We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RVA Favorite ”
Review of Ardent Craft Ales

Ardent Craft Ales
Ranked #3 of 31 Nightlife in Richmond
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ardent Craft Ales began as a co-op in a Richmond garage, a space where we sought to create innovative beers and introduce others to historic brewing methods and beer styles. As a production brewery, our mission remains the same: to produce and celebrate exceptional and ambitious beers with the ever-growing craft beer community.
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Of all the craft breweries in the Richmond area this is one of my favorites by far. Consistently creative brews are created here.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank MarkG-Goochland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Public Relations Manager at Ardent Craft Ales, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

We appreciate hearing that! Cheers, Mark!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"scott's addition"
in 7 reviews
"food truck"
in 7 reviews
"honey ginger"
in 3 reviews
"sweet potato"
in 3 reviews
"tacos"
in 2 reviews
"rainy day"
in 2 reviews
"richmond area"
in 2 reviews
"ipa"
in 5 reviews
"maison"
in 5 reviews
"brewery"
in 11 reviews
"breweries"
in 5 reviews
"rva"
in 7 reviews
"kolsch"
in 2 reviews
"gose"
in 2 reviews
"stops"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Ardent is a cool place to grab a flight or some glasses and just hang out with friends. We initially came right around noon on a Saturday and the line was out the door! We came back about an hour later and was able to walk in, though there were only a few stools available for seating.

Since it was our first time there, we tried a flight: the Commonwealth Pilsner, Berliner Weiss, Honey Ginger, and the Barrel-Aged Honey Ginger.
The Commonwealth was very smooth and easy-drinking; a good everyday beer. The honey ginger had pronounced notes of both honey and ginger, but I thought the ginger dominated a bit. The barrel-aged honey ginger was awesome IF you like bourbon (since it's aged in bourbon barrels); it's a great beer to sip on on a winter's day. Lastly, my favorite, the Berliner Weiss. The BW is definitely not for everyone; it is distinctly sour and it took me a few sips to warm up to it. But the BW is so unique, clean, and refreshing--I'm still thinking about it two weeks later!!

RVA has numerous craft breweries to try. I'd put Ardent on your list of stops.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

Super nice, helpful staff. Love it when bartenders actually talk to you about the beer and know about all of them.
Love the atmosphere and the beer is great too.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Ardent had a variety of beers available, from specialty ones like Gose, Sweet Potato Sage saison and a German Altbeir as well as several IPAs. All were really good (says my beer loving boyfriend) and it was a fun place to hang out on a Sunday afternoon.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank StacyInDC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Our goal is to visit every craft brewery in Richmond, which we visit every few months. Scott's Addition is the place to be, apparently, and Ardent is one of the most established breweries in the area. The weather was perfect, and the beer garden was full of happy people, including us. Very roomy. Ardent offers a variety of choices, from the more trendy gose and saison to more traditional porter and kolsch. I would suggest a flight, so you can try a bit of several brews. My favorite was the honey ginger. The staff worked efficiently, both behind the counter and in cleaning tables. Yes, we will visit again, especially since the seasonal beers are intriguing.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ardent Craft Ales also viewed

 

Been to Ardent Craft Ales? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing