We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Blissful place with fantastic hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siena House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torrita di Siena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Siena House
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Blissful place with fantastic hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Wow - what a gorgeous place to stay! The feel of a luxe boutique hotel, in a stunning location, with the personal service of a small B&B makes for the most amazing stay. The house is a no-expense spared designer barn conversion with every little luxury provided. The views across the Tuscan countryside are just breathtaking (and that's before you spot a deer, black squirrel or hare hopping across the fields). But what really makes it so good is that Malvin and Amanda are such lovely hosts. They say they're 'accidental hoteliers' (they're an English couple who originally built this as a holiday home) but clearly they are made for it! From the moment we arrived and were welcomed with (too many!) glasses of prosecco to the morning we left with a little package of leftover still-warm home-baked chocolate brownies, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts in particular were amazing. We thought home-baked muffins for pre-breakfast-in-bed were a big enough treat, but then breakfast itself involves home-baked bread, fresh ricotta from the local farm, local honey, homemade yogurt, freshly squeezed juice, and endless espressos. Heaven. Italians don't really 'do' breakfast, but Malvin does - and then some!! Make sure you take his advice about local trips, sights and restaurants too - we loved all his suggestions, in fact the local restaurant he recommended (il Fornacino) was the most memorable meal of our whole trip. All up, we had an absolutely blissful couple of days here, the only downside being that it just wasn't long enough! Already thinking of how and when we can return!! Thanks again Malvin and Amanda, and don't change a thing!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
200
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

I hesitate to write because I don't want to share this little slice of heaven, but know I have to because Amanda and Malvin deserve the praise. My husband and I stayed at the Siena house for two nights in September. We wanted to stay longer, but the place was already full by the time we went to book. Here we are happy to say we will take what we can get! Our stay was simply amazing. The Siena house has four beautiful rooms to chose from (We had the Perugia with stunning views and an open-concept bathroom to die for), but no matter your pick you will feel relaxed, comfortable and just plain lucky to be there. The whole place is gorgeously appointed and amazingly welcoming. From the moment we walked in we knew we had chosen the right spot. The epitome of hospitality, Malvin and Amanda greeted us with a glass (or two) of sparkling wine while showing us the property and our room. By the time we unpacked and freshened up Malvin had set us up outside with another bottle and some deck chairs facing the sunset. Bliss. We got to chatting and mentioned to Malvin that we were in search of good food. Well, that's all we needed to say! Our hosts were happy to share all of their local knowledge and favourite spots. They were genuinely excited for us to enjoy their local gems - and boy did we! They handed us a prepared list of their local restaurants, wineries, and attractions and then talked us through what was best for us. Then they loaned us a pre-programmed GPS and bid us adieu as we went off to explore. Amazing.

Amanda and Malvin have mastered the art of personalized hospitality. The Siena house is nothing short of breath-taking. The grounds are meticulously kept and perfectly situated so that there is not one vantage point that enjoys anything less than a spectacular view. The location could not be better - a quiet, peaceful spot only 10 minutes drive from local town and less than 40 minutes from Sienna or Montepulciano.

Perhaps one of the best things about a stay in the Siena House is Malvin's magnificent breakfast. Every morning Malvin prepares a breakfast feast for you to enjoy wherever you please. Fresh fruit, ricotta cheese, homemade bread, jam, a perfectly brewed cup of coffee (or tea, or cappuccino, or.....) and a special dish to start your day off just right. That was one of the best brownies I've ever eaten. Seriously. Delicious. Any day started with Malvin's breakfast is bound to be fantastic.

I could go on and on with Praise for the Siena House and its gracious hosts, but really just want to say a big Thank You to Amanda and Malvin for making our stay there so special. A definite highlight in our extended vacation - a truly memorable experience. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rozeecheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Having just arrived home to Australia after being overseas for 12 weeks. We just want to say THANK YOU to Malvin and Amanda for being the ultimate hosts and such lovely people for making us feel so welcome in their beautiful home.

There isn't a word sufficient to express our appreciation for the enjoyable time we spent at Siena House and it truly was a memorable experience.

The hospitality shown has left embedded in our minds such fantastic memories, which will be there to stay for years to come. Things like – the roaring fire, superb breakfasts with fresh fruits and Malvins freshly baked muffins and home made jams, the informal chats and a willingness to assist with tour suggestions and the use of a Tom-tom, inbuilt with local villages and restaurant locations.

Not only have we given ‘Siena House’ a 110% but equally, we’ve voted it 'NUMBER 1' for the best accommodation throughout our entire 12 weeks overseas touring the UK, France and Italy and believe me, we have stayed in some top 4 & 5 star places – But, Siena House is “Simply the Best” a "Shangri-La" in Tuscany.

The Montepulciano room with its king size bed, spectacular views over the valley, its spacious bathroom and adjoining separate lounge area was just the best. Then again all the rooms are spacious with spectacular views and did I mention the beautiful lush green lawns and surrounding gardens and pool, it’s all just superb! – It’s a B&B where you can just relax outside on a chair with a nice glass of red wine and take in the surrounding countryside or go and visit one of the local medieval towns – the choice is yours.

We would highly recommence this B&B, not only to Australians travelling to Tuscany, but anyone wanting a B&B that is truly exceptional and ‘one out of the box’ for comfort, relaxation, beauty and with great hosts as a bonus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Siena House for four nights at the end of 2 1/2 weeks in Italy. We weren't sure what to expect but booked based on the reviews on this website. Everything exceeded our expectations! Malvin and Amanda welcomed us into their home with warmth and generosity. The place is exceptional. If you are looking for a rustic Tuscan setting with modern funky interiors, this is the place for you! We were blown away by the calm, restful surroundings and the attention to detail.

We stayed in the Montepulciano room for two nights, then moved to the Siena room. Both rooms were amazing. Sitting in the gorgeous bathtub, looking out the windows to the surrounding hills, was such a treat. The bath products were top notch, and this was the first place I've ever stayed in that provided bubble bath! Such a treat! Comfortable beds with exceptional linens and Amanda's gorgeous artwork on every wall. The common living room for guests was great and well furnished with books and magazines.

Malvin cooks an amazing breakfast every morning, which was served on the lawn. Fresh fruit, homemade bread, home baked brownies....so good! Such a nice change from 'traditional' Italian breakfasts of packaged pastries and tiny coffees. They were very helpful in planning our day trips, right down to providing us with a GPS and coordinates to all the places we might want to go, from restaurants to shopping to all the hill towns.

We loved the outdoor kitchen that is provided for guests, if you want to cook a meal everything is there for you, plus a fridge stocked with wine and beer at no extra cost. We loved our afternoon ritual of beer and snacks sitting by the pool.

We truly felt like we were staying with friends. Impromptu wine tastings, Prosecco shared together in the early evenings, and privacy when you want it....everything contributed to a perfect stay.

Thanks, Malvin and Amanda, for working so hard to make our stay with you so special. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank welshgirlbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Oh, what to say that hasnt already been said about Siena House and its magnificent hosts Malvin and Amanda?!
It truly is the most wonderful b&b we have ever had the pleasure of staying in and we ended up adding an extra day to our stay as we simply could not leave.
Malvin and Amanda have really thought of everything from the glorious rooms (we stayed in "Cortona" which was sublime), to the fabulous lounge/breakout area, to the insane breakfasts.
The beauty of Siena House that its also a place for all seasons as there's the gorgeous pool an outdoor areas in the summer or lounging by the fire in the cooler months.
Malvin's cheat sheet of where to go/eat and park was brilliant and with his help we had some of our best moments in the area.

If you're even contemplating staying here, book now! There's only 4 rooms so get in quick.

Room Tip: Ask for Cortona - its spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leeblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrita di Siena
0.7 km away
Locanda dell'Amorosa
Locanda dell'Amorosa
#1 of 5 in Sinalunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
36.3 km away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
36.9 km away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hotel Rotelle
Hotel Rotelle
#1 of 2 in Torrita di Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
12.3 km away
Villa Fontelunga
Villa Fontelunga
#1 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
8.4 km away
Lupaia
Lupaia
#1 of 13 in Torrita di Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena House

Property: Siena House
Address: Localita Pietra Bianca 140 | Podere San Carlo, 53049, Torrita di Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Torrita di Siena
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,695 - ₹ 21,414
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely old Tuscany on the outside, easy modern living within. Playful, functional and comfortable. Imagine the dream home that Holly Golightly and Peter Rabbit might share... and you've got the feel of the place ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siena House Hotel Torrita Di Siena
Siena House Province Of Siena/Torrita Di Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing