We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The way hotels should be.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jefferson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The way hotels should be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Enter The Jefferson and all your memories of how hotels once were, are instantly restored. The grandeur of the place, the welcoming staff and the infite spacious feeling it gives you are almost overwhelming. This is the kind of hotel where, before you take the elevator, you walk around first. You must, because there are levels to the stunning architecture that will want your attention. Once you get to any floor, the maze of extremely long hallways may remind you of the movie The Shining. And for those afraid of the dark, the trip to their room is definitely a trip. The standard rooms are generous in space with high ceilings. Everything in this hotel is in good shape but has a classic feel to it. With other words, it hasn't been spoiled by cheap renovations. It simply says quality everywhere. The fitness area is simple but remarkably spacious and there are plenty of weight machines, treadmills, bikes and free weights. There's a spa but I didn't use it and don't know if it's any good. Location wise, The Jefferson sits comfortably inside urban Richmond and I recommend taking a taxi if you don't know the area. Richmond can be very confusing to many who even return and what's more GPS systems actually put you on the wrong road easily here. I hope The Jefferson will never fall into the hands of the wrong hotel chain. That it will stand here to represent Richmond proudly forever.

Room Tip: Any room is good. The views are nothing to write home about, but that's not what it's about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeroenBours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We are proud to be locally owned and operated and appreciate your recognition of the benefits that brings to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    177
    60
    21
    13
See reviews for
242
505
48
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aruba
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Jefferson Hotel is a beautiful testament of Americas rich history. Grandeous and proud and hard to say goodbye to once you have unpacked your bags. From the majestic staircase in the grand lobby to the the fine dining and afternoon tea. This hotel experience is one to remember. It was not inexpensive, the room a little on the small size nor did we have a nice view from our room however the hotel is steeped in history and elegance and everything else somehow becomes less important. We were visiting Virginia to relive some of our history and this was a wonderful way to start our journey. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KukooAruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for choosing The Jefferson to start your trip down memory lane!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at the Jefferson for one night during the week as a treat on our long drive back home. We have a 3 year old, so were looking for a nice hotel with an indoor pool that had an onsite restaurant. I originally booked the reservation through the hotel for $240/ni, but later called AAA and got a $225/ni rate that included breakfast for two and valet.

Since this trip was extremely brief, I'll only include a couple of comments. Firstly, let me say that the staff was all first rate and extremely helpful. I called the bell desk and they were kind enough to retrieve a pair of shoes from our valet parked car and delivered them to our room in less than 5 mins - I mean, that is service!!! The waitstaff at TJs also offered to provide a complimentary breakfast to our 3 year old even though they gave her a complete meal - more than I expected since some expensive hotels like to nickel-and-dime you. We did eat dinner at Lemaire, which was divine (and expensive), but we felt a little out of place with a small child. In summary:

Pros:
Indoor heated pool
Food
First rate staff
Quiet room

Cons:
Beds were horribly uncomfortable
Expensive
More appropriate for older or business crowd

Room Tip: The staff put us on the first floor down the hall from the pool since they knew we would use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nctravelnut99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We apprecaite all of your comments and hope that your 3 year old enjoyed every moment of her stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I snapped up a winter special The Jefferson Hotel was offering, finally taking the opportunity to visit Richmond. (We live just two hours away and in 10 years have yet to visit the city!) I'm really glad we did.

The Jefferson Hotel is not the type of hotel I typically stay in, but the reviews on Trip Advisor, its central proximity to many downton Richmond sites, and frankly, it just felt right to stay in such a place like this on a weekend trip to a southern town. (I mean, when you come to visit the Museum of the Confederacy and the Hollywood Cemetery with 19th century presidents buried there shouldn't you lodge at a place built in the 1890s?) The building is impressive and the Palm Court and Rotunda are just stunning rooms. I don't typically wander around a hotel, but we did find ourselves exploring the space.

I must say, the staff are fantastic. Every person we encountered was friendly and helpful and exuded a warm, southern charm. A new front desk clerk was in training and the trainer and the trainee apologized for the maybe two-minute delay it took for the new clerk to check us in. What did they do? Upgrade our room to a suite! I also was impressed with their transportation service--complimentary rides to any location in a 3-mile radius of the hotel. This allowed us to indulge in some extra drinks at the very lovely Acacia.

The lounge space at Lamaire is a highlight of the hotel. We had a pre-dinner cocktail in the space and I found it blended modern chic with the historic presence of the building, plus it was quiet enough that we could have a conversation.

All is all, The Jefferson was a lovely place to base our weekend exploration of the city of Richmond.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afarmandthirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for recognizing our staff and the uniquely Richmond travel experience that we are so honored to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The Jeff this past weekend for a wedding, which was partially held there. It is a lovely hotel and unquestionably the best option in downtown Richmond. The wedding was held in the beautiful ballroom and the food and drinks were nice. As we were there for two nights and, honestly, not for the sole purpose of enjoying this hotel/ Richmond, I will keep this review simple and hopefully helpful!

The Good: Delicious complimentary coffee in the morning; Striking lobby with lots of fun historical details and tidbits; Staff at front desk (Nicole and two other guys!) and valet areas were very friendly, funny, and knowledgeable; roasted peanuts and bellinis at Lemaire were a delicious surprise; free shuttle service to spots near the hotel is a huge perk...avoiding cab fees to safely get to restaurants and bars is fantastic!

The Okay: Mattresses were hard, not comfy (other guests made the same comment); Common areas were a bit dark, seemed a touch dated (and not because the hotel is historic); Some servers (not all!) at TJs and Lemaire were inexperienced and unknowledgeable about the menus; bartender at Lemaire was overtly rude to my husband/ didn't understand how to easily split a check between two parties; view from room 116 was pretty dismal--first floor industrial rooftop and parking lot; upon check in, no one explained anything about the hotel...we discovered the shuttle and bar areas as a result of chatting with other guests. We definitely had to affirmatively ask how to even get to our room, gym, pool, etc.

I would definitely recommend staying at The Jeff and feel lucky to have had the opportunity to have experienced staying there due to a destination wedding! Again, I am certain it is the most unique and luxurious option in downtown Richmond....intrigued, though, to hear about The John Marshall once it is complete!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nolanative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 km away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.3 km away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.3 km away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
20.6 km away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.8 km away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Jefferson Hotel
Address: 101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,291 - ₹ 31,418
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing