We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charm and Friendliness”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charm and Friendliness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I had to book a room here because the conference hotel, the Omni, was sold out. It was right across the street, so it could not have been more convenient.

The lobby smelled a little dank when I entered the front door, but the dining room, bar, and rest of the hotel was not. The staff---every one of them--was unbelievably friendly and accommodating. The first night, I didn't realize everything in the vicinity closed early, with no convenience stores or delis. The hotel had only soda machines available to the guests, but the bell captain took me down to the employee lounge and use the snack machine. My late night working on my presentation was much more productive without the grumbling tummy.

The wifi was free and easy to use. The bed, bath, towels, robe, linens, were all top notch. The bar was friendly with a nice happy hour. I had an awesome dirty gin martini--the only problem was the $15 price tag, but that's the norm in this part of Richmond, it seemed.

If I am ever expected at the Omni again, I will try to book here. Low-key charm and comfort.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. The Berkeley remains downtown Richmond’s only AAA 4 diamond hotel. We strive to train our staff to be engaging and friendly at all times. We receive many compliments on our pillow top beds and oversized guestrooms and thank you for mentioning these features.
Please come back to see us again soon. Denny Pierce, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    223
    63
    36
    32
See reviews for
157
325
47
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Berkeley is on historic Cary street in the Shockoe Slip area of Richmond. We enjoyed dinner and a night stay at the hotel. We were greeted by a welcome Valet with an umbrella in a downpour. Our room had a balcony so we enjoyed the warm evening, a real plus to us! Furniture was nice but the bed was a bit soft for my taste and the mattress was starting to sag. Bathroom was nicely appointed including a magnifying make-up mirror and white robes.
I recommend the crab bisque in the dining room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smubbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
The Berkeley does enjoy one of the best locations in Richmond in the middle of Shockoe Slip, Richmond’s historic district.Our large balconies with king beds are one of our most popular features. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room. It is worth mentioning that we were recently voted One of Central Virginia's Top Boutique hotels by Virginia Magazine readers.
Please come back to visit us soon. Denny Pierce, General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Very "old school" hotel. Very comfy and quiet w/ good beds, nice linens and in-room coffee makers (but no mini-fridge). Book a balcony room overlooking Cary Street. Our king room was huge -- with a sofa and a nice sized balcony. Very quiet, even though it is located on a noisy street. One word of warning: If you think you might want to enjoy an after dinner drink on your balcony, bring it with you! We got one bottle of wine and 2 beers sent up to our room and the charge was $69 and some change (for a bottle that retails for around $15). Still, a fun place for a get away with friends and/or your significant other.

Room Tip: Two words: Balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IkoIkoAllDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Many visitors to Richmond don't realize that we are the only downtown hotel with multiple balcony guestrooms. It is invigorating to get fresh air and enjoy our downtown vistas especially as the spring weather approaches.Regarding our beverage pricing we do remain very competitive with other surrounding hotels in Richmond. Of special noteIs our Happy Hour Monday thru Friday from 3:00 to 7:00 featuring discount drink prices and our Jazz music on Saturday nights.
Thank you for choosing the Berkeley Hotel. Denny Pierce, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Berkley Hotel with my husband while he was on business and I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. The room had a cozy atmosphere with simple decorations, and there is a fantastic view from the balcony. The staff is friendly and the location is great. There are many restaurants to try up and down the street but I would recommend the hotel restaurant, the red snapper was delicious!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colonial c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us at The Berkeley Hotel. We are always pleased to hear that our guests enjoyed their time with us. Being a AAA, 4 Diamond hotel we train our staff to meet very demanding standards. We have recently won two awards.One from Open Table as a Diners Choice Award and another for Best Boutique Hotel in Central Virginia from the readers ofVirginia Magazine. Please come back to see us soon. Denny Pierce, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

While I had heard nice reports on this hotel, the actual experience was very average. I had to circle twice and park on a side street because the parking valet wasn't available and cars were left in the check in area. Check was functional, not really warm. Service was pleasant with an overpriced wine in the bar but at night, the noise came out. Street noise, mechanical building noises and lack of sound deadening between rooms kept me up at night. Lack of change from the desk clerk and average amenities and poor wi-fi make this ppty a no- go on next Richmond trip. The Omni or Hilton should be much better.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelltraveledWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Please accept our apologies for any service issues you may have incurred during your recent stay. We strive to meet our customers in a timely fashion upon arrival but we obviously did not do our best in your case. Noise can at times be a factor in a downtown Richmond location, however a room change is available upon request should this become an issue.
Please contact us directly if there is anything further we can assist you with at 804-225-5148.
Thank you for staying at The Berkeley Hotel. Sincerely Denny Pierce, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 km away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
1.1 km away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
1.4 km away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Property: The Berkeley Hotel
Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,310 - ₹ 15,860
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing