We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in Harvard Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvard Square Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Harvard Square”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed at Harvard Square Hotel a year ago, and was very pleasantly surprised with the "new" rooms this May. The new bed was most comfortable, the room well designed for ease of relaxing in, the safe a very welcome addition--and the housekeeping staff did a great job keeping it clean. Everyone at the front desk was friendly and gave excellent service. Jessica, Alison, Abraham and Nils all made thier job look easy, quickly and cheefully helping me and other guests with numerous questions and requests. Jessica even made a list for me ,on my checkout day, of all the restuarants I could pick from at the airport. David, a manager, had a great sense of humor , as he kept things moving smoothly in the lobby. Christian, the General Manager, is doing a great job of making Harvard Square Hotel a clean and welcoming place .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian O M, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Betsy, thank you for your review in TA. I'm glad that you enjoyed the newly renovated product.
We are looking forward to have you back soon!
Christian O. Mantilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    198
    145
    47
    25
See reviews for
191
72
66
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I make periodic trips to Cambridge, and the long weekend of May10-13 was special: my 20-year Harvard reunion. I enjoyed the festivities, the weather was great -- and my stay at the Harvard Square Hotel was first-rate! The location was ideal, and the renovated room served me very well, providing a newness luster and comfort that was much appreciated. The bathroom was much improved over my previous trips and the room size worked; my only nitpick was that there could have been more closet space (OK for one person; would have been very tight for two --plenty of dresser space, though!). The maid service and front desk assistance (led by David) were superb. The room rate was not inexpensive but given the location, the named attributes of the HSH, and the fact that Cambridge is a pricey town -- well, there is definitely value in staying here. I will gladly come back again and recommend that others needing lodging in Cambridge come here as well!

Room Tip: Street-side had a nice view of the neighborhood but also was not noisy during my stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian O M, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your review of the Harvard Square Hotel on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to have you back.
Best,
Christian O Mantilla
General Manager
Harvard Square Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

Am amazed by some of the more positive reviews here. So location is decent, rooms are clean and staff reasonably friendly. And for $140 a night I'd have no complaints. But its almost DOUBLE that which even by Cambridge's ridiculously inflated prices is just completely absurd. Rooms are small, no bath, none of the extra details you'd expect in a pricey hotel, horrible building, and noisey surroundings. You'd be much better off in somewhere like The Inn at Harvard - which surprisingly has the same owners -'which isn't much more pricey but is in different league (which is why it's often booked out, which is why I ended up here!)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H_Alst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian O M, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
We appreciated your review on TripAdvisor and your concern of the higher rates in Cambridge.
I personally invite you come back to the Hotel on your next visit to Cambridge.
Thank you
Christian O Mantilla
General Manager
Harvard Square Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I decided to have a quick vacation close to home and we invited our kids to join us. I understand that the hotel just reopened 6 weeks ago. The all staff were friendly and helpful. In fact, they remembered my name each time we joined our family in the lobby. For those of you who know Cambridge and Boston and the difficulty with parking no matter where you go, you will appreciate having the parking right by the front door. The new decor is tastefully done and they have created rooms that are uncluttered and very functional. It was a plus having internet access throughout the hotel (for no extra fee). Although they have a small nook with coffee, fruit and other foods in the lobby, the days of free coffee is long gone. But overall, it was a great stay, although too short.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters which room you choose. Although you are on a main drag, once you close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I recently stayed in the new and improved Harvard Square Hotel. I was very impressed with the design and overall style of the new rooms. The new renovation along with the perfect location within the Square allows this hotel to be a perfect fit for any visitors.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22Gene28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 km away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,480 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
485 reviews
0.5 km away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cambridge
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,855 reviews
3.1 km away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
905 reviews
1.8 km away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvard Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvard Square Hotel

Property: Harvard Square Hotel
Address: 110 Mount Auburn St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5774
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#13 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,971 - ₹ 28,566
Hotel Class:2 star — Harvard Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvard Square Hotel contemporary in decor is centrally located in the heart of Harvard Square. Just steps away from all that Harvard Square has to offer including the Harvard University Campus, Harvard T-Station, Charles River and the many eclectic stores and restaurants found in the Square. We are also only a few miles to downtown Boston. Our on the go Starbucks Cafe is a big hit with our guests as the head out to start their day !! We would like to thank our recent guests for their patience as we installed a brand new elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harvard Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvard Square Cambridge
Cambridge Harvard Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing