We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$713
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Booking.com
$713
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Preferred Hotels
$687
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Hotels.com$713
Official Site$696
Trip.com$950
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,544)
Filter reviews
2,544 results
Traveller rating
1,513
623
236
99
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,513
623
236
99
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews henrietta's table bathroom mirror harvard square great location room service luxury hotel visiting harvard new england wonderful hotel fitness center comfortable rooms cambridge area noir tv boston conference reunion
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2,544 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2022

We just got back from a 3- night trip to Cambridge, MA. I picked this hotel based on the proximity and walkability to the Blodgett Pool there on the Harvard athletics campus. The hotel is well kept. I compared to a number of the Marriott brand and other boutique hotels. For me, the location was key. We didn't have to rent a car as we were able to walk to the camp at the pool in about 12 minutes door to door (and thus, didn't have to pay overnight parking charge either). The check-in/lobby was quick and efficient. And because I booked via Amex Travel, they provided a little goodie bar of treats (the granola bar (made locally) was pretty delicious and was devoured by my daughter. The overall appearance of the lobby is modern, but not cold. The 'wood book' silhouettes lining the shelfs was a nice touch, and the big red couch behind the stairs leading to the restaurant was also a nice design touch. The lobby is spaced out and provide plenty of space for guests to hang out (or if they were still practicing social distance). Even in the back area, there were plenty of tables to sit and chat (as demonstrated by a large family reunion gathering that hunkered down there one afternoon). The rooms themselves are nothing mind blowing, but again, well maintained. The desk was huge. Unlike other reviews, though, the family and I were not impressed by the mattress. Wayyyyy too soft and made for some restless nights/not fully recharged the next morning. The bathroom was updated, with large tub/shower, and yes, the TV in the mirror was a neat function. Part of the Amex RSVP included daily breakfast for two at the Henrietta's table (i.e. $60 daily per room credit on breakfast). We thought the breakfast was really good. A wide range of breakfast staple dishes. The side of cranberry walnut bread was very fresh and delicious. On the evening side, on the last night, my wife and I went down to the bar on the lobby floor for a nightcap. The cocktails were priced comparably to that of the Bay Area/SF. For my 2nd drink, I ordered the Hibiki Suntory whiskey... $36. Meh!

Hotel location to Harvard Square with all its restaurant, shopping (mainly Harvard souvenirs/clothing), and to the campus itself was great. We walked around a ton even through the wicked humidity and a freak thunderstorm/downpour on Friday.

For the daily rate (approx $450/night), I thought the hotel was (very?) good, and certainly felt like the location and many of the updates to the hotel upkeep lead this pricing (plus, the fact that the demand was filled by there by water polo and soccer camps at Harvard this particular week).

Not the best value, but yes, I would certainly go back to The Charles once again in the future.

Room tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard of The Charles and some offices made for very quiet environments.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ddiddykang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kathryn V, Other at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2022

Dear ddiddykang,

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review of your stay with us. We are glad to hear that our location was very convenient for you and your family to navigate like a local. We do hope to see you with us again in the near future, or for next years summer camp!

Safe travels and have an excellent remainder of the summer.

Best Wishes,
Kathryn
KathrynVallier@CharlesHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2022

The location is convenient if you need to be near Harvard. If not, you are better off staying in a nicer hotel elsewhere in Cambridge or n Boston. The mirror tv is cool and convenient. Other than that, the rooms are nothing special but fine. We did not have the issues with beds or noise that others experienced. Service was mixed. The housekeeping team seemed friendly and responsive. The front desk staff was subpar. The valet service is lacking, maybe they are understaffed. The onsite restaurants were subpar, with Henrietta's practically inedible. The hotel is priced as luxury, but is mid range in quality at best.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelers5307
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kathryn V, Other at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2022

Dear travelers5307,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are appreciative of your feedback and welcome the opportunity to hear more directly from you about your experience with us. Our team wants to ensure we deliver excellent service and quality in all areas of the Hotel.

Best Wishes,
Kathryn
KathrynVallier@CharlesHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2022 via mobile

Not cheap but then you get what you pay for. In no particular order: great staff, rooms are actually cleaned!! (I realize this should be the normalest thing in the world, but recently none of the US hotels I‘ve stayed in recently do so: all blamed to Covid!! And also hotels with similar price points to this one!), ond of the best beds I‘ve ever slept in (both pillows and mattress), decent desk to work at, nice shower. If there is one thing I thought could be better, it‘s the noise of the connected room (or maybe I just had loud neighbours). Will be back!!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank SwizerlandRoisinDubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kathryn V, Other at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2022

Dear SwizerlandRoisinDubh,

Thank you for the pleasure of your feedback about the team and your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back, with hopefully even more aspects of your stay to enjoy.

Best Wishes,
Kathryn
KathrynVallier@CharlesHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2022

Great room, great service. Lovely! Room was clean and large and staff was friendly and helpful.. Hotel is in a great location and the food is great at the restaurant. Can't say enough great things. Top notch.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank montiesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kathryn V, Other at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2022

Dear montiesr,

Great to hear! Thank you very much for your kind feedback, this is always rewarding for the team. We encourage you to return again soon, we would love to welcome you back to Cambridge.

Best Wishes,
Kathryn
KathrynVallier@CharlesHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2022

This was a very nice hotel - actually nicer than the photos showed. The room and bed were comfortable, the shower was very good, and the on-site dining choices were great. I particularly LOVED the Summershack pop-up restaurant right outside the hotel! Staff was very friendly. My only complaint is the toiletries. They were in the annoying little bottles that you can't get anything out of. I found it particularly hypocritical that there was a sign in the bathroom that said "Help us conserve our natural resources" by not having your linens changed everyday, but yet the hotel has no problem clogging oceans and landfills with millions of tiny plastic bottles. There are many options for larger reusable bottles of shampoo and conditioner! And the quality of the provided products was pretty poor, anyway.

Room tip: Sound proofing is very good - our room was right by the elevator - and we never heard a thing!
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PointsWellTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kathryn V, Other at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2022

Dear PointsWellTaken,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, the team is always happy to hear what they are doing well. We also do appreciate your note about our guestroom amenities. We participate in a program called "Clean the World" which allows our single use amenities to have a second life with this program. All amenities and bars of soap are donated and repurposed in this program. We will continue to look for ways to be safe and environmentally friendly for our guests, and we hope to welcome back again as we evolve.

Best Wishes,
Kathryn
KathrynVallier@CharlesHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews