We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
17
23
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
23
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews petting zoo feed the animals exotic animals playground area exotic resort ducks and geese person staying hand feed swimming pool safari tour sized bed fire pit living room cabin trailer elk directv
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We just returned from a family weekend at the Exotic Resort Zoo. We had the best time even though the weather didn't cooperate.
The cabins are rustic but clean. The staff are super upbeat people and eager to attend to any request.
We were super close to animals and a petting area. Catch and release fishing is steps away. And there's a playground area, kiddie pool and adult pool just steps away from the cabins.
We will go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nana_n_Pops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The zoo is a neat place to visit -- we've been here three times. Feeding the animals is always fun - especially for children (or those young in heart). This time we stayed in a cabin, which is within the zoo property yet in view of the visitors area. The cabin was clean and was as described on the web site: www.zooexotics.com. The downside to the cabin was that the ceiling fans in both rooms need to be tighened so they do not click all night long. Oh, the bathroom shares an open ceiling area with the second bed, TV, and table area so keep that in mind. The floors creak when you walk too. There is a petting zoo area special for the cabin guest and that is very nice too -- watch your step. The animals outside the fence hang around until you stop feeding them, then they wander off. It was nice waking up seeing the animals roaming and we made one final visit to the petting zoo area before we left. We enjoyed watching the sun set from our porch and sitting on the porch drinking coffee in the morning. Unfortunately, our stay was spoiled by RUDE neighbors. The people in cabin 2 allowed their children to run about and yell until just after 1 AM. The zoo had no "quiet time" policy in their rules so I suggested a policy be established. These neighbors ignored the rule prohibiting chidren in the hot tub to further explain the type people they were. This can be a unique and pleasant experience IF a quiet time policy is set up and enforced and you don't have rude neighbors.

Room Tip: Cabins 4 and 5 are further away from the pool, which can be a noisy area.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abb812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We have been to many safari type places. We enjoyed staying in the cabins. We loved waking up to all of the animals. There is a small petting zoo directly in the middle of the camp grounds. We plan on going back and spending more time as a family there.

3  Thank TravelingMommy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

My family went here a while back and I'm just now getting around to reviewing it. We really enjoyed being able to be so close to the animals and feed them. We spent the night in one of the cabins there in the winter time and one thing I didn't like was that the heat in the cabins (or at least the one we were in) meant an open flame in the cabin. At the time we had a not-quite-two year old and that was obviously really dangerous. Other than that, though, this place was a blast. There is an area outside the cabins where you can go walk with some goats and deer that you can pet, which was fun. The petting area here was also a lot of fun. Definitely worth a trip.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank deathraygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We just spent a night there with my 3 and 5 year old boys and can not tell you how much we enjoyed the experience. We have been to the zoo 1 other time when my sons were much younger and loved just the tour, but staying overnight is the icing on the cake. The cabins are a bit rustic but comfortable and clean. The pool and playground/ private petting zoo are wonderful. The animals are so friendly and just come right up to you even without food. The sunset/sunrise were gorgeous and we even had a campfire with s'mores. We have already decided to make this a annual trip with the grandparents and kids. This place is very non-touristy and reminds me of places I have stayed in Africa, South America, and Asia. If you love animals and don't need five star treatment you will be in for a treat!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews