We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$ 251
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$ 238
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/10/21
Priceline
US$ 237
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/09/21
Hotels.comUS$ 238
Hyatt.comUS$ 238
eDreamsUS$ 251
View all 22 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,361)
Filter reviews
1,361 results
Traveller rating
872
235
148
61
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
872
235
148
61
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar art gallery white noise machine boutique hotel department store cool hotel high ceilings broad street rooms are spacious valet parking valet service quirks pine pink lobby repurposed artsy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,361 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The difference between a “fine” hotel and a great hotel usually comes down to service. The hotel os beautiful, well designed and has all the elements of a solid 4 star hotel, but where it fails is service and service recovery. We’re here until tomorrow and overall are enjoying it but would not return and likely would not recommend.

I’ll start with the good - the design is very feminine and thoroughly done. It’s elegant and makes the property very unique. Room 405 is significantly nicer than our first room, 210 thanks to the size and high ceilings. They have nice bath products and while they don’t have any bath amenities like dental kits or cotton swabs, they have the basics.

The location is central, lots of shops and restaurants on the block. They have self parking for $12 a day which is a bit silly when you have to do all the work yourself and park in an open lot.

Here are some things to keep in mind:
- they do not acknowledge Hyatt loyalty and there is no upgrades, water or benefits as explorist.
- service is not upscale and lacks refinement at check in (no eye contact, no “how was your trip”
- if you need something, prepare to do it yourself

At check in we verified our request for a quiet room on a high floor and the (somewhat rude) agent told us the room was had was all they had. We said ok and went to the second floor.

The courtyard outside the room was adorable…until the party started. When we returned from our event at 10:30, it was unbelievably loud. How they put anyone in that room, I have no idea. We called down and magically a room was suddenly available on the 4th floor away from the courtyard…

The agent came up with the keys, no cart, no help and we lugged our stuff to the new room at 11pm. Since there there was been service recovery or apology.

In general, I would say it’s a fine hotel for a free night but if your paying upwards of 300+ dollars, it’s a miss.

Room tip: Avoid courtyard rooms, exterior facing rooms are nice
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank voyagerguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan Edwards, Owner at Quirk Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us valuable insight we can use to improve everything we have to offer. I apologize for lack of service you felt during your stay. Our goal is to always try to have our guests leave eager to comeback and I am sorry to hear we did not meet that goal with your stay. I will reach out to you via the email on file as well. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2021

Quirk Hotel is not only beautifully decorated - seriously, the lobby is absolutely stunning - but the service and the quality of all they have to offer, from the drinks/food, to the on-site art gallery/gift shop! Every staff member I encountered was extremely helpful and friendly. I would 100% stay here again!!

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Missy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan Edwards, Owner at Quirk Hotel Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving such a great review. Our goal is to make sure our guests leave the hotel eager to return and I am so glad that is the case with your stay. We look forward to hosting your next visit! Stay safe and take care.
Thank you,
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2021

i am working on a book and wanted to hunker down away from home. it was the perfect place. good food, friendly people and a room that was light and good to work in as well as lots of common spaces that had just the right balance between privacy and open space.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank julieP6285QJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

The Quirk Hotel was a great experience. It doesn’t feel like your normal hotel. The atmosphere is unique, the staff are friendly and professional and the rooms are clean. The location is also a plus. We have made it a point to stay there when traveling through Richmond.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank philsimps0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2021

Hotel was clean and staff super friendly and helpful. Rooms themself were over priced for the location. If you can find another hotel that is cheaper in the area go there. No pool, expensive bar drinks and food, over priced bad coffee downstairs. Overall it was just not worth the price. Really poor value.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank dselima08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews