We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Jefferson Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 127
US$ 123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 70
US$ 62
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 303
US$ 231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 139
US$ 135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 216
US$ 186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 104
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 135
US$ 114
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 124
US$ 109
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 266
US$ 257
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,387)
Filter reviews
1,387 results
Traveller rating
1,083
194
65
26
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,083
194
65
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand staircaselemaire restaurantbathroom mirrorstained glasslower lobbygrand old hotelsunday brunch isbeautiful hotelchristmas decorationsrenovated roomturn down servicewalk in closetsouthern charmpublic areasbeautiful lobbyluxury hotelevery staff member
Filter
Updating list...
1,064 - 1,069 of 1,387 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Jefferson Hotel is a beautiful testament of Americas rich history. Grandeous and proud and hard to say goodbye to once you have unpacked your bags. From the majestic staircase in the grand lobby to the the fine dining and afternoon tea. This hotel experience is one to remember. It was not inexpensive, the room a little on the small size nor did we have a nice view from our room however the hotel is steeped in history and elegance and everything else somehow becomes less important. We were visiting Virginia to relive some of our history and this was a wonderful way to start our journey. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room with a view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KukooAruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for choosing The Jefferson to start your trip down memory lane!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at the Jefferson for one night during the week as a treat on our long drive back home. We have a 3 year old, so were looking for a nice hotel with an indoor pool that had an onsite restaurant. I originally booked the reservation through the hotel for $240/ni, but later called AAA and got a $225/ni rate that included breakfast for two and valet.

Since this trip was extremely brief, I'll only include a couple of comments. Firstly, let me say that the staff was all first rate and extremely helpful. I called the bell desk and they were kind enough to retrieve a pair of shoes from our valet parked car and delivered them to our room in less than 5 mins - I mean, that is service!!! The waitstaff at TJs also offered to provide a complimentary breakfast to our 3 year old even though they gave her a complete meal - more than I expected since some expensive hotels like to nickel-and-dime you. We did eat dinner at Lemaire, which was divine (and expensive), but we felt a little out of place with a small child. In summary:

Pros:
Indoor heated pool
Food
First rate staff
Quiet room

Cons:
Beds were horribly uncomfortable
Expensive
More appropriate for older or business crowd

Room Tip: The staff put us on the first floor down the hall from the pool since they knew we would use it.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nctravelnut99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for your review. We apprecaite all of your comments and hope that your 3 year old enjoyed every moment of her stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I snapped up a winter special The Jefferson Hotel was offering, finally taking the opportunity to visit Richmond. (We live just two hours away and in 10 years have yet to visit the city!) I'm really glad we did.

The Jefferson Hotel is not the type of hotel I typically stay in, but the reviews on Trip Advisor, its central proximity to many downton Richmond sites, and frankly, it just felt right to stay in such a place like this on a weekend trip to a southern town. (I mean, when you come to visit the Museum of the Confederacy and the Hollywood Cemetery with 19th century presidents buried there shouldn't you lodge at a place built in the 1890s?) The building is impressive and the Palm Court and Rotunda are just stunning rooms. I don't typically wander around a hotel, but we did find ourselves exploring the space.

I must say, the staff are fantastic. Every person we encountered was friendly and helpful and exuded a warm, southern charm. A new front desk clerk was in training and the trainer and the trainee apologized for the maybe two-minute delay it took for the new clerk to check us in. What did they do? Upgrade our room to a suite! I also was impressed with their transportation service--complimentary rides to any location in a 3-mile radius of the hotel. This allowed us to indulge in some extra drinks at the very lovely Acacia.

The lounge space at Lamaire is a highlight of the hotel. We had a pre-dinner cocktail in the space and I found it blended modern chic with the historic presence of the building, plus it was quiet enough that we could have a conversation.

All is all, The Jefferson was a lovely place to base our weekend exploration of the city of Richmond.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afarmandthirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for recognizing our staff and the uniquely Richmond travel experience that we are so honored to provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at The Jeff this past weekend for a wedding, which was partially held there. It is a lovely hotel and unquestionably the best option in downtown Richmond. The wedding was held in the beautiful ballroom and the food and drinks were nice. As we were there for two nights and, honestly, not for the sole purpose of enjoying this hotel/ Richmond, I will keep this review simple and hopefully helpful!

The Good: Delicious complimentary coffee in the morning; Striking lobby with lots of fun historical details and tidbits; Staff at front desk (Nicole and two other guys!) and valet areas were very friendly, funny, and knowledgeable; roasted peanuts and bellinis at Lemaire were a delicious surprise; free shuttle service to spots near the hotel is a huge perk...avoiding cab fees to safely get to restaurants and bars is fantastic!

The Okay: Mattresses were hard, not comfy (other guests made the same comment); Common areas were a bit dark, seemed a touch dated (and not because the hotel is historic); Some servers (not all!) at TJs and Lemaire were inexperienced and unknowledgeable about the menus; bartender at Lemaire was overtly rude to my husband/ didn't understand how to easily split a check between two parties; view from room 116 was pretty dismal--first floor industrial rooftop and parking lot; upon check in, no one explained anything about the hotel...we discovered the shuttle and bar areas as a result of chatting with other guests. We definitely had to affirmatively ask how to even get to our room, gym, pool, etc.

I would definitely recommend staying at The Jeff and feel lucky to have had the opportunity to have experienced staying there due to a destination wedding! Again, I am certain it is the most unique and luxurious option in downtown Richmond....intrigued, though, to hear about The John Marshall once it is complete!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Nolanative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We travel to Richmond frequently but reserve staying at the Jefferson for special occasions. This time we took advantage of the Winter B&B special and it was great! Hopefully they will repeat it next winter. From check-in to check-out the service is outstanding, including making dinner reservations for us at TJ's; the staff is always friendly and helpful. Coffee is available in the lobby early every morning which is an essential amenity for me. The B&B special included breakfast both mornings at Lemaire and everything we had was delicious (eggs Benedict, American breakfast with very fresh eggs, corned beef hash and cheesy grits, cream cheese, smoked salmon and bagel). The wait staff was attentive. Housekeeping is efficient and our room was small but perfect for two. The safe in the room (no charge) was large enough for my laptop.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAlovetotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for your review and for mentioning our Winter Bed and Breakfast package. We hope that you will also put us on your travel calendar for our annual summer package!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews