We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean Friendly Great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
184 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Clean Friendly Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We had an excellent experience at this hotel. The sign on the road is not very large so you might miss it. Beautiful gardens with hydrangeas up front. Homy feeling with a fireplace ,games to borrow, and home made baked cookies when you walk in. Very clean with comfortable beds and pillows. The business center was great with fast internet and free printing. We had breakfast at the conference hall and ate at the hotel once. Breakfast was eh. Can't go wrong with the waffles but the eggs not so great. My only complaint is the space under the door is huge so we heard the opening of doors loud and clear. Plenty of parking up front and near many restaurants. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: do not choose a room near the side doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idreamov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear idremov,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. Thank you for telling us about your concerns about the breakfast. We are always trying to find new ways to make the breakfast service better. Thank you for your comments on that. We are so glad that you stayed with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    137
    63
    20
    21
See reviews for
215
107
28
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We normally seek out County Inn and Suites when traveling. We were disappointed in this particular hotel. The room itself was typical ... spacious, clean, comfortable bed. The first morning we went downstairs to get coffee and were locked out of our room. The clerk at the front desk reprogrammed our keys twice to no avail. She even tried the master key which did not work. So we had to wait for maintenance. Needless to say, we had rushed out of our room and were anxious to get back in so we waited, we thought obviously, downstairs near the check-in counter. After 20 minutes, we asked the desk clerk if our room was open and she said "oh, yes". But, oh no, it wasn't. So we waited for maintenance again. After 15 minutes, we asked the desk clerk if our room was open and she said "oh, yes". But, oh no, it wasn't . Luckily, we ran into the maintenance man and didn't let him go until we were in our room. Obviously, this isn't customer service at it's best. The breakfast fare offered was mediocre at best ... fried chicken patties for breakfast? Only 2% milk? We've had much better at other Country Inn and Suites. One day I went to the fitness room and the temperature was 80. I asked the gentleman at the front desk if he could have that adjusted. He said "I'll have someone look into it". Again, customer service?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headwindtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Headwindtom,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us . We have tried to reach out to you with a direct message so we could get more information about your stay,but were unsuccessful with that. We would like to apologize for your visit. We are sorry about the room keys not working for you, and the breakfast not being good for you. We are sorry for any inconvenience that any of this has caused you. We appreciate all guest feedback. It is very important to have guest feedback good and bad. It helps us make the necessary changes to make our hotel better. Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

The free breakfast buffet was inedible (the "food" tasted like it was made out of stale plastic, except for the fruit, and stale, overly-sweet pastries), and a staff person admitted that everything was trucked in from elsewhere, not prepared at the hotel. When I wrote of the poor quality of the food in the survey sent to me, the manager responded that they would address my "concern" of the "presentation and variety", which had not been my complaint, and this tells me the manager is not interested in negative feedback and so the quality will not improve. I'd have been happy to pay for a breakfast of food prepared there, not trucked in from goodness-knows-where and when. But if you don't care about fresh breakfasts made from fresh food (and it seems from the reviews that most of the guests at this hotel do not), then this place is fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boswash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I was in town for 3 nights, and this was a VERY pleasant experience. The room was very clean, with everything in working order. From the front desk staff to housekeeping, everyone was very polite and personable, greeting me with a smile. The breakfast was very good and extensive for a complementary meal. There were always fresh baked cookies available at the front desk, the business center had fast computers with free printing, and there was free wifi everywhere. The best thing for me was that the fitness facility, while simple had all working machines, a good TV, and there were always fresh towels. All in all, it was a very nice hotel at a good price and I absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler26Traveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear traveler26Traveler26,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments.. We are glad that you enjoyed our many amenities. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed at the Country Inn and Suites for a local event. This property was close to our tour destination but also had been recommended to us by someone who had stayed there previously. We found it clean, very comfortable and quiet (a real plus for us). All the staff were friendly and professional. We'd recommend the location and will stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CVPierson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear CVPierson,

Thank you for telling us about your stay here with your family. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We hope that if you visit the area again that you will stay with us.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
14.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
4.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
9.9 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
20.0 km away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
4.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Short Pump/I-64
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Address: 8010 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23294-4218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#12 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#14 Family Hotel in Richmond
#14 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,662 - ₹ 8,897
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off of I-64 and just minutes from historic downtown Richmond, the Country Inn & Suites Hotel Richmond, VA offers guests comfortable accommodations and signature Southern hospitality. Our Richmond lodging features all of the services and amenities that guests expect from a quality hotel, including a Business Center, Fitness Center, wired and wireless Internet access and an indoor heated pool and spa. For added convenience, our hotel near the University of Richmond is just minutes from several local attractions. Our top-notch services and prime location make the Country Inn & Suites the perfect hotel for your trip to Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Richmond West At i-64
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West At i-64 Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing