We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little jewel!”
Review of Hotel Arathena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arathena
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little jewel!”
Reviewed 12 June 2009

The hotel was great! Clean (i'm a germ freak and this hotel was SO clean i was impressed! with ETRO toilettries! :)), chic, and the view to DIE FOR!! We enjoyed our stay very much... there's not much to do in the area other than relax, but there are 'shuttles' to the beach or you can drive there. We had a motorcycle so it worked that we could just go places when we wanted... The restaurant at the hotel was good. The only thing that they could do better is their 'pricing' because they charge you for everything, as in "5 Euros to use a 'beach towel' for THEIR pool" and at first I thought it was a 'deposit' so that you would return it and get it back when you did so, well no, its like you rent it from them. In all we had a fantasitc time and would recommend it to anyone! We didn't see any kids, not sure if its their policy but it was nice not to have screaming kids in the pool area. The hotel caters more to older couples (we were the youngest by far, we are 28 and 36). Hope this helps, email me if you need more info!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elviramv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    49
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Otley, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2008

My wife and I spent three nights at the Hotel Arathena in May 2008. The hotel is only about two years old and is situated on the outskirts of the quiet village of San Pantaleo, about 2 miles from the Costa Smerelda, and is an ideal base for touring north eastern Sardinia, and trips to the beach. The hotel is built against a hill side so all the rooms tend to be on different levels which makes it quite interesting.
We booked a superior room which meant we had a balcony with outside views over the mountains, which were magnificent. Quite the best balcony view we've had on out travels, so well worth the extra.
Our room was large and well appointed with ensuite bathroom.
All the staff we met were very friendly with a good grasp of English (to our shame our Italian is almost non existant).
We booked three nights half board at €128 per night, so had breakfast and dinner included. Breakfast was self service with a good range of fruit, cereals, croissants, bread, meat and cheese. The inclusive dinners were good but the portions were small, compared to those given to guests who were dining a la carte, and all drinks were extra. All the restaurant staff were very helpful and took time to explain the various dishes and the local wines.
The only facility not available was the swimming pool. May being very early season for them it had not been filled when we were there.
All in all, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Room and views.
  • Disliked — Small dinner portions.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank John Calvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Arathena for 10 nights in July and found it to be an excellent choice.

The hotel itself is relatively new, clean and well maintained. It is built on several levels into the side of of a hill and is probably not suited to those with mobiliity problems. The majority of the rooms overlook the central pool/restaurant/terrace area and have fantastic views over the valley and surrounding mountains. The pool/restaurant/terrace area can be a little noisy but by closing your window you can eliminate all noise. You will probably find yourself doing this in the height of summer anyway to use the air conditioning. Other rooms over look the street but still have good views of the mountains. The hotel has a car park but only for about 20 cars so may have to park on the street. This is never a problem as the hotel is situated at the end of a quiet dead end street. The pool area is very pleasant but as written in other reviews there are too few sun loungers for everyone. On one or two days we were disappointed not to be able to sit by the pool after coming back from a day sight seeing.

The staff were always pleasant and friendly and although most of the reception staff spoke english the majority of waiting and bar staff didn't. If your Italian isn't up to scratch bring your phrase book.

The town of San Pantaleo is a few miles from the coast and is quiet compared to the more glitsy coastal towns closeby. You can walk from the hotel to the town in less than five minutes where there are several bars and restaurants ranging from pizzerias to a michelin rated restaurant. There are also several artist studios and galleries dotted around the town. During our stay the pretty little town square had several events ranging from open air mass to an outdoor market.

As the town is about 5 miles from the coast a car is essential for getting out and about.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — No balcony with room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank munchy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 7 nights and really enjoyed it. We were lucky enough to have the pool pretty much to ourselves for most of the week and it was incredibly relaxing. The hotel is in a quiet spot and it was easy to switch off

If you want constant. attentive service then the Arathena is probably not for you - we hardly saw the hotel staff in the daytime - but that suited us down to the ground. If you want food and drinks, the staff will happily sort this out, if you ask them.

The room we had was lovely - clean, airy, with a good bathroom.

San Pantaleo is a little bit in the middle of nowhere but with a car, it is easy to get to the coast and any of the sights you might want to see in the region.

There is a fantastic restaurant in the village called Giagoni. Don't leave without eating there!

  • Liked — Unfussy but good quality
  • Disliked — Frustrating door lock!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Janner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2007

We spent three nights at the Hotel Arathena at the end of a 10 day stay in Sardinia. We might have been a little spoilt by the previous places we stayed - Villa Las Tronas in Alghero and Su Gologone near Oliena, both of which were brilliant, however there were a few things about the Arathena which let it down. The hotel is fairly new and we were impressed with our room which was a superior double with a lovely view across the mountains (worth paying the extra for in my opinion - some of the cheaper rooms open straight on to the pool area and have a 'cheap apartment' feel). Nothing particular wrong with the accomodation but the overall feel of the place was a little disappointing. I know it sounds a little picky but some things about the hotel have really stuck with us. The pool itself was quite small and there were only a small number of sunbeds which meant at times there was very little space and the area was a little claustraphobic, towels were charged at €5 each for the day which in a 4* hotel at this price was a little suprising. The breakfast buffet was fine but the staff not overly friendly to the extent my partner was told he needed to wear shoes to breakfast - can sort of understand in a posh dining room but when you've walked past the pool and into a fairly standard breakfast room seemed a bit over the top. The general standard of the fixtures in the room wasn't great - some of the shower fittings were loose and the toilet seat was already on its last legs. Finally on our last night of the stay we ate in the restaurant attached to the hotel - the wine was lovely and the service (whilst a little formal) was also good. However we were not really impressed with the quality of the food - we paid €16 each for some fish soup as a main course which was in the same sauce as the mussels we had eaten as a starter and which contained one very small fish which had not been filleted making it impossible to eat the little meat on it. When we told them we were disappointed with the meal they did bring us some extra fish to make up for it but then tried to charge us for it - overall we left a little upset after having to argue with them about it. Another table eating there that night also complained and left quite abruptly.

I wouldn't stay there again but our experiences might have been a one off - the room was fine and on a quieter week I'm sure the pool would have been fine too. If you want somewhere that is clean and away from the coast its not a bad choice but I think there are better places for the money.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank BorisLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pantaleo
233.6 km away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
824 reviews
5.8 km away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
508 reviews
11.2 km away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#8 of 21 in Porto Cervo
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
732 reviews
15.6 km away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#2 of 40 in Olbia
971 reviews
12.2 km away
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
#12 of 21 in Porto Cervo
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arathena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arathena

Property: Hotel Arathena
Address: Via Pompei 47, 07026 San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > San Pantaleo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,643 - ₹ 19,139
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arathena 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arathena, a small charming 4 star hotel, is the ideal retreat for relaxing holidays in Sardinia. Its architecture, warm and traditional at the same time, reminds of an ancient "borgo" built following the natural development of the ground.The beautiful mountains of San Pantaleo are the frame of this charming hotel in Sardinia to which they give a magic atmosphere that guarantee to all the clients the peace and relax that they expect during a unique holiday in Sardinia. The beautiful mountains of San Pantaleo in Gallura form the backdrop to this charming hotel in Sardinia, giving him a magical atmosphere that guarantees tranquility and relaxation for your holiday in Sardinia. Our 4 stars hotel in San Pantaleo is recommended for those who want a holiday in Sardinia of tranquility, nature, and the warmth of the Sardinian hospitality.The hotel Arathena in San Pantaleo is recommended to those who wants an holiday in Sardinia characterised from a deep contact with nature , all enriched from the well-known Sardinian hospitality. Also the beach lovers will find at the hotel Arathena their home away from home. Thanks to its location in fact, the hotel Arathena remains only a few minutes drive from the best beaches in Costa Smeralda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arathena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arathena Hotel San Pantaleo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing