We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location in Cambridge”
Review of Freepoint Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Freepoint Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I stayed in this hotel for a short business trip when few affordable options were available. Apparently this hotel used to have a different name, so the taxi driver missed it when dropping me off. The new name came with some nice features including clean, large, nicely decorated rooms with all the amenities. Certainly a nice stay. The subway station is within walking distance and from there you can go anywhere. The bar was nice, with a good selection of cocktails and a fair beer and wine list. Did not have time to check out the restaurant. The service could use some help, but the staff was attentive and nice. Compared to other similarly priced hotels in the area, this is a welcomed addition.

Room Tip: Call the front desk to order a taxi in advance if going to a business meeting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JaimeH601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreepointHotelGM, General Manager at Freepoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Hello
Thank you again for choosing our Hotel while traveling to Cambridge for work. I am glad that you enjoyed certain elements of the Hotel, I also appreciate you sharing areas that need to be improved.
Thank you
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Visiting family in the area. Well located. Nice rooms. We had breakfast and drinks and used the shuttle. Management was very attentive. Starbucks on site Dunkin Donuts across the parking lot. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreepointHotelGM, General Manager at Freepoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Hello Gail,
Thank you for the feedback, we are glad that the location and the amenities worked well for you.
We are also very happy to read that you will be returning.

Have a great weekend,
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Hotel is trying for a trendy, techie look and feel. Front desk is a fail, looking like desks from a cheap furniture store. Staff is very friendly but inexperience shows. Location is great if you have a car, the parkway in front can take you into Boston and Cambridge or west. Careful traveling during rush hour, the parkway is very busy.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Koleakolea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreepointHotelGM, General Manager at Freepoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Good afternoon,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to read that the location worked well for you. We also appreciate the constructive feedback on the front desk.

Best,
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

I love how Cambridge now has a hotel that's modern, nicely decorated and affordable.

We stayed here for two nights in between moving houses for which the area was perfect.

We booked on the website directly for which they gave us $40 of credit to spend, which we used on breakfast. Breakfast staff was courteous.

The room was comfortable , but check-in (and pretty much any encounter with front desk staff afterwards) cumbersome.

Staff seemed easily overwhelmed which resulted in initially getting a different room from the one we booked. When I brought this up the response was unprofessional to say the least. I feel some basic hospitality training (don't yell at your housekeepers in front of guests) would go a long way.

My biggest pet peeve? WHO thought adding a Starbucks here would be a good idea?? This hotel that claims to be focused on community feel would have done so much better with a coffee shop run by a local roastery such as 'broadsheet coffee'. Opinion-of-one but proper coffee would have made my stay a five bubble one.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreepointHotelGM, General Manager at Freepoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017


Hello Tim,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your positive and constructive feedback from your stay. I believe that feedback is a gift and it allows us to improve. The service you received during your check-in is not how we want our guests to feel. This is an area that the management team will be addressing. I also 100% agree with you on the comments regarding Housekeeping. Teams should publicly praise and privately critique.
I hope that the next time your travels bring to our city that you will give us another chance.

Best,
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

This is probably a great hotel for most people, and part of me really liked it... but a few things are drawbacks.

Check-in took a looooong time and there were one person in front of me... and two people at the counter. One guest came down while I was there, slightly annoyed that they had given him a key to a room where somebody was already staying! The funniest thing was that after I got my room, I met him at the elevator coming back down and the SECOND room was also occupied. Really embarrassing.

Second, I liked the shampoo and all, but the shower does not room for placing my shaver or shampoo, i.e. no shelf... also no drinking glass in the bathroom?!??

But other than that I liked the place but it does not seem well run...

Loved the common room, Starbucks etc.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andal03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreepointHotelGM, General Manager at Freepoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Feedback is a gift, thank you for sharing with me what you enjoyed about your stay and also areas that can be improved upon. The mistake with the check-in is embarrassing and we will research how this happened.

Thank you
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 km away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#5 of 19 in Cambridge
159 reviews
1.8 km away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#16 of 19 in Cambridge
88 reviews
5.4 km away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,947 reviews
6 km away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cambridge
2,113 reviews
4.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freepoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freepoint Hotel

Address: 220 Alewife Brook Pkwy, Cambridge, MA 02138-1102 (Formerly Hotel Tria)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: ₹ 7,326 - ₹ 23,265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Freepoint Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Freepoint Hotel, you will enjoy newly renovated and smartly designed guestrooms with deluxe amenities such as super-fast complimentary Wi-Fi and hair products by Living Proof, an innovative local company. You will also have access to our brand new, well-equipped fitness room as well as access to our daily shuttle which will take you anywhere in a two-mile radius. Affordable parking is also available on site. Lastly, be sure visit Chef Matthew Gaudet’s much anticipated return to the Greater Boston dining scene at Freepoint Kitchen & Cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Freepoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tria
Best Western Cambridge
Cambridge Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing