We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE PARKING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Although there were some pros to this hotel, the parking alone will never bring me back to this hotel. No exaggeration, there are 20 parking spots. That's it! They have no alternative parking and all spots on the street are permit parking only (although the hotel staff continued to offer that option). They also offered we park in a random dark lot across the four-lane highway, which was also full. After driving around for an hour, we parked in a nearby McDonalds and hoped for not getting towed. The rooms are very spacious compared to most hotels. They have a full hot continental breakfast complete with pancakes, waffles, bagels, cereal, coffee, etc. Close to Lechmere station which takes you into Boston (about 4 blocks). Dunkin Donuts right up the hill. BUT there are 2 elevators and they are by far THE SLOWEST elevators I've ever been on. And the stairs don't lead you to the lobby. So be prepared for waiting. Our TV and our friends in the next room wouldn't change channels (even when we switched remotes). Only the volume worked. The shower leaked all over the bathroom floor into the hallway. Only the first person showering gets hot water. The air is either freezing cold or stuffy and hot. One degree difference on the thermostat turns your room into an icebox.

Room Tip: room 314 is a double room and is very spacious. It is connected to a suite next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinlynn_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 364 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

While the room was bad, we had to constantly park in a car wash parking lot across a 4 lane highway. We spent the day sight seeing and came back to shower prior to having to leave again for the evening and the hot water is broken - and apparently has been broken all day and will not be back up and working until well after we have to leave. The desk staff was quite rude about it and really offered no apology. I feel like we would have been better off staying at a local homeless shelter - at least they have hot water.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us last weekend. I am very sorry that we had an issue with our hot water pump, which we did replace on Saturday so as not to inconvenience any additional guests. In addition, being in Cambridge, parking is sometimes a challenge, which is why we contract spaces across the street from the hotel so as to accommodate as many cars as possible. We hope that you will allow us to serve you again in the future if your plans bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

As other travelers have said, the hotel was currently under renovation. The drilling in the lobby when my boyfriend and I arrived on Friday, 3/9/12, was deafening. I had to keep pausing speaking with the front desk staff because it was so loud. However, the renovation was not the concern. (Though not exactly the best first impression. I hope it's over soon.)

The room was nice and large, bed and pillows were comfy. Silly things were buggy, such as our remote being low on batteries and/or broken and having to shake it to change channels. The renovated rooms are lovely!

Housekeeping is EXTREMELY loud in the morning. Both mornings we were at the hotel were awoken by the housekeeping staff. (the first morning, it was around 9am, the second morning, it was 10:30am) The front desk staff were very kind and helpful.

However, it may be a universally known fact among hotels, but they will hold DOUBLE the cost of your room on your debit card until you check out. This was nowhere visible when making the reservation, and I didn't find out until check-in. As someone who only stays in a hotel 3-4 times per year, I have NEVER seen this practice, and would've absolutely chosen to stay elsewhere if I had known ahead of time. All I use is a debit card, I have zero credit cards. So my entire bank account was tied up for the weekend, when it was pretty much too late to choose another hotel, which was a massive stress on our visit to put it extremely lightly.

While it was a pleasant stay for the most part, I would absolutely never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Whether positive or negative, comments from our guests assist us in improving our operations and service in the future. Clearly you witnessed our extensive renovation and I am very sorry for any inconvenience this caused you. We anticipate the final touches on our full renovation to be completed by the end of March and we hope that you will come back and allow us to show you our finished product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The rooms have been renewed and they are beautiful, even more considering it only has two stars. The bed was huge and we slept like babies every night. The area is cool, with lots of place to park, a big mall near and five minutes away from the tram.

Staff was very nice, specially the lady from Puerto Rico in the breakfast lounge.

Price - quality ratio is great. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veintitres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wooddog696, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Whether positive or negative, we value all of our guest comments so as to improve our service and operations for the future. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and its great location to both the T and the Galleria Mall. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Although our room was renovated, it still felt shoddy. The heating was hard to regulate and noisy. The decor was cheap and the bathtub/shower was worn. We had a room that was considered a "suite" but it's not bigger than a regular room, just divided into two parts. The lobby area is being renovated so there's no heat and it feels makeshift. Only one elevator was working. The staff was struggling to stay warm and tried to be helpful but the situation was difficult.
We usually like this chain but this was disappointing.

Room Tip: Wait until construction is over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paprikaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wooddog696, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding our hotel. I am sorry that the renovation was still ongoing in the lobby while you were with us. Our current schedule has all of our renovation activities ending by the end of March. We hope that you will allow us to have you as a guest again in the future once our work is complete. I don't think you will be disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
3.2 km away
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 19 in Cambridge
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 19 in Cambridge
68 reviews
2.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Boston Bunker Hill Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Address: 250 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: ₹ 7,776 - ₹ 25,900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Located minutes from downtown Boston on the Green Line of the 'T' Lechmere Station, close to MIT, Harvard University, Museum of Science, TD Garden/NorthStation, Patni Corp., EF Foundation, Kendall Square, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilition Center and Massachusetts Eye and Ear, and only 3 miles from Boston Logan Airport (BOS), our hotel is the perfect location for visiting the Boston/Cambridge area. We offer a complimentary American breakfast, featuring our famous cinnamon roll as well as a variety of hot foods. Sit back, relax, and enjoy our Great Room, with 24-hour coffee, complimentary cookies at night, and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the building. Our convenient location and commitment to service make us the best value in the Boston/Cambridge area, so book now and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. Contact the hotel directly for packages that'll save you money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Boston - Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing