We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

One of the nicest Hiltons I've stayed at in a while. Huge rooms on the executive floor, huge TV, good room service, nice ambiance, great location and very friendly and efficient staff. Yes! Highly recommend

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sergei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Sergei;

Thank you for your visit and feedback. We appreciate you having a nice surprise with our hotel and team. We hope to see you back again soon. Sincerely, John and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Wife and I stayed here while attending the Richmond Jazz Festival, the hotel is downtown and very close to everything, with plenty of restaurants near by. The staff was very friendly and even text me when we didn't arrive at our check in time. The valet staff was quick to assist, although $25 to park your car is a bit extreme. Our room was very clean with plenty of space. Our only problem with the room was that the bathroom door wouldn't stay open, it was a very heavy door and would close very fast. The restaurant was opened very late, which was great and although a bit slow the food and drink was very nice. Great hotel, will stay again when visiting the festival next year.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeffery G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Jeff; Glad to hear you stayed with us for the recent Richmond Jazz Fest. What a great event (I was able to go Sunday). We do have closers on the bathroom doors to assist with some of the rooms banging with the entry door. We'll investigate however that is closes fast, as it should be gentle. We hope to see you back again soon, or for the next Jazz Fest. Folk Fest in October is awesome too. Sincerely, John and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The rooms are large, with high ceilings and feel like they have have been recently renovated. The common areas are nice and also feel recently renovated. The indoor pool and connected indoor / outdoor plaza (for lack of a better description) are great. The pool is fairly large with a hot tub and there is plenty of pool seating. The indoor/outdoor plaza has lots of seating and a cornhole game. This area is never crowded. The hotel restaurant that serves breakfast is just ok. We ate there one morning and then found alternatives the other mornings (Pops down the street was good). The biggest downsides here are 1) there is no turn down service (unless you request it and then it's a pretty big hassle), and 2) there is little help with luggage - we grabbed our own publicly available cart and brought our own luggage up and when we requested help on the way out, they said it was going to take a really long time to get someone to help so we went down and grabbed the cart again ourselves. Those two downsides definitely made it feel less like an upper end hotel and more like a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RRZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your visit and review. It was nice to hear you enjoyed our pool and atrium area w/ the corn hole game, as well our summer "Chef" garden. I sent a personal note to understand your luggage comments better, as we do have bell staff as well back up support as needed. We hope to see you back again soon and provide a 5-star experience. Sincerely, John and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We've stayed in many Hiltons, and we have to say, this was one of the best! The lobby was spacious, welcoming, comfortable, with a bar tucked in one corner, and a café in another. The room was very upscale both in size and décor. The bed was perfect and the bathroom quite spacious. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

We thank you for your great review and mention of our bedding. We are so glad you enjoyed the bed, the room, the lobby and more. We look forward to seeing you again "in a heartbeat" ! Sincerely, John and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This Hilton is hands down one of the best I've ever stayed at. Hilton did a great job of keeping the original architecture of the building and modernizing it. The rooms are small but very nice, there are multiple restaurant choices, and the staff are very friendly. Highly impressed. Downtown Richmond is kind of dead, but there are several good restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Explorer_from_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Boston Explorer; First, I love Boston and recently enjoyed a marathon weekend in your town !! Second, thanks for your visit to Richmond, and our hotel. You must have caught it on a quiet Monday or other, as typically we are hopping with activity in our food and craft beer scenes, and outdoor activity, and more. We'll be sharing your review with the team, and we hope you come back and try us again ! There are some great Fall events ahead; NASCAR, Folk Fest, Richmond's Marathon, and more.

Sincerely, John and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.4 km away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,094 reviews
0.8 km away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
966 reviews
0.7 km away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#14 of 82 in Richmond
827 reviews
21.3 km away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.7 km away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#17 of 82 in Richmond
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: ₹ 10,906 - ₹ 22,258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing