We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location in Downtown Richmond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Typical Hilton Garden Inn. They only offer valet parking so you will pay an extra $21 but it was very nice to not have to worry about parking and they always were quick to get your car. The hotel offers a shuttle service to places in proximity to the hotel and that was very good. We went to restaurants and back and forth to the hospital without having to get the car.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2vacation14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for your recent visit and feedback. Obviously being a senior contributor to Tripadvisor, you are well-traveled. We'll work on your additional comments via email to hopefully move our future scores up ! Thanks for your stay and comments.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,362 - 1,366 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

I've stayed here many times while traveling on business.

Very professionally run establishment. Clean, bright, quiet, great location and good food.

Would definitely recommend this location to others and will stay there again if my travels take me to Richmond.

A suggestion for the hotel management....
- Some of the rooms are not suited for two beds. The result is no room to move your desk chair.
One King bed rather than two Queens would work better.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneyThruTheLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Journey through the lens;

We sincerely appreciate your visit to Richmond, our hotel, and your feedback. Thank you for the kind feedback about our hotel and staff / service. Being the former historic Miller & Rhoads Department Store affords us many rooms that are various sizes. Being in a market with many sports events, and the need for Doubles (We have aprox. 40% rooms with double beds) makes it difficult to reduce these types of rooms, but we will certainly review your comments relative to more Kings for future room reconfiguration. As a suggestion, if a Hilton Honors guests we can update your profile and personalize your visits and ensure you have one of our larger oversized rooms.

Thanks again,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I've stayed here a few times and each time am pleasantly surprised by the level and quality of service from the employees. The beds are exceptionally comfortable (there's a dial where you can choose the firmness), the rooms are spacious and always clean. But it's the service that will keep me coming back. Without exception, the staff is friendly, helpful, and it seems like everyone will bend over backwards to help. I love coming here. Definitely my favorite place to stay in Richmond.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanish_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Southern Gem;

Thank you for your visits to Richmond and our Hotel - HGI - Richmond, Downtown. We sincerely appreciate your comments relative to our "Bend over backwards service", as the team certainly strives to do just that for all of our guests. It was great to hear you enjoy our Garden Sleep Systems beds as well, and our rooms. We look forward to your next visit and we'll keep bending !

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My family had never had ocassion to stay Downtown Richmond before now and we called a number of hotels to find somthing that would meet our needs. From the call I placed for information until we left for home every aspect of our stay was great.
The staff was " happy " to assist in every way, from giving directions, recomending sites to see, to places to eat they seemed to care that our experience in Richmond was going to be a good one.
We will be back

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimMCallao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Jim;

Thank you for your recent visit to Richmond, the University of Richmond and your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn. I was glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the team assisted in many ways as you mentioned. We are very fortunate to be in a City like Richmond that is home to several Universities; VCU, U of R, and VUU.

We look forward to your return visits.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

On Saturday, March 31, 2012, I had the fortune of receiving top notch quality service from the Food & Beverage Staff.

While attending a business conference, my team of independent business owners decided to have lunch at the American Grill. The Food & Beverage staff was very accomodating, professional and prompt as they served over 80 business owners from across the country.

The best part of my experience was seeing the Food & Beverage Director, Map - lend his hand to support his staff. This showed me that they were willing to workin unity, as a team, to ensure that everyone was served.

Not only did we receive great service but the food was delicious as well. What a great combination. I recommend every to host their business luncheons at the Hilton Garden Inn - Downtown Richmond.

Kudos!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Rob;

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and the American Grill Restaurant. I was glad to hear your group's dining event went well, and pleased to see Map and his team deliver great service for your event. We look forward to future events you may have, and appreciate this feedback.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 km away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,290 reviews
0.4 km away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
0.7 km away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
913 reviews
0.1 km away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#19 of 82 in Richmond
741 reviews
0.5 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: ₹ 10,341 - ₹ 23,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing