We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
17
23
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
23
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetting zoofeed the animalsexotic animalsplayground areaexotic resortducks and geeseperson stayinghand feedswimming poolsafari toursized bedfire pitliving roomcabintrailerelkdirectv
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

We loved this place so much. The kids loved the deer that were so friendly. If you have a chance definitely go there. We stayed in the two story cabin. The sunsets were very pretty. I highly recommend this place.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank jlevy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We were very impressed with this zoo. They had so many exotic animals from American Bison to Zebras. You can feed them and you can have a camel take the food from your mouth. Took about a hour and they give veterans a discount. We went there with part of our RV club from Hideaway

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank tracker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I don't know how I've lived in Austin all these years and never heard of this place... it's a hidden gem! Our expectations were fairly low considering it's a zoo out in the middle of no where. We did the tour as soon as we arrived and loved it. The tour guide was informative and there were so many unique animals to see and they surrounded us to get some food (which is only $6 for a huge bucket). We were also staying in one of the cabins which was another really cool experience. There is a petting zoo right in front of the cabins, with a fishing pond and fire pit. There are also kangaroos and pot belly pigs in cages. Our highlight was a visit by the two friendly camels firs thing in the morning. The only reason I wouldn't give this 5 stars are the cabins seem a bit run down and a little dirty, but overall a really nice place. My kids loved it (13 and 14) and we would definitely come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin #3 which sleeps 6 and has a small kitchenette (no oven).
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RachelM1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Stopped by to visit the Exotic Zoo in Johnson city Its amazing to be so close to large animals, water buffalo that have the longest black tongues ever with a hefty appetite , ostriches just hold the bicker of feed out they like fingers just as well, zebras , camels and many more. Great place to take kids and more mature family members as well

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Janethetford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donavan T, Manager at Exotic Resort Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

We're glad you were able to stop by for a visit - getting that close interaction with all the animals is one of the main things that we feel makes it fun for people of all ages, so we love seeing when this holds true with families like yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

This is located about 45 minutes from south Austin very easy to find. Admission typical for this type adventure. A large variety of animals easy to feed them along the 45 minute covered trail wagon course. Natural habitats appear to be maintained. SeverL petting zoo areas which was fun large buckets of food for purchase to feed animals limited visitor bathroom space. Small but good selection of toys in gift shop great for a short adventure my 21 month grand daughter enjoyed it

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donavan T, Manager at Exotic Resort Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Hi Jacqueline,

Thanks for your review and we hope you'll be one of our regular visitors from Austin! We've included more souvenirs since completing our gift-shop remodel.

We're also finishing up more remodeling in the rear of the gift shop and we've actually redone one of the rest-room areas in the front gift shop area as well (the main one for handicap access, but also have the large restroom area on the main run to the petting zoos).

Anyway, we're glad you enjoyed the tour and be sure to check out the safari cabin rentals for your next trip (the guided tour is included at no additional charge when you do)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews