs with great reds and blacks. It does need some thought to improve the joining up of some runs and get levels right to cut back the polling or walking in places. That being said I had some of the best skiing I have experienced in recent years, combined with wonderful alpine mountain views!

Thank melvin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We (family of 4) spent 5 days here over the New Year period. This was our first time to Gressoney and we were excited to try a new ski area as we ski alot in the Dolomites, Cerviinia and other places in Val D'Aosta. We will not be back to Gressoney. Not once were we able to access all pistes, because of wind, yet we still had to pay 48 euros full price per day for an adult. Infrastructure (lifts, parking, public transport, and bar/ristorante service) is way below standard. At just about every ski slope, once getting off the skilift, one must walk, with pretty long stretches of flat or uphill space beofre pistes start. Who designed they pistes? Adding further to our disappointment, at Stafal, there is clearly not enough parking and everyone parks wherever they can find a space alongside the road, up to 1-2 kms. away. We did the same and one day received a parking ticket. Amazing...the Comune does not provide parking infrastructure, then preys on tourists simply trying to go skiiing after paying a hefty amount for poor piste access. No thanks, ever again. We just don;t see why anyone would come here with so many better places to ski and with better service in other ski resorts.

3  Thank kpolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Tasty and good value dining on mountainside. English spoken in most bars.
Lovely runs for intermediate skiers. Good snow making facilities when weather hasn’t produced enough snow.

Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews