We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly and fun slumber party”
Review of Exotic Resort Zoo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johnson City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Exotic Resort Zoo
Ranked #4 of 6 Johnson City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We had our daughters slumber party here. The cabins are all different sizes and not fancy but comfortable. Be sure to read each description online before selecting one. We had cabin #3 for the girls which had a small kitchen with fridge microwave and stove top (no oven) a table with 4 chairs, and a small full bathroom and a queen bed, nightstand and sitting chair all in one room. The second room had 2 queen beds, 2 Queen Anne chairs, night stand, desk , flat screen tv ( which they never watched) and a full big bathroom. The boys had cabin# 2 which was two queen beds in the living room with a flat screen tv, small table and chairs, a full bathroom and kitchenette. Each cabin has a small porch with bench or chairs and a picnic table outside with a BBQ pit. There is a larger BBQ pit area for larger parties and a covered area with a pool table. All the cabins are fenced in so the animals in the park stay out. There is a play ground and lake area that is only accessible to cabin renters. Inside the fenced play ground area is some animals the kids can interact with like ducks, deer, donkeys, geese, pot bellied pigs, turkeys, kangaroos and chickens. There is a big lake to fish from and you can pet a kangaroo through the fence in this area. The cabins also have a swimming pool with a shallow pool for little kids. They also have a hot tub for adults only. There is a fire pit to make smores or roast hot dogs. The kids had a great time swimming, fishing, interacting and feeding the animals and some crafts we did in the cabin. At the cabins you can feed the camels and other animals through the fence if you purchase a bucket of food when you check in. The cabins include a ticket for each person staying at the cabins for a zoo tour. We did this tour the next morning before check out at 11 am. This is a great tour for everyone of every age, be sure to purchase at least one or more buckets of food before boarding. You board a half caged trailer with seats and a canopy top to keep you out of the sun or rain. A guide drives you through a gate and the fun begins with a lot of animals that you can feed and touch. You can pet a Scottish cow, camel, deer, or a buffalo, ever petted a zebra? You can here. We have been to this zoo many times and each time is different and the kids have a great time. We had a great time at the cabins and would consider staying here again. Hope you enjoy your stay!

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Darlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 47 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
33
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

We loved this place so much. The kids loved the deer that were so friendly. If you have a chance definitely go there. We stayed in the two story cabin. The sunsets were very pretty. I highly recommend this place.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We were very impressed with this zoo. They had so many exotic animals from American Bison to Zebras. You can feed them and you can have a camel take the food from your mouth. Took about a hour and they give veterans a discount. We went there with part of our RV club from Hideaway

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank tracker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I don't know how I've lived in Austin all these years and never heard of this place... it's a hidden gem! Our expectations were fairly low considering it's a zoo out in the middle of no where. We did the tour as soon as we arrived and loved it. The tour guide was informative and there were so many unique animals to see and they surrounded us to get some food (which is only $6 for a huge bucket). We were also staying in one of the cabins which was another really cool experience. There is a petting zoo right in front of the cabins, with a fishing pond and fire pit. There are also kangaroos and pot belly pigs in cages. Our highlight was a visit by the two friendly camels firs thing in the morning. The only reason I wouldn't give this 5 stars are the cabins seem a bit run down and a little dirty, but overall a really nice place. My kids loved it (13 and 14) and we would definitely come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin #3 which sleeps 6 and has a small kitchenette (no oven).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RachelM1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Stopped by to visit the Exotic Zoo in Johnson city Its amazing to be so close to large animals, water buffalo that have the longest black tongues ever with a hefty appetite , ostriches just hold the bicker of feed out they like fingers just as well, zebras , camels and many more. Great place to take kids and more mature family members as well

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Janethetford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donavan T, Manager at Exotic Resort Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

We're glad you were able to stop by for a visit - getting that close interaction with all the animals is one of the main things that we feel makes it fun for people of all ages, so we love seeing when this holds true with families like yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
6.4 km away
Best Western Johnson City Inn
Best Western Johnson City Inn
#1 of 1 in Johnson City
278 reviews
5.7 km away
Chantilly Lace Country Inn
Chantilly Lace Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Johnson City
88 reviews
17.8 km away
Hillside Acres Retreat
Hillside Acres Retreat
#3 of 6 in Johnson City
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exotic Resort Zoo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exotic Resort Zoo

Address: 235 Zoo Trl, Johnson City, TX 78636-4465
Region: United States > Texas > Johnson City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Johnson City
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Exotic Resort Zoo Hotel Johnson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing