We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Berkeley Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Omni Richmond Hotel(Richmond)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Richmond Marriott(Richmond)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (999)
Filter reviews
999 results
Traveller rating
567
271
81
45
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
567
271
81
45
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshockoe slipsmall hotelcobblestone streetvalet parkingtobacco companylovely hotelvalet servicecanal walkstreet parkingrestaurants and shopslocation is greatshockoe bottomroom was largegreat roomfront desk staffsouthern hospitalitybed was comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
854 - 859 of 999 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Berkeley is on historic Cary street in the Shockoe Slip area of Richmond. We enjoyed dinner and a night stay at the hotel. We were greeted by a welcome Valet with an umbrella in a downpour. Our room had a balcony so we enjoyed the warm evening, a real plus to us! Furniture was nice but the bed was a bit soft for my taste and the mattress was starting to sag. Bathroom was nicely appointed including a magnifying make-up mirror and white robes.
I recommend the crab bisque in the dining room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smubbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

The Berkeley does enjoy one of the best locations in Richmond in the middle of Shockoe Slip, Richmond’s historic district.Our large balconies with king beds are one of our most popular features. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room. It is worth mentioning that we were recently voted One of Central Virginia's Top Boutique hotels by Virginia Magazine readers.
Please come back to visit us soon. Denny Pierce, General manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Very "old school" hotel. Very comfy and quiet w/ good beds, nice linens and in-room coffee makers (but no mini-fridge). Book a balcony room overlooking Cary Street. Our king room was huge -- with a sofa and a nice sized balcony. Very quiet, even though it is located on a noisy street. One word of warning: If you think you might want to enjoy an after dinner drink on your balcony, bring it with you! We got one bottle of wine and 2 beers sent up to our room and the charge was $69 and some change (for a bottle that retails for around $15). Still, a fun place for a get away with friends and/or your significant other.

Room Tip: Two words: Balcony room!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IkoIkoAllDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Many visitors to Richmond don't realize that we are the only downtown hotel with multiple balcony guestrooms. It is invigorating to get fresh air and enjoy our downtown vistas especially as the spring weather approaches.Regarding our beverage pricing we do remain very competitive with other surrounding hotels in Richmond. Of special noteIs our Happy Hour Monday thru Friday from 3:00 to 7:00 featuring discount drink prices and our Jazz music on Saturday nights.
Thank you for choosing the Berkeley Hotel. Denny Pierce, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Berkley Hotel with my husband while he was on business and I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. The room had a cozy atmosphere with simple decorations, and there is a fantastic view from the balcony. The staff is friendly and the location is great. There are many restaurants to try up and down the street but I would recommend the hotel restaurant, the red snapper was delicious!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colonial c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for staying with us at The Berkeley Hotel. We are always pleased to hear that our guests enjoyed their time with us. Being a AAA, 4 Diamond hotel we train our staff to meet very demanding standards. We have recently won two awards.One from Open Table as a Diners Choice Award and another for Best Boutique Hotel in Central Virginia from the readers ofVirginia Magazine. Please come back to see us soon. Denny Pierce, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

While I had heard nice reports on this hotel, the actual experience was very average. I had to circle twice and park on a side street because the parking valet wasn't available and cars were left in the check in area. Check was functional, not really warm. Service was pleasant with an overpriced wine in the bar but at night, the noise came out. Street noise, mechanical building noises and lack of sound deadening between rooms kept me up at night. Lack of change from the desk clerk and average amenities and poor wi-fi make this ppty a no- go on next Richmond trip. The Omni or Hilton should be much better.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelltraveledWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Please accept our apologies for any service issues you may have incurred during your recent stay. We strive to meet our customers in a timely fashion upon arrival but we obviously did not do our best in your case. Noise can at times be a factor in a downtown Richmond location, however a room change is available upon request should this become an issue.
Please contact us directly if there is anything further we can assist you with at 804-225-5148.
Thank you for staying at The Berkeley Hotel. Sincerely Denny Pierce, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The hotel is well located in downtown Richmond, with valet parking and a very friendly check-in and valet staff. The rooms are not as great as the hotel rates would lead you to believe, and with our room (412) there was a constant roar from the road below and the sidewalk crowds till very early in the morning hours. This hotel like many others must think that the more pillows on the bed, the higher the quality, but they just end up on the floor to make room for yourself. And does anybody want floor pillows on your bed? Leave the restaurant alone; dry, tasteless, overcooked food. We had two meals, during our stay, breakfast and dinner, and both were not worth the price, even with the dinner as part of our room package. You would think the wait staff would question whole plates of food, not touched, but they did'nt seem to care or were just used to seeing the bad food and wanted to avoid asking the customer. Lastly, why put bottles of water in your room with stickers saying for your convience, we'll charge your bill $4.00 each. Come on, at your hotel rates, just hand the customer a 89 cent bottle of water at check-in with a smile and say have a great night.

Room Tip: Avoid room 412.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atcretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay with us.
Thank you for mentioning our excellent location in Richmond in the heart of the Historic Shockoe Slip district. I will also share your kind comments about our friendly staff. We take great pride in their efforts. I feel badly about the noise outside your room. The weekend of your stay was St. Patrick’s day and the streets were unusually busy with celebrations. I was disappointed to read of your feedback on our restaurant food and servers. The Dining Room at the Berkeley recently won an Open Table Diners Choice Award and our restaurant was just mentioned in Style Magazine for one of our special entrees. We normally get rave reviews so while disappointing, we will take your comments very seriously and I will review them with our Chef and Food and Beverage Director. Please contact me directly so that we can further review any outstanding issues at 804-225-5148.
Sincerely. Denny Pierce, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews